BMC's Richie Porte  wins Stage 2 after Solo Attack Down Under

Richie Porte of BMC Racing Team is the new leader of the Tour Down Under after finishing solo to win the second stage

Porte launched an attack at the base of the Paracombe climb and crossed the finish line 16 seconds ahead of Movistar's Gorka Izagirre Insausti and Orica-Scott's Esteban Chaves.

The top five was completed by Porte's teammate Rohan Dennis and Dimension Data's Nathan Haas.

In the general classification, with four stages to go, Porte now has a 20-second lead over Izagirre with Chaves trailing by another two seconds.

"The BMC Racing Team boys were just incredible this morning. They really looked after me the whole day and it's nice to win on Paracombe," said stage winner Porte. "It's good to get a win already this season and now we'll try and defend this jersey."

"We started with the five laps around Stirling. We didn't really race it that hard which is a bit of a shame but at the end of the day I think I have a good gap on the General Classification. I know it's not over with a few quite hard stages remaining. The team are fantastic and strong so I'm quite confident."

"I know I've got good climbing legs and I didn't really want to wait around so to be able to ride away like that gives me good confidence."

The win is Porte's fourth at the Tour Down Under, having already won one stage each in the last three editions.

Porte is clearly in good form, he was seen at the finish of the second stage looking really "ripped".

Tour Down Under Results Stage 2 

Stage 2 Stirling - Paracombe (2017-01-18)

1. Richie PORTE BMC  3:46:06
3. Johan Esteban CHAVES RUBIO ORS  +16
4. Rohan DENNIS BMC  +19
5. Nathan HAAS DDD  +19
6. Diego ULISSI UAD  +19
7. Rúben GUERREIRO TFS  +19
8. Michael STORER AUS  +19
9. Michael WOODS CDT  +19
10. Luis Leon SANCHEZ GIL AST  +19

Tour Down Under General Clasification after Stage 2

1 Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team 7:10:14
2 Gorka Izagirre (Esp) Movistar Team at 0:20
3 Esteban Chaves (Col) Orica-Scott 0:22
4 Jay McCarthy (Aus) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:24
5 Nathan Haas (Aus) Dimension Data 0:27
6 Diego Ulissi (Ita) Team UAE Abu Dhabi 0:29
7 Nathan Earle (Aus) UniSA-Australia
8 Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team
9 Luis León Sánchez (Esp) Astana Pro Team
10 Rafael Valls (Esp) Lotto Soudal
11 Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo
12 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
13 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb
14 Ruben Guerreiro (Por) Trek-Segafredo
15 Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (Col) Team Sky
16 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac
17 Enric Mas (Esp) Quick-Step Floors
18 Michael Storer (Aus) UniSA-Australia
19 Jhonatan Restrepo (Col) Katusha-Alpecin

