Travis McCabe sprints to Stage 1 Victory as Van Garderen retains lead

Travis McCabe easily out-sprinted the peloton to win stage 1 of the Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah in Cedar City, his third career win at the race 

The day's breakaway contained Evan Huffman (Rally), George Simpson (Elevate KHS), Daan Olivier (LottoNL-Jumbo), and Lionel Mawditt (Jelly Belly). The four stretched their lead to over five minutes.

They maintained their lead on the 1st Category climb up Parowan Canyon through the ski resort town of Brian Head into Cedar Breaks National Monument, climbing 4,500 ft in 15 miles with some pitches hitting 15%. 

Mawditt took the day’s first KOM points.

Olivier dropped his breakaway companions with 55kms to go. BMC Racing led the chase, his lead was 2m 30s. Olivier crested the second category 4 KOM clinb of the day alone, before hitting the long descent towards Cedar City.

Olivier was reeled in by the peloton as the pack got ready for a final sprint on the 3 laps of the finishing circuit.

McCabe was several bike lengths in front as he crossed the line ahead of Ulises Castillo, Edwin Vanegas and Brent Bookwalter in fourth.

Stage 2 tomorrow will return to Payson for a sprint in front of historic Peteetneet Museum before coming back though the start/finish at Memorial Park. Racers will make the final push to the climb up the Category 1 Mt. Nebo. The long descent into Payson has been technical enough, and riders have a tough time chasing back on. Expect a lone rider or some group over the top to make it to the finish together.

VIDEO: Tour of Utah Stage 1 Final Kilometres

2018 Tour of Utah Stage 1 Top 5

1 USA McCABE Travis Team Smart Stop 4h17'05
2 MEX CASTILLO Ulises Alfredo Jelly Belly-Maxxis m.t.
3 COL AVILA VANEGAS Edwin Alcibiades Israel Cycling Academy m.t.
4 USA BOOKWALTER Brent BMC Racing Team m.t.
5 USA REIJNEN Kiel Trek-Segafredo m.t.

2018 Tour of Utah GC after Stage 1

1 USA VAN GARDEREN Tejay BMC Racing Team 4h23'31
2 USA McCABE Travis Team Smart Stop + 2"
3 USA ROSSKOPF Joey BMC Racing Team + 4"
4 USA POWLESS Neilson Team LottoNL - Jumbo + 7"
5 NED EENKHOORN Pascal Team LottoNL - Jumbo + 11

Tag: tourofutah
Jan 10 2019 - NEWS: Nine Host Venues Selected for 2019 Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah
Aug 12 2018 - NEWS: American Sepp Kuss dominates the Tour of Utah
Aug 11 2018 - NEWS: Sepp Kuss attacks to win Queen Stage at Snowbird
Aug 11 2018 - NEWS: Salt Lake City Photo Finish for Philipsen and McCabe
Aug 09 2018 - NEWS: Travis McCabe wins his second stage sprint at the Tour of Utah
Aug 09 2018 - NEWS: Sepp Kuss attacks on Mount Nebo to take stage 2 and Race Lead
Aug 07 2018 - NEWS: Travis McCabe sprints to Stage 1 Victory as Van Garderen retains lead
Aug 06 2018 - NEWS: Tejay van Garderen wins Tour of Utah opening Time Trial
Aug 03 2018 - NEWS: Bookwalter, Rosskopf and van Garderen headline BMC at the Tour of Utah
Jul 28 2018 - NEWS: Star-Studded Rosters Announced for 14th Edition of Tour of Utah Professional Stage Race
Jul 20 2018 - NEWS: Rolling Festival and Experience Packages Announced for Tour of Utah
Jun 12 2018 - NEWS: Tour of Utah Unveils 536-Mile Race Route with Nine King of the Mountain Climbs
Jan 28 2018 - NEWS: Tour of Utah reveals Host Cities for August International Pro Race
Aug 06 2017 - NEWS: Rob Britton from Rally Cycling wins the 2017 Tour of Utah
Aug 06 2017 - NEWS: Italian Giulio Ciccone wins atop Snowbird
Aug 11 2018 - EVENT: The Ultimate Challenge
Aug 12 2019 - EVENT: 2019 Larry H.Miller Tour of Utah
Aug 17 2019 - EVENT: Tour of Utah's Ultimate Challenge