Tim Wellens takes stage and Tom Dumoulin leads GC

Tim Wellens from Lotto Soudal out sprinted breakaway companion Tom Dumoulin from Sunweb after a gruelling rain soaked stage through the Ardennes

The 200 km sixth stage between Riemst and Houffalize was a super hilly, rain soaked stage.

A breakaway of five riders was established early on;  Tao Geogheagan (Sky), Tony Martin (Katusha-Alpecin),  Dylan van Baarle (Cannondale-Drapac), Alexis Gougeard (AG2R La Mondiale) and Pieter Weening (Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij). They created a maximum lead of four minutes over the peloton.

Lotto-Soudal and Lotto NL Jumbo didn't like the gap, so they started to chase, such was the pace and terrain, riders were being shelled out of the back of the main peloton.

They caught the breakaway with around 30 kilometres to go and then the attacks started. Oliver Naesen (AG2R La Mondiale), Tim Wellens (Lotto-Soudal) and Tom Dumoulin (Sunweb) all attacked.

Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe), attacked but suffered a front wheel puncture and had to wait for service from way behind the peloton.

Wellens attacked and took Dumoulin with him.

A chase group containing Bakelants, Van Avermaet tried to reel them in, but they maintained a 24 second gap.

Behind themm Sagan led another chase group, but gave up because none of his companions would share the work.

Wellen's and Dumoulin maintained their gap and the Belgian crossed the line first. Dumoulin's second place was enough for him to take over the race lead.

Wellens now trails the Dumoulin by four seconds with Van Avermaet 46 seconds behind and Jasper Stuyven of Trek-Segafredo and Astana's Michael Valgren making up the top five riders overall.

A unlucky and extremely frustrated Peter Sagan rolled over the line down on the stage results and has dropped down the the GC as a result. He gave a very sarcastic thumbs up to the moto crew in disgust of the days unfortunate events and lack of co-operation from his chase group companions. It seem's to be a regular occurance that riders won't work with Sagan.

VIDEO: Sagan's Sarcastic Thumbs Up on Stage 6

2017 BinckBank Tour Stage 6 Top Ten

1 Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal 5:04:36 
2 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb   
3 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo 0:00:17 
4 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team   
5 Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Lotto Soudal   
6 Michael Valgren Andersen (Den) Astana Pro Team 0:00:20 
7 Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale   
8 Nils Politt (Ger) Katusha-Alpecin 0:01:42 
9 Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Cannondale-Drapac   
10 Dion Smith (NZl) Wanty - Groupe Gobert

2017 BinckBank Tour GC after Stage 6

1 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb 20:27:49 
2 Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal 0:00:04 
3 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team 0:00:46 
4 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo 0:00:52 
5 Michael Valgren Andersen (Den) Astana Pro Team 0:01:02 
6 Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale 0:01:09 
7 Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Cannondale-Drapac 0:02:22 
8 Jan Bakelants (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale 0:02:28 
9 Søren Kragh Andersen (Den) Team Sunweb 0:02:40 
10 Dion Smith (NZl) Wanty - Groupe Gobert 0:03:15#

VIDEO: 2017 BinckBank Tour Stage 6 Final Kilometres

Tag: binckbanktour
Aug 13 2017 - NEWS: Tom Dumoulin wins the 2017 BinckBank Tour
Aug 13 2017 - NEWS: Stuyven wins final stage, claims 3rd overall in Binckbank Tour
Aug 13 2017 - NEWS: Peter Sagan secures BinckBank Tour points jersey
Aug 13 2017 - NEWS: Lars Boom fined for 1,000 Swiss Francs Badass celebration
Aug 12 2017 - NEWS: Tim Wellens takes stage and Tom Dumoulin leads GC
Aug 11 2017 - NEWS: Lars Boom Solo's to Stage Win and Race Lead
Aug 10 2017 - NEWS: Edward Theuns from Trek-Segafredo wins BinckBank stage 4
Aug 09 2017 - NEWS: Sagan wins his second BinckBank Stage
Aug 08 2017 - NEWS: Stefan Kung takes ITT and the Lead at BinckBank Tour
Aug 07 2017 - NEWS: Peter Sagan takes sprint victory at stage 1 of the BinckBank Tour
Aug 06 2017 - NEWS: Cannondale-Drapac ready for the 2017 BinckBank Tour
Aug 06 2017 - NEWS: Star Studded Line Up for Binck Bank Tour
Sep 25 2016 - NEWS: Eneco Tour 2016 Stage 7: Boasson Hagen Wins Stage, Terpstra The Eneco Tour
Sep 24 2016 - NEWS: Eneco Tour Stage 6: Pibernik claims stage as breakaway holds off peloton
Sep 23 2016 - NEWS: Eneco Tour: Rohan Dennis back on top as BMC wins Team Time Trial
Aug 13 2018 - EVENT: BinckBank Tour
Tag: lottosoudal
Apr 26 2018 - NEWS: Thomas de Gendt wins stage two at the Tour of Romandie
Sep 08 2017 - NEWS: De Gendt takes fourth Victory for Lotto Soudal as Froome retains Red jersey
Sep 07 2017 - NEWS: Sander Armée wins stage 18 as Froome fights back
Aug 31 2017 - NEWS: Marczynski wins a second stage as Froome Crashes Twice
Aug 24 2017 - NEWS: Tomasz Marczynski wins Stage 6 from the breakaway
Aug 12 2017 - NEWS: Tim Wellens takes stage and Tom Dumoulin leads GC
Feb 08 2017 - NEWS: Lotto Soudal riders recon Cobbled Classic courses
Sep 04 2016 - NEWS: Tour Britain Stage 1: André Greipel of Lotto Soudal wins stage after a crash hit bunch finish
Aug 12 2016 - NEWS: Lotto Soudal announces line-up for 2016 Vuelta a Espana