Jakob Fuglsang wins Criterium du Dauphine ahead of the Tour de France 

Team Astana defended their lead to allow Jakob Fuglsang to secure overall victory at the Criterium du Dauphine

The final mountain stage from Cluses crossed the French border to Champery in Switzerland.

A 13-rider breakaway included Dylan van Baarle (Team Ineos) and Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott).

The pair rode away from their breakaway companions on the final climb, van Baarle using his sprint to take the stage win ahead of Haig

Haig's team leader Adam Yates, second place overall, abandoned with 50km left to race suffering with a fever.

Astana set a high pace in the peloton for much of the stage to defend Jakob Fuglsang's overall lead.

Tejay van Garderen (EF Education First) finished second overall, 20 seconds behind, with Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-Hansgrohe) third overall at 21 seconds behind.

Belgian riders Wout van Aert won the points classification jersey and Bjorg Lambrecht won the youth classification jersey.

Fuglsang's victory makes him a favorite for the Tour de France, "I think my next race is another one in France..." he joked, "I’m looking forward to it. I think I’m in the right way and that this year can be a good year for me. This has been a fantastic season and I hope it can get even better." 

"This year everything seems to come really easy and perfectly," he continued, ""It makes it so much easier, there’s no stress and everything comes automatically. Also the whole Astana team is super strong and everybody is lifting everyone else, there’s a good atmosphere, it’s really good.”

VIDEO: 2019 Criterium du Dauphine Stage 8 Highlights

2019 Criterium du Dauphine Stage 8 Top 10

1 Dylan van Baarle (Ned) Team Ineos 3:05:38
2 Jack Haig (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott
3 Carl Fredrik Hagen (Nor) Lotto Soudal 0:00:50
4 Warren Barguil (Fra) Arkéa Samsic 0:01:12
5 Sepp Kuss (USA) Team Jumbo-Visma
6 Sébastien Reichenbach (Swi) Groupama-FDJ 0:01:16
7 Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Deceuninck-QuickStep 0:01:59
8 Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz) Astana Pro Team
9 Xandro Meurisse (Bel) Wanty-Gobert
10 Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe.

2019 Criterium du Dauphine Final General Classification

1 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team 30:44:27
2 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) EF Education First 0:00:20
3 Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:21
4 Wout Poels (Ned) Team Sky 0:00:28
5 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) Groupama-FDJ 0:00:33
6 Dylan Teuns (Bel) Bahrain-Merida 0:01:11
7 Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz) Astana Pro Team 0:01:12
8 Daniel Martin (Irl) UAE Team Emirates 0:01:21
9 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 0:01:24
10 Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:01:38.

Tag: dauphine
Jun 16 2019 - NEWS: Jakob Fuglsang wins Criterium du Dauphine ahead of the Tour de France
Jun 15 2019 - NEWS: A Drenched Wout Poels wins Mountain Top Finish at the Dauphine
Jun 13 2019 - NEWS: Van Aert does the double at the Dauphine with Yates still in yellow
Jun 12 2019 - NEWS: Chris Froome out of the Tour de France after Breaking Leg at Dauphine
Jun 12 2019 - NEWS: Wout Van Aert wins Time Trial as Adam Yates Takes Race Lead
Jun 11 2019 - NEWS: Sam Bennett celebrates seventh season victory on Criterium du Dauphine Stage 3
Jun 10 2019 - NEWS: Dylan Teuns wins stage 2 of the Criterium du Dauphine
Jun 09 2019 - NEWS: Chris Froome in form as Boasson Hagen wins Dauphine Opening Sprint
Jun 06 2019 - NEWS: Criterium du Dauphine test for Froome ahead of the Tour de France
Jun 05 2019 - NEWS: Froome, Bardet, Porte to go head to head at the Criterium du Dauphine
Jun 10 2018 - NEWS: Briton Geraint Thomas wins the Criterium du Dauphine
Jun 12 2017 - NEWS: An Impeccable Lead-out Sees Michael Matthews Take The Victory At Tour De Suisse Stage 3
Jun 11 2017 - NEWS: Jacob Fuglsang wins Dauphine in thrilling finale
Jun 10 2017 - NEWS: Peter Kennaugh wins Stage 7 as Richie Porte extends lead
Jun 09 2017 - NEWS: Fulsang wins sprint as Porte takes Yellow Jersey
Jun 09 2019 - EVENT: Criterium du Dauphine