Gaviria and Nibali start 2018 season at the Vuelta a San Juan

Continental, ProContinental, National and seven WorldTour teams confirmed for early season Argentinian race from January 21st to January 28th

The UCI 2.1 race will take place between the 21st and the 28th of January, being one of the first races for the teams at international competition level in 2018. Seven WorldTour teams, seven National teams, five ProContinental teams and seven Continental squads are expected to take part.

Bahrain-Merida, Bora-hansgrohe, Lotto Soudal, Movistar, Quick-Step Floors, Trek-Segafredo and UAE Team Emirates are the WorldTour teams, joined by the national teams of Chile, Argentina, Mexico, Italia, Uruguay, Colombia and Cuba.

The Pro Continental squads are Androni-Giocattoni, Caja Rural-Seguros RGA, Israel Cycling Academy, UnitedHealthcare and Wilier Triestina.

The Continental teams that will compete are the Agrupacion Virgen de Fatima, Asociacion Civil Mardan, Medellin Inder, SEP San Juan, Municipalidad de Rawson, Unieuro Trievigiani and Pocito.

The 2018 edition of the race will include three more WorldTour teams than last year. It is still uncertain whether Trek-Segafredo's Bauke Mollema will come back to defend his 2017 title, as race organisers named Jarlinson Pantano as leader of Trek-Segafredo.

Darwin Atapuma will lead UAE Team Emirates and Rafal Majka will lead Bora-Hansgrohe.

Gaviria won two stages last year at the 2017 Tour of San Juan, with Trek-Segafredo's Bauke Mollema the overall winner.

The seven days of racing include a rest day on Thursday January 25.

Several stages will suit Sprinters with a 15km time trial on stage 3 in San Juan. The fifth stage  could decide the overall classification with a finish at an altitude of 2,565m at Alto Colorado. 

Fernando Gaviria won the opening Stage of the 2017 Vuelta San Juan

Tag: vueltasanjuan
Jan 26 2018 - NEWS: Gonzalo Najar wins atop Alto Colorado and takes race lead
Jan 24 2018 - NEWS: Quick-Step Floor's Max Richeze takes victory on Stage 4
Jan 24 2018 - NEWS: Trek Segafredo's Ryan Mullen captures first international victory
Jan 24 2018 - NEWS: Trek's Ryan Mullen wins Time Trial as Ganna grabs overall
Jan 22 2018 - NEWS: Roman Villalobos denies the Sprinters on Stage Two
Jan 21 2018 - NEWS: Gaviria dominates opening Vuelta San Juan Sprint
Jan 21 2018 - NEWS: Vincenzo Nibali will head lineup for Vuelta a San Juan
Jan 02 2018 - NEWS: Rafal Majka Starts Season at the Vuelta A San Juan
Nov 19 2017 - NEWS: Gaviria and Nibali start 2018 season at the Vuelta a San Juan
Jan 29 2017 - NEWS: Mollema wins the overall in Vuelta a San Juan
Jan 29 2017 - NEWS: Richeze wins stage and Mollema conquers Vuelta a San Juan
Jan 29 2017 - NEWS: Max Richeze Wins Epic Stage In San Juan
Jan 28 2017 - NEWS: Trek Segafredo's Mollema Takes Over Vuelta a San Juan Lead
Jan 27 2017 - NEWS: Quick-Step Floors Fernando Gaviria Strikes Again
Jan 26 2017 - NEWS: BAHRAIN MERIDA's Navardauskas wins San Juan ITT
Jan 21 2018 - EVENT: 2018 Vuelta a San Juan