Dylan Groenewegen wins final sprint in Paris

Chris Froome (Team Sky) secured a fourth Tour de France victory on Sunday after safely crossing the final finish line on the Champs-Élysées in Paris as Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNL-Jumbo) won the final stage in a sprint finish

The day started with celebrations,  Team Sky riders drankchampagne and beer, toasting the other riders, team cars and even with the general public at at the side of the road.

The final stage started on the streets of Paris on the Champs-Elysees, nine riders escaped established a breakaway including; Imanol Erviti (Movistar), Miki Schär (BMC), Alexey Lutsenko (Astana), Daryl Impey (Orica-Scott), Julien Vermote (Quick-Step Floors), Marcus Burghardt (Bora-Hansgrohe), Nils Politt (Katusha-Alpecin), Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energie) and Dion Smith (Wanty-Groupe Gobert), and gained an advantage of half a minute.

With five kilometres to go, the escape group was caught and Zdenek Stybar (Quick-Step Floors) tried to get away but was neutralised.

The last kilometre was was a final battle for the big sprinters and LottoNL-Jumbo's Dylan Groenwegen out just sprinted Andre Greipel (Lotto-Soudal) and Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data) on the line.

Chris Froome arrived safe in the bunch, securing his overall victory in the 2017 Tour de France, his fourth in total and his third in a row.

Michael Matthews (Sunweb) was confirmed at the Green jersey points classification winner.

Warren Barguil (Sunweb) was confirmed as the Polka Dot Mountains classification winner.

Simon Yates (Orica-Scott) was confirmed as the White jersey Young rider classification winner. 

Chris Froome was also part of the Team Sky Team classification winners.

Dylan Groenewegen said “This is an amazing place for the sprinters. To win on the Champs-Elysées makes it a perfect day. We're only five riders in the team but it was enough today. They did a great job. They put me in a good position, on the wheel of Alexander Kristoff and then I rushed to the finish line. This is my first stage win at the Tour. When I was young, I was looking at the Champs-Elysées stage on TV. Now I'm the winner here, it's wonderful.”

Chris Froome said "It's just an amazing feeling. The Champs-Elysées never disappoints. There's something magical about it when you spend three weeks thinking of this moment. It's just rewarding. It's amazing to see my wife and my son again after several months on the road. Each time I've won the Tour, it has been so unique. All my victories are so special in their own ways. This one will be remembered as the closest and more hard fought of them. It's a huge honor to be mentioned in the same sentence as Jacques Anquetil, Eddy Merckx, Bernard Hinault and Miguel Indurain. It's a privilege to be going for the record next year.”

2017 Tour de France Stage 21 Top Ten Results on the Champs-Élysées

1. Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo
2. André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal
3. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Dimension Data
4. Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
5. Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha-Alpecin
6. Borut Bozic (Slo) Bahrain-Merida
7. Davide Cimolai (Ita) FDJ
8. Pierre Luc Perichon (Fra) Team Fortuneo – Oscaro
9. Rüdiger Selig (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
10. Daniele Bennati (Ita) Movistar Team, all same time

2017 Tour de France Final general classification

1. Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky
2. Rigoberto Uran (Col) Cannondale-Drapac, at 54 secs
3. Romain Bardet (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale, at 2-20
4. Mikel Landa (Esp) Team Sky, at 2-21
5. Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana, at 3-05
6. Daniel Martin (Irl) Quick-Step Floors, at 4-42
7. Simon Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott, at 6-14
8. Louis Meintjes (RSA) UAE Team Emirates, at 8-20
9. Alberto Contador (Esp) Trek-Segafredo, at 8-49
10. Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Sunweb, at 9-25

VIDEO: Best of 2017 Tour de France

VIDEO: Stage 21 Final Kilometre

Tag: tourdefrance
Jul 18 2018 - NEWS: Team Sky Take Control: Thomas in Yellow as Froome takes back Time
Jul 17 2018 - NEWS: VIDEO: MTB rider steals the Limelight Jumping over the Tour de France
Jul 17 2018 - NEWS: Alaphilippe wins the first Brutal Alpine Stage to take the Polka Dot Jersey
Jul 16 2018 - NEWS: Three Brutal Back-To-Back Mountain Stages awaits the Pro Peloton
Jul 15 2018 - NEWS: Rafal Majka climbs up the GC despite being "run over" at a Sunday in Hell
Jul 15 2018 - NEWS: Movistar come out of "Unreal Roubaix" stage relatively unscathed
Jul 15 2018 - NEWS: Team Sky looking forward to the Mountain Stages after surviving the Cobbles and Crashes
Jul 15 2018 - NEWS: John Degenkolb's Big Comeback on the Grueling Roubaix Cobbles
Jul 15 2018 - NEWS: Richie Porte abandons the Tour before reaching Roubaix's Cobbles
Jul 14 2018 - NEWS: Feared Roubaix Cobbles: Where the Tour can be Lost
Jul 14 2018 - NEWS: Groenewegen wins second stage as Dan Martin loses time in crash
Jul 13 2018 - NEWS: Groenewegen blasts his rivals with impressive sprint finish
Jul 12 2018 - NEWS: Dan Martin blasts past his rivals on the Mur-de-Bretagne finale on Stage 6
Jul 11 2018 - NEWS: Peter Sagan powers to second stage win in uphill battle at Quimper
Jul 10 2018 - NEWS: Gaviria wins his second stage as Van Avermaet retains Yellow Jersey
Jul 07 2018 - EVENT: 2018 Tour De France
Tag: lotto
May 09 2018 - NEWS: Enrico Battaglin sprints to an impressive win on Stage 5 of the Giro d'Italia
Apr 26 2018 - NEWS: Thomas de Gendt wins stage two at the Tour of Romandie
Mar 05 2018 - NEWS: Dylan Goenewegen powers ahead on stage 2 uphill Sprint
Feb 22 2018 - NEWS: Bennett sets sights on the Giro d'Italia and Vuelta a Espana
Jan 16 2018 - NEWS: Greipel takes stage one Victory Down Under
Sep 08 2017 - NEWS: De Gendt takes fourth Victory for Lotto Soudal as Froome retains Red jersey
Sep 07 2017 - NEWS: Sander Armée wins stage 18 as Froome fights back
Aug 31 2017 - NEWS: Marczynski wins a second stage as Froome Crashes Twice
Aug 24 2017 - NEWS: Tomasz Marczynski wins Stage 6 from the breakaway
Aug 13 2017 - NEWS: Lars Boom fined for 1,000 Swiss Francs Badass celebration
Aug 12 2017 - NEWS: Tim Wellens takes stage and Tom Dumoulin leads GC
Aug 11 2017 - NEWS: Lars Boom Solo's to Stage Win and Race Lead
Jul 23 2017 - NEWS: Dylan Groenewegen wins final sprint in Paris
Jul 19 2017 - NEWS: Primoz Roglic solos to win tough Galibier stage
Jun 06 2017 - NEWS: Koen Bouwman beats Sprinters from Breakaway