Aru, Mas, Demare, Valgren and Degenkolb headline Volta ao Algarve 

Fabio Aru will race his second event of the 2019 season and captain a young team at the Volta ao Algarve, February 20-24

The young UAE Team Emirates averages 24.7 years old but is full of talent, with Conti and Consonni coming off a great showing in Argentina, Petilli climbing well in Mallorca and Philipsen already winning at the start of the season in Australia. Pogacar’s natural talent and Durasek’s experience complete the team roster.

“After the good start in the Mallorca challenge, I expect that I will find even more good feelings to confirm the rise in my condition,” Aru said. “The tour offers stages that should provide a good testing ground. Like always, I’m going to ride with grit and go for it in the stages most suited to my abilities.”

Fabio Aru will race his second event of the 2019 season and captain a young team at the Volta ao Algarve, February 20-24

Amongst the big names taking part in the Portuguese stage race are sprinter John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo), Enric Mas (Deceuninck – Quick-Step), Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ) and Michael Valgren (Dimension Data).

The five-day stage race has a testing course, with three hilly days, one mountain stage and a 20km individual time trial.

Volta ao Algarve start list

Bora-Hansgrohe (Ger) – confirmed
1. ACKERMANN Pascal (Ger)
2. BODNAR Maciej (Pol)
3. DRUCKER Jempy (Ned)
4. KONRAD Patrick (Aut)
5. SCHILLINGER Andreas (Ger)
6. SCHWARZMANN Michael (Ger)
7.  SELIG Rüdiger (Ger)

CCC Team (Pol) – confirmed
11. ANTUNES Amaro (Por)
12. BARTA Will (USA)
13. BERNAS Pawel (Pol)
14. CERNÝ Josef (Cze)
15. KOCH Jonas (Ger)
16. TEN DAM Laurens (Ned)
17. ZOIDL Riccardo (Aut)

Deceuninck – Quick-Step (Bel) – confirmed
21. DECLERCQ Tim (Bel)
22. JAKOBSEN Fabio (Ned)
23. LAMPAERT Yves (Bel)
24. MARTINELLI Davide (Ita)
25. MAS Enric (Esp)
26. SÉNÉCHAL Florian (Fra)
27. ŠTYBAR Zdenek (Cze)

Groupama-FDJ (Fra)
31. DÉMARE Arnaud (Fra)
32. GUARNIERI Jacopo (Ita)
33. KONOVALOVAS Ignatas (Ltu)
34. KÜNG Stefan (Sui)
35. LE GAC Olivier (Fra)
36. SEIGLE Romain (Fra)
37. VAUGRENARD Benoît (Fra)
38. ARMIRAIL Bruno (Fra)

Lotto-Soudal (Bel)
41. DE BUYST Jasper (Bel)
42. DEWULF Stan (Bel)
43. FRISON Frederik (Bel)
44. HAGEN Carl Fredrik (Nor)
45. MAES Nikolas (Bel)
46. NAESEN Lawrence (Bel)
47. VAN GOETHEM Brian (Ned)

Dimension Data (RSA)
51. VALGREN Michael (Den)
52. BAK Lars Ytting (Den)
53. BOASSON HAGEN Edvald (Nor)
54. CUMMINGS Steve (GBr)
55. KING Ben (USA)
56. VERMOTE Julien (Bel)
57. WYSS Danilo (Sui)

Jumbo Visma (Ned)
61. GROENEWEGEN Dylan (Ned)
62. JANSEN Amund Grøndahl (Nor)
63. VAN DER HOORN Taco (Ned)
64. POWLESS Neilson (USA)
65. ROOSEN Timo (Ned)
66. TEUNISSEN Mike (Ned)
67. WYNANTS Maarten (Bel)

Katusha-Alpecin (Sui)
71. DEBUSSCHERE Jens (Bel)
72. GONÇALVES José (Por)
73. GUERREIRO Ruben (Por)
74. POLITT Nils (Ger)
75. ŠPILAK Simon (Slo)
76. STRAKHOV Dmitry (Rus)
77. WÜRTZ SCHMIDT Mads (Den)

Team Sky (GBr)
81. DE LA CRUZ David (Esp)
82. DUNBAR Eddie (Irl)
84. POELS Wout (Ned)
85. ROWE Luke (GBr)
86. STANNARD Ian (GBr)
87. VAN BAARLE Dylan (Ned)

Tag: voltaaoalgarve
Feb 28 2020 - NEWS: Algarve Granfondo Cofidis Kick-Started Portuguese Cycling Season
Feb 23 2020 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel secures Volta ao Algarve Victory with Fastest Final Time Trial
Feb 22 2020 - NEWS: Lopez wins atop the Alto do Malhão as Evenepoel retains Race Lead
Feb 21 2020 - NEWS: Cees Bol produces powerful kick to win sprint finish on Stage 3 of the Volta ao Algarve
Feb 20 2020 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel delivers the first big uphill win on the Alto da Foia
Feb 19 2020 - NEWS: Fabio Jakobsen the fastest among the big sprinters on opening stage of Volta ao Algarve
Feb 14 2020 - NEWS: Nibali and Mollema ready for 2020 debut in Portugal at Volta ao Algarve
Jan 22 2020 - NEWS: 24 teams confirmed for the 2020 Volta ao Algarve Cofidis
Feb 20 2019 - NEWS: Jakobsen sprints to victory on the opening stage of the Volta ao Algarve
Feb 18 2019 - NEWS: Aru, Mas, Demare, Valgren and Degenkolb headline Volta ao Algarve
Dec 29 2018 - NEWS: Traditional route for the 2019 Volta ao Algarve
Feb 19 2017 - NEWS: Amaro Antunes wins stage, Roglic takes overall victory
Feb 18 2017 - NEWS: Andre Greipel Wins Photo Finish Sprint
Feb 17 2017 - NEWS: Castroviejo smashes TT as Roglic takes lead
Feb 16 2017 - NEWS: Dan Martin wins Algarve Stage 2 and takes the Lead
Feb 19 2020 - EVENT: Volta ao Algarve