Wout Van Aert wins Time Trial as Adam Yates Takes Race Lead

British rider Adam Yates moved in to the overall lead at the Criterium du Dauphine, Wout VanAert was fastest

Four-time Tour de France winner Chris Froome was blown into a wall by a gust of wind and suffered a fracture of the femur.

The time trial was won by Belgian Jumbo rider Wout Van Aert in 33min 38sec, ahead of American Tejay Van Garderen at 31s with Dutchman Tom Dumoulin in third at 47s.

"It's a first WorldTour race win. I can't believe it," said Van Aert, who is ninth in the overall standings at 30sec.

"I didn't know it was possible to win on this level so I'm super happy," said the 24-year-old former cyclo-cross champion who has come second on two previous stages here.

Yates, 26, actually finished sixth on the day to claim the yellow jersey in a race where he came second last year.

"That was a good time and a good day for me," said Yates, who will race the Tour de France.

"We have one sprint stage tomorrow, so hopefully the sprint teams will help us control, and then it's straight to the mountains," he said of the eight day route that finishes with two major days of climbing this weekend.

"We're in the jersey now and hopefully we can hold it all the way to the end."

Yates leads overnight leader Dylan Teuns by just four seconds, Van Garderen is third at 6sec while Denmark's Jakob Fuglsang of Astana is just 7sec back.

France's Thibaut Pinot in sixth at 25s and Nairo Quintana of Colombia in 10th at 40s, stand out as potential eventual winners too.

Thursday's fifth stage is a 201km ride through flat planes.

VIDEO: Criterium du Dauphine Stage 4 Highlights

2019 Criterium du Dauphine Stage 4 Top 10

1 Wout van Aert (Bel) Team Jumbo-Visma 0:33:38
2 Tejay van Garderen (USA) EF Education First 0:00:31
3 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb 0:00:47
4 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team Jumbo-Visma 0:00:49
5 Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:51
6 Adam Yates (GBr) Mitchelton-Scott 0:00:56
7 Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Deceuninck-QuickStep 0:00:59
8 Nils Politt (Ger) Katusha-Alpecin 0:01:05
9 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team 0:01:07
10 Rémi Cavagna (Fra) Deceuninck-QuickStep 0:01:10

2019 Criterium du Dauphine GC after Stage 4

1 Adam Yates (GBr) Mitchelton-Scott 12:27:26 
2 Dylan Teuns (Bel) Bahrain-Merida 0:00:04 
3 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) EF Education First 0:00:06 
4 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team 0:00:07 
5 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team Jumbo-Visma 0:00:24 
6 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) Groupama-FDJ 0:00:25 
7 Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:26 
8 Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz) Astana Pro Team 0:00:30 
9 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Team Jumbo-Visma   
10 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 0:00:40

Tag: dauphine
Jun 16 2019 - NEWS: Jakob Fuglsang wins Criterium du Dauphine ahead of the Tour de France
Jun 15 2019 - NEWS: A Drenched Wout Poels wins Mountain Top Finish at the Dauphine
Jun 13 2019 - NEWS: Van Aert does the double at the Dauphine with Yates still in yellow
Jun 12 2019 - NEWS: Chris Froome out of the Tour de France after Breaking Leg at Dauphine
Jun 12 2019 - NEWS: Wout Van Aert wins Time Trial as Adam Yates Takes Race Lead
Jun 11 2019 - NEWS: Sam Bennett celebrates seventh season victory on Criterium du Dauphine Stage 3
Jun 10 2019 - NEWS: Dylan Teuns wins stage 2 of the Criterium du Dauphine
Jun 09 2019 - NEWS: Chris Froome in form as Boasson Hagen wins Dauphine Opening Sprint
Jun 06 2019 - NEWS: Criterium du Dauphine test for Froome ahead of the Tour de France
Jun 05 2019 - NEWS: Froome, Bardet, Porte to go head to head at the Criterium du Dauphine
Jun 10 2018 - NEWS: Briton Geraint Thomas wins the Criterium du Dauphine
Jun 12 2017 - NEWS: An Impeccable Lead-out Sees Michael Matthews Take The Victory At Tour De Suisse Stage 3
Jun 11 2017 - NEWS: Jacob Fuglsang wins Dauphine in thrilling finale
Jun 10 2017 - NEWS: Peter Kennaugh wins Stage 7 as Richie Porte extends lead
Jun 09 2017 - NEWS: Fulsang wins sprint as Porte takes Yellow Jersey
Jun 09 2019 - EVENT: Criterium du Dauphine