Kristoff takes final stage victory on Champs-Élysées as Thomas wins Overall

John Degenkolb second and Arnaud Demare third in final sprint. Geraint Thomas confirmed as overall winner. Peter Sagan won the Green Jersey, Alaphillipe the Polka Dot and Pierre LaTour the White Jersey

Sylvain Chavanel (Direct-Energie), confirmed that this is going to be his last Tour de France, had the honour of riding in front of the peloton on the Champs-Elysees in Paris. He rode at the front to the delight of the huge crowds before pulling over and soon a breakaway attacked as the racing got underway.

Silvan Dillier, Nils Politt, Michael Schär, Guillaume Van Keirsbulck, Taylor Phinney and Damien Gaudin, took a lead of 30 seconds. With two laps to go, Kevin Ledanois (Fortuneo Samsic) and Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) attacked but were reeled back with 10 km to go.

With the breakaway being caught with 7km to, Politt attacked but was caught and UAE Team Emirates' Marco Marcato counter attacked and Bora-hansgrohe's Daniel Oss joined him.

Both were reeled in, Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step Floors) launched a strong attack but he was caught with 500 metres to go. The final sprint was fought between Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates), John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo) and Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ).

The Norwegian had the stronger legs and crossed the finish line just ahead of Degenkolb and Demare.

Weshman, Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) arrived at the finish some moments later and confirmed his win of the race.

VIDEO: 2018 Tour de France Stage Flash Summary

2018 Tour de France Stage 21 Top 10

1 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) UAE Team Emirates 2:46:36 
2 John Degenkolb (Ger) Trek-Segafredo   
3 Arnaud Demare (Fra) Groupama-FDJ   
4 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Dimension Data   
5 Christophe Laporte (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits   
6 Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) Quick-Step Floors   
7 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bahrain-Merida   
8 Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe   
9 Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Wanty-Groupe Gobert   
10 Jasper De Buyst (Bel) Lotto Soudal

2018 Tour de France Final General Classification

1 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky 83:17:13 
2 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb 0:01:51 
3 Chris Froome (GBr) Team Sky 0:02:24 
4 Primoz Roglic (Slo) LottoNL-Jumbo 0:03:22 
5 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo 0:06:08 
6 Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:06:57 
7 Mikel Landa (Spa) Movistar Team 0:07:37 
8 Daniel Martin (Irl) UAE Team Emirates 0:09:05 
9 Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin 0:12:37 
10 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 0:14:18

Tag: tourdefrance
Feb 09 2019 - NEWS: Geraint Thomas confirms his focus is winning the Tour de France
Jan 24 2019 - NEWS: Romain Bardet to end France's Le Tour drought
Jan 01 2019 - NEWS: Chris Froome confirms aim is to win a fifth Tour de France
Dec 17 2018 - NEWS: Key Stages of the 2019 Tour de France where the race will be won
Dec 06 2018 - NEWS: Team Sky Dilemma: Thomas confirms focus on Tour de France Title
Nov 14 2018 - NEWS: Geraint Thomas versus Chris Froome: Who Will Lead Team Sky?
Oct 26 2018 - NEWS: It's a very mountainous course - says KOM Tour de France winner Alaphilippe
Oct 25 2018 - NEWS: The Brutal Mountain Stages of the 2019 Tour de France Revealed
Oct 25 2018 - NEWS: Armstrong's former manager Johan Bruyneel banned from cycling for life
Oct 25 2018 - NEWS: 2019 Tour de France route Highest in History
Oct 20 2018 - NEWS: 2019 Tour De France rumors suggest summit stage finish on Mount Ventoux
Oct 16 2018 - NEWS: Nibali to meet French prosecutors over Tour de France crash
Oct 12 2018 - NEWS: Lance Armstrong offers Geraint Thomas a Tour de France Trophy
Oct 10 2018 - NEWS: Geraint Thomas' Tour de France trophy Stolen at UK Cycle Show
Jul 29 2018 - NEWS: Lawson Craddock raises $195K and counting en route to Paris as Tour's Lanterne Rouge
Jul 06 2019 - EVENT: 2019 Tour De France