Caleb Ewan beats Peter Sagan at the opening Tour Down Under Classic

The first race of the  2019 season saw high speeds and frenetic riding, as the Down Under Classic showed that the riders really meant business this year

While several breaks tried to control the day, the sprint teams brought them back every time. The pace ramping up, two crashes in the last two laps created splits. While Austrian National Champion, Lukas Pöstlberger, was brought down here, he picked himself up to ride to the finish.

But the BORA-hansgrohe team kept their heads and saw Peter Sagan safely to the finish, the Slovak National Champion unlucky to be beaten to the top spot, taking second on the line in a reduced sprint, while on his birthday, Daniel Oss took a well-deserved fifth position.

VIDEO: 2019 Down Under Classic Finish

2019 Tour Down Under Classic Top 10

1 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Lotto Soudal 1:03:59 
2 Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe   
3 Alex Edmondson (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott   
4 Roger Kluge (Ger) Lotto Soudal 0:00:02 
5 Daniel Oss (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:04 
6 Owain Doull (GBr) Team Sky 0:00:05 
7 Luke Rowe (GBr) Team Sky 0:00:09 
8 Luis León Sánchez (Spa) Astana Pro Team   
9 Marco Haller (Aut) Katusha-Alpecin   
10 Francisco Ventoso (Spa) CCC Team  

Tag: tourdownunder
Jan 26 2020 - NEWS: Richie Porte wins a second Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 25 2020 - NEWS: Impey takes race lead as Nizzolo wins Sprint Down Under
Jan 24 2020 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan wins second Tour Down Under stage
Jan 23 2020 - NEWS: Richie Porte takes Tour Down Under lead with uphill stage 3 win
Jan 22 2020 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan Storms to Stage 2 Victory at the Tour Down Under
Jan 21 2020 - NEWS: Sam Bennett wins Tour Down Under opening Sprint Stage
Jan 19 2020 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan wins Tour Down Under prologue
Jan 17 2020 - NEWS: Specialized launch new Tour Down Under Collection ahead of Race
Jan 17 2020 - NEWS: Richie Porte: This going to be the hardest Tour Down Under yet
Jan 10 2020 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis to lead Team Ineos at the Tour Down Under
Jan 03 2020 - NEWS: Sam Bennett to make Deceuninck-Quick-Step debut at Tour Down Under.
Jan 20 2019 - NEWS: Richie Porte wins on Willunga Hill as Daryl Impey takes Overall Victory
Jan 19 2019 - NEWS: Ewan Disqualified for head-butting Philipsen as race leader Bevin crashes
Jan 18 2019 - NEWS: Daryl Impey surges into contention at the Tour Down Under
Jan 17 2019 - NEWS: Peter Sagan takes stage win as Bevin hangs onto Ochre
Jan 16 2020 - EVENT: 2020 Santos Tour Down Under