Six Gap Century - Southeast's Bucket List Ride - Dahlonega, GA - Sept 29 - REGISTER NOW and SAVE!
Welcome to Gran Fondo USA >> Eneco Tour Stage 7: Boasson Hagen Wins Stage, Terpstra The Eneco Tour

Eneco Tour 2016 Stage 7: Boasson Hagen Wins Stage, Terpstra The Eneco Tour

The Muur of Geraardsbergen was decisive climb as Terpstra escaped from the other GC-favourites and finished second in the stage, but it was enough for the overall. 

Nine riders go away in the break of the day after 67 kilometrs of racing.Tim Wellens, Roy Curvers, Lars-Petter Nordhaug, Carlos Verona, Ruslan Tleubayev, Marc Sarreau, Winner Anacona, Brian Van Goethem and Simone Antonin. They built up a lead of over 4 monutes.

With 60 kilometres to go it started to rain and Wellens attacked, taking Anacona, Curvers, Verona and Nordhaug with him. 

Leader Rohan Dennis crash with 50 kms left and was forced to chase. A little later Wellens was reeled in.

Bob Jungels attacked, taking team mate Terpstra. Naesen, Juul Jensen, Boasson Hagen, Lutsenko, Sütterlin, Greipel and Van Poppel follow. Greipel and Van Poppel subsequently crash in the tougher conditions.

At the penultimate climb up the Wall of Geraardsbergen, Sagan attacks to bridge across to the front, but he doesn’t succeed. Terpstra and Naesen are the first to the top.

In the Golden Kilometre the front group featured Terpstra, Naesen, Boasson Hagen, Jungels and Sütterlin. Terpstra took all 3 x 3 seconds time bonuses. Jungels gets dropped. Four riders are now left in the break and Terpstra is the virtual leader.

With 6 kilometres to go, Sütterlin gets dropped and Sagan's group are still about 45 seconds behind.

Eneco Tour Stage 7 Top 10

1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (nor)
2. Niki Terpstra (nld) + 0.01
3. Oliver Naesen (bel) s.t.
4. Tom Dumoulin (nld) + 0.42
5. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) s.t.
6. Peter Sagan (svk) + 0.46
7. Wilco Kelderman (nld) s.t.
8. Jos van Emden (nld) + 0.48
9. Ion Izagirre (spa) s.t.
10. Dmitri Gruzdev (kaz) s.t.

Eneco Tour GC after 7th stage

1. Niki Terpstra (nld)
2. Oliver Naesen (bel) + 0.31
3. Peter Sagan (svk) + 1.00
4. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) + 1.02
5. Jos van Emden (nld) + 1.03
6. Wilco Kelderman (nld) + 1.11
7. Zdenek Stybar (cze) + 1.15
8. Ion Izagirre (spa) + 1.19
9. Tom Dumoulin (nld) + 1.22
10. Bob Jungels (lux) + 1.31

VIDEO: Eneco Tour Stage 7 Final Kilometres

Eneco Tour 2016 Stage 7: Boasson Hagen Wins Stage, Terpstra The Eneco Tour