Local Argentine Tivani wins stage 6 as Anacona leads into final stage

Local Argentine cyclist Germán Nicolás Tivani, of the Virgen de Fátima team, won a three-up sprint against compatriots Dani Díaz and Daniel Zamora from the day's breakaway

Local Argentine cyclist Germán Nicolás Tivani, of the Virgen de Fátima team, won a three-up sprint against compatriots Dani Díaz and Daniel Zamora

At 13 kilometers of race, the Argentines Daniel Zamora, of the Virgin of Fatima, Daniel Díaz, of the Municipality of Pocito, and Nicolás Tivani, of the Virgin of Fátima, joined the Colombian Dayer Quintana, of the Italian Neri-Sottoli, to launch a break with which they got to have five minutes of advantage mediated the race.

Due to the number of kilometers left for the finish, the peloton relaxed thinking that the break would not prosper, but the distance that the four warriors were putting on the bike caused the time to exceed five minutes.

Although the distance was reduced by the peloton to leave it below the minute, the three Argentines managed to hold until almost the end, while Dayer Quintana, with five kilometers left, got off the lead group.

Díaz, Zamora and Tivani, local idols, entered the Villicum autodrome between the applause of the fans, who saw how the three Argentines, in a lesson of honor, pedaled restlessly before the stalking of a platoon that was unable to hunt them.

The Slovakian Peter Sagan, triple world champion, was among those who threw most in the final stretch to try to reach the cyclists head of race, but the rest of the squad did not accompany him with the same strategy and the return to the Villicum road course was He made the persecutors too long.

Finally, in the last straight, the one that showed the most strength was Nico Tivani, first sanjuanino to win a stage of the International Tour.

This sixth stage, with start and finish in the circuit of Villicum on a route of 153.5 kilometers, was marked by the rain that accompanied the cyclists during a great part of the route and especially to their arrival at the finish line.

The victory of Nico Tivani does not mean major changes in the general classification, which continues to lead the Colombian Winner Anacona, Movistar, winner of the fifth stage, while the Argentine Daniel Zamora sneaks into the tenth position.

"I knew it could be an even more complicated stage than yesterday, with a lot of tension, rain, wind ... but we ran warned, I had a great team that wrapped me well and tomorrow we will go all out to defend this shirt," Anacona said.

The seventh and final stage will be played on a circular route through San Juan of 15.7 kilometers that cyclists will give nine laps.

2019 Vuelta San Juan Stage 6 Top 10

1. German Nicolás Tivani (ARG / ACA Virgen de Fátima) - 3:13:29
2. Daniel Diaz (ARG / Municipality of Pocito) - mt
3. Daniel Zamora (ARG / ACA Virgin of Fatima) - mt
4. Sam Bennett (IRL / Bora-Hansgrohe) at 0:12
5. Fernando Gaviria (COL / UAE Emirates) at 0:12
6. Maximiliano Richeze (ARG / Deceuninck-Quick Step) at 0:12
7. Simone Consonni (ITA / UAE Emirates) to 0:12
8. Stan Dewulf (BEL / Lotto-Soudal) to 0:12
9. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA / Deceuninck-Quick Step) to 0:12
10. Rudy Barbier (FRA / Israel Academy ) at 0:16

2019 Vuelta San Juan General classification after Stage 6

1. Winner Anacona (COL / MOVISTAR) - 19:14:55
2. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA / Deceuninck-Quick Step) at 0:35
3. ÓSCAR SEVILLA (ESP / Medellín) at 0:57
4. Valerio Conti (ITA / UAE Emirates) at 1:03
5. Felix Grossschartner (AUT / Bora-Hansgrohe) at 1:13
6. Richard Carapaz (ECU / MOVISTAR) at 1:20
7. César Nicolás Paredes (COL / Medellín) a 1:24
8. Nairo Quintana (COL / MOVISTAR) at 1:29
9. Remco Evenepoel (BEL / Deceuninck-Quick Step) at 1:26
10. Tiesj Benoot (BEL / Lotto-Soudal) at 1:38

Tag: vueltasanjuan
Feb 07 2020 - NEWS: Five hundred fans rode the Sagan Fondo at the la Vuelta a San Juan
Feb 03 2020 - NEWS: Evenepoel wins Vuelta a San Juan as Gavria beats Sagan in Final Sprint
Feb 01 2020 - NEWS: Evenepoel still in the Lead as Teammate Stybar Outsmarts the Sprinters
Feb 01 2020 - NEWS: Evenepoel retains lead as Florez claims Queen stage at the Vuelta San Juan
Jan 30 2020 - NEWS: Fernando Gaviria strikes again at the Vuelta a San Juan
Jan 29 2020 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel wins the Time Trial and takes Over Race Lead in Argentina
Jan 28 2020 - NEWS: Gaviria sprints to stage 2 victory at the Vuelta a San Juan
Jan 26 2020 - NEWS: Rudy Barbier sprints to Vuelta a San Juan opening stage Win
Jan 22 2020 - NEWS: Fernando Gaviria to lead UAE Team Emirates at Vuelta a San Juan
Jan 03 2020 - NEWS: Gaviria, Sagan, Alaphilippe and Evenepoel Headline Vuelta San Juan
Feb 02 2019 - NEWS: Local Argentine Tivani wins stage 6 as Anacona leads into final stage
Feb 02 2019 - NEWS: Anacona Storms to Vuelta San Juan race Lead on Alto Colorado
Jan 31 2019 - NEWS: Gaviria doubles stage wins down in Argentina
Jan 29 2019 - NEWS: Alaphilippe snatches race lead from Gaviria as Evenepoel shines
Jan 28 2019 - NEWS: Julian Alaphilippe launches late attack to win second Vuelta San Juan Stage
Jan 26 2020 - EVENT: Vuelta a San Juan