Tour Down Under Stage 2 Highlights

NEXT LIVE STREAM: STAGE 3 Adelaide to Victor Harbor Mountain - WED 18th U.S., THu 19th EUROPE & AUSTRALIA
6:00 pm U.S. Pacific (Wed), 9:00pm U.S. Eastern (Wed), 2:00am London (Thu), 03:00am CET (Thu), 12:30pm Adelaide (Thu)
Click here for our 2017 Tour of Santos LIVE STREAMING race dashboard with all the latestnews, results, interviews and videos
Tag: tourdownunder
Jan 23 2018 - NEWS: Equal prize money paid to men and women at the Tour Down Under
Jan 21 2018 - NEWS: Sagan Sprints to Green Jersey Success Down Under
Jan 21 2018 - NEWS: Impey wins Tour Down Under as Greipel Strikes Again
Jan 20 2018 - NEWS: Richie Porte: I have to be happy with second overall
Jan 20 2018 - NEWS: Impey takes the lead as Porte wins on Willunga Hill
Jan 19 2018 - NEWS: Sagan crushes Norton Summit to take Stage 4 Victory
Jan 18 2018 - NEWS: Italian sprinter Elia Viviani wins Blistering Stage 3
Jan 17 2018 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan Sprints to Stage 2 Victory Down Under
Jan 16 2018 - NEWS: Greipel takes stage one Victory Down Under
Jan 14 2018 - NEWS: Peter Sagan wins People’s Choice Classic at the Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 12 2018 - NEWS: Bauke Mollema targets 2018 Tour de France
Jan 12 2018 - NEWS: Katrin Garfoot wins stage 2 of the Women´s Tour Down Under
Jan 11 2018 - NEWS: VIDEO: Hay Truck Wipes Out Tour Down Under Finish Line
Jan 09 2018 - NEWS: Mitchelton-SCOTT target Sprint Stages at the Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 02 2018 - NEWS: Bahrain-Merida Looking Strong For Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 10 2019 - EVENT: 2018 Santos Tour Down Under
Tag: livestream
May 10 2017 - NEWS: Brutal last week at the Giro d'Italia
May 19 2017 - NEWS: George Bennett time trials into yellow at Big Bear lake
May 19 2017 - NEWS: Gaviria wins his fourth stage before the peloton hits the Brutal mountain stages
May 18 2017 - NEWS: Andrew Talansky Takes Mount Baldy Stage Win
May 17 2017 - NEWS: Rally Cycling One - Two on stage four of the Tour of California
May 17 2017 - NEWS: Omar Fraile wins dramatic 11th stage at the Giro d'Italia
May 16 2017 - NEWS: Tom Dumoulin Takes Maglia Rosa After Stage 10 Victory
May 16 2017 - NEWS: Rafal Majka makes his mark in the mountains, taking stage victory and GC lead at Tour of California
May 16 2017 - NEWS: Toms Skujins crashes heavily at the Tour of California
May 15 2017 - NEWS: Anna van der Breggen wins Amgen Women’s Race
May 13 2017 - NEWS: USA's Coryn Rivera from Team SubWeb wins stage 3
May 12 2017 - NEWS: Katie Hall wins the Queen Stage
May 11 2017 - NEWS: Megan Guarnier wins uphill sprint at South Lake Tahoe
May 11 2017 - NEWS: Silvan Dillier claims his first Grand Tour stage win
May 09 2017 - NEWS: Jan Polanc wins stage 4 on Mount Etna
Tag: bmc
Apr 30 2018 - NEWS: Register now for the Bookwalter Binge Gran Fondo, Oct 27, Asheville NC
Aug 25 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis pulls on the Red Leaders Jersey at the Opening Vuelta Time Trial
Aug 20 2018 - NEWS: American's Bookwalter and Rosskopf support Richie Porte at La Vuelta
Aug 03 2018 - NEWS: Bookwalter, Rosskopf and van Garderen headline BMC at the Tour of Utah
May 23 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis wins Giro d'Italia Time Trial ahead of final mountain stages
May 02 2018 - NEWS: Dennis and Roche head up BMC Racing Team's ambitions at the Giro d'Italia
Mar 07 2018 - NEWS: BMC Racing win opening Team Time Trial at Tirreno-Adriatico
Feb 24 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis moves into race lead after individual time trial
Feb 22 2018 - NEWS: Greg Van Avermaet to lead BMC Racing at opening Spring Classics weekend
Feb 15 2018 - NEWS: Brent Bookwalter Announces Bookwalter Binge Gran Fondo & Warren Wilson College Partnership
Jan 20 2018 - NEWS: BMC Racing Team recon the Cobbles ahead of the Classics
Jan 05 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis wins Third Consecutive Australian National Time Trial
Dec 11 2017 - NEWS: BMC Reveals New Kit and Tour Down Under Roster
Dec 03 2017 - NEWS: Greg Van Avermaet targets Strade Bianche and Tour of Flanders
Sep 28 2017 - NEWS: Join Brent Bookwalter and friends at the Bookwalter Binge Gran Fondo
May 01 2019 - EVENT: Greg Van Avermaet Classic
Aug 31 2019 - EVENT: Sven Nys Classic