Boasson Hagen solo's to longest Tour stage win

Edvald Boasson Hagen claimed stage 19, the longest stage of Tour de France, after attacking from the large breakaway of the day to solo to victory, finishing 5 seconds ahead of his closest rivals Nikias Arndt (Sunweb) and Jens Keukeliere (Orica-Scott).

Race leader Chris Froome (Team Sky), finished comfortably in the main peloton, more than 10 minutes behind.

Boasson Hagen was part of a 20-rider breakaway that formed from the start of the stage, which remained clear for the whole day.

The breakaway looked poised for a sprint showdown, but Boasson Hagen and Arndt managed opened up a gap around the final roundabout with 3 kms kilometers to go.

Boasson Hagen attacked again and it was impossible for Arndt to close the gap.

“Inside the last 2 kilometers or so, I made a final attack and nobody could follow, so I am really happy I managed to win. I have been so close so many times, and now finally I got one”, said a jubilant Boasson Hagen after the stage.

Froome remains 23 seconds ahead of Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale) and 29 seconds in front of third-placed Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac) in the overall classification. 

Tomorrow's stage is a 23km ITT which could see some changes in the final GC.

Michael Matthews is in the Green jersey and Warren Barguil wears the Polka Dot jersey.

2017 Tour de France Stage 19 Top Ten Results

1 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Dimension Data 5:06:09 
2 Nikias Arndt (Ger) Team Sunweb 0:00:05 
3 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) Orica-Scott 0:00:17 
4 Daniele Bennati (Ita) Movistar Team   
5 Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Lotto Soudal   
6 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Direct Energie   
7 Elie Gesbert (Fra) Team Fortuneo - Oscaro   
8 Jan Bakelants (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale   
9 Michael Albasini (Swi) Orica-Scott 0:00:19 
10 Pierre Luc Perichon (Fra) Team Fortuneo - Oscaro 0:01:32

2017 Tour de France GC after Stage 10

1 Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky 83:26:55 
2 Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:23 
3 Rigoberto Uran (Col) Cannondale-Drapac 0:00:29 
4 Mikel Landa (Spa) Team Sky 0:01:36 
5 Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:01:55 
6 Daniel Martin (Irl) Quick-Step Floors 0:02:56 
7 Simon Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott 0:04:46 
8 Louis Meintjes (RSA) UAE Team Emirates 0:06:52 
9 Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Sunweb 0:08:22 
10 Alberto Contador (Spa) Trek-Segafredo 0:08:34 
11 Damiano Caruso (Ita) BMC Racing Team 0:13:41  

VIDEO: 2017 Tour de France Stage 19 Finish

Tag: tourdefrance
Nov 07 2017 - NEWS: VIDEO: Discover The 2018 Etape du Tour
Oct 31 2017 - NEWS: VIDEO: Best of - 2017 Tour de France Škoda Shanghai Criterium
Oct 26 2017 - NEWS: 2018 Etape Du Tour sells out in advance to 15,000 cyclists
Oct 23 2017 - NEWS: Paris-Camembert adds Unpaved Forest Track to Pro Race
Oct 22 2017 - NEWS: Etape du Tour 2018 Recon with Yellovelo
Oct 19 2017 - NEWS: 2018 Tour de France goes Gravel Grinding on Stage 10
Oct 19 2017 - NEWS: Movistar Boss dismisses Tour de France Cobbles
Oct 18 2017 - NEWS: Tour de France riders react to Roubaix Stage
Oct 17 2017 - NEWS: 2018 Tour de France Route Revealed
Oct 17 2017 - NEWS: 2018 Etape Du Tour Revealed
Oct 16 2017 - NEWS: Watch the 2018 Tour De France Presentation LIVE
Oct 11 2017 - NEWS: 2018 Tour de France Rumours and L'Alpe d'Huez
Jul 23 2017 - NEWS: VIDEO: Best of the 2017 Tour de France
Jul 23 2017 - NEWS: Dylan Groenewegen wins final sprint in Paris
Jul 22 2017 - NEWS: Chris Froome seals his fourth Tour de France Victory
Jul 07 2018 - EVENT: 2018 Tour De France