Equal prize money paid to men and women at the Tour Down Under  

The Tour Down Under paid out equal prize money for the men's and women's races for the first time

The organisers of the Tour Down Under to paid out equal prize money for the men’s and women’s races and received widespread applause and support, with women riders especially pleased by the news.

Amanda Spratt from (Mitchelton-Scott) won this year’s women’s race said afterwards “Wow, what a huge step forward for equality.”

Stage winner Chlose Hosking from (Alé–Cipollini) said: “Just wow. Huge news & just one more example of how women’s sport is on the up and in the forefront of the public’s mind in Australia "

Australian Annette Edmondson from (Wiggle-High5) said: “A HUGE step forward for women’s cycling! Thank you, Australia!! 

The announcement was made by South Australia Minister for Tourism Leon Bignell at the TDU Legends Night dinner on Sunday evening.

Due to equal prize money being awarded, the total prize money for the women’s race grew from $15,000 AUS to $100,000 AUS dollars.

“This is exciting news for women’s sport and I’m thrilled to announce our government is providing equal prize money for female riders in the Santos Women’s Tour Down Under,” he said. “I wrote to UCI President, Mr David Lappartient, in November last year and we finished the discussion today and agreed the Santos Women’s Tour Down Under was the perfect event to lead the way for equal prize money.

“These athletes are at the top of their game, display professionalism determined and skill during every stage of the hard-fought race. “It’s only fair the prize money they receive is on par with their male counterparts for each stage as well as the general classification.”

UCI president David Lappartient said “Prize money for 2.1 UCI sanctioned Tour Down Under Women’s race is now equal to men’s! I applaud the Austrailian Government's commitment to support women's cycling and thrilled to see that UCI’s first World Tour event leads the way for equal prize money! Lots to learn from this action. I am a strong advocate for women’s empowerment in sports in general and cycling more specifically.”

The TDU’s move is not the only step that it has taken to modernise its races, last year it stopped using podium girls.

The Women’s Tour Down Under is a UCI 2.1-ranked event – one step down from the top-level WorldTour.

The men’s event was the opening race in the WorldTour calendar and Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott) won the 2018 race ahead of racefavorite Richie Porte from BMC Racing.

Equal prize money paid to men and women at the Tour Down Under

Tag: tourdownunder
Jan 20 2019 - NEWS: Richie Porte wins on Willunga Hill as Daryl Impey takes Overall Victory
Jan 19 2019 - NEWS: Ewan Disqualified for head-butting Philipsen as race leader Bevin crashes
Jan 18 2019 - NEWS: Daryl Impey surges into contention at the Tour Down Under
Jan 17 2019 - NEWS: Peter Sagan takes stage win as Bevin hangs onto Ochre
Jan 16 2019 - NEWS: Bevin Sprints to Tour Down Under Stage Two Victory and Race Lead
Jan 15 2019 - NEWS: Viviani wins opening Tour Down Under stage in brutal heat
Jan 13 2019 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan beats Peter Sagan at the opening Tour Down Under Classic
Jan 12 2019 - NEWS: Trek-Segafredo and Richie Porte ready for Winlunga Hill Showdown - Down Under
Jan 12 2019 - NEWS: Amanda Spratt puts on a dominating display at Mengler Hill, Down Under
Jan 10 2019 - NEWS: Paternoster wins Trek-Segafredo’s maiden race Down Under
Jan 06 2019 - NEWS: Switch Off Live Stream - Vuelta San Juan
Dec 28 2018 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan heads up Lotto-Soudal's assault Down Under
Dec 15 2018 - NEWS: Willunga Hill will feature as the climax to the 2019 Tour Down Under
Jan 23 2018 - NEWS: Equal prize money paid to men and women at the Tour Down Under
Jan 21 2018 - NEWS: Sagan Sprints to Green Jersey Success Down Under
Jan 16 2020 - EVENT: 2019 Santos Tour Down Under