Giordana GFNCS Gran Fondo Florida, San Antonio, March 26th 2017, 4 Timed Sections, 3 Distances - Register NOW!
Welcome to Gran Fondo USA >> Miles Scotson wins National Road Race Championship

Miles Scotson wins National Road Race Championship

Miles Scotson is Australia 2017 Road Race Champion after a blistering attack at the end of the race at Mt Buninyong in Victoria

The peleton stayed together until the final kilometres of the 183km race including favorites Brendan Canty, Jay McCarthy, Nathan Haas and Lachlan Morton.

Simon Gerrans and Luke Durbridge were also there.

With 1.8km to go  Scotson dropped back behind the lead group for no apparent reason.

He then put in a blistering attack and never looked back.

The bunch countered but never caught Scotson, Gerro 2nd and Nathan Hass 3rd.

“No way did I think I'd get around 18 laps today with the training load I'd done,” he said after his most significant win to date.

“There was no pressure. I wanted to have a crack and enjoy it. I asked the mechanic to put on a 54 chain ring and stuck with that tactic!"

The U23 national champion signed for BMC racing this season and will ride the WorldTour alomngside team mates Richie Porte and Rohan Dennis.

“I just can't wait for this season," Scotson told SBS Cycling after the big win. “I think I’ve got more, I’m going to enjoy it,”

Gerrans, who revealed he was sick over Christmas, was disappointed not to win his third national title – but paid rich tribute to Scotson.

“It’s disappointing when it’s so close,” he said. “What a great way for him to get his professional career started – I’m happy for a young guy to get the win there today, he really deserved it.”

Haas likewise tipped his hat to the winner. “Obviously Miles was an exceptional winner today - this course has no gifts and it takes no prisoners,” he said.

2017 Australian National Championships Men's Road Race Results Top 10

1 Miles Scotson (BMC) 4:37:55
2 Simon Gerrans (Orica-Scott) ,,
3 Nathan Haas (Dimension Data) ,,
4 Cameron Bayly (Isowhey Sports Swisswellness) ,,
5 Nathan Earle (UKYO) ,,
6 Travis Meyer ,,
7 Brendan Canty (Cannondale-Drapac) ,,
8 Robbie Hucker (Isowhey Sports Swisswellness) ,,
9 Lachlan Norris (UnitedHealthcare) ,,
10 Mark O’Brien (Drapac-Pat’s Veg),,

Miles Scotson wins National Road Race Championship


Tag: bmc
Feb 25 2017 - NEWS: Van Avermaet Goes Back to Back at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad
Feb 19 2017 - NEWS: Ben Hermans Crowned Tour of Oman Winner
Feb 18 2017 - NEWS: Hermans Wins Tour of Oman Queen Stage
Feb 17 2017 - NEWS: Kristoff win stage sprint, Hermans Keeps Jersey
Feb 11 2017 - NEWS: Van Avermaet Headlines BMC's Tour of Oman Team
Jan 22 2017 - NEWS: Richie Porte wins Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 21 2017 - NEWS: Richie Porte attacks to take Willunga Hill
Jan 18 2017 - NEWS: BMC's Richie Porte wins Stage 2 after Solo Attack Down Under
Jan 08 2017 - NEWS: Miles Scotson wins National Road Race Championship
Jan 05 2017 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis crowned Australian Time Trial Champion
Jan 03 2017 - NEWS: Richie Porte to Headline BMC Racing Team in Santos Tour Down Under
Dec 12 2016 - NEWS: BMC Racing Team partner with Assos of Switzerland and reveal new Team Kit
Dec 09 2016 - NEWS: BMC Racing Confirm 2017 Team Roster as they gather for Winter Training in Spain
Nov 20 2016 - NEWS: BMC Racing Team Complete 2017 Roster with Miles Scotson
Nov 16 2016 - NEWS: Greg Van Avermaet to begin recovery process following ankle surgery
Nov 14 2016 - NEWS: Greg Van Avermaet to Undergo Surgery on Fractured Ankle
Oct 31 2016 - NEWS: BMC Racing Team Welcome Steve Bauer as Director of VIP Services
Oct 10 2016 - NEWS: TAG Heuer returns to cycling with BMC Racing Team, closing a 20-year hiatus!
Sep 27 2016 - NEWS: BMC Racing Team Welcomes Francisco Ventoso in 2017
May 13 2017 - EVENT: Greg Van Avermaet Classic
Sep 02 2017 - EVENT: Sven Nys Classic