Filippo Ganna wins Binck Bank time trial as Tim Wellens retains race lead

Filippo Ganna (Team Ineos) was the fastest in the Binck Bank Tour’s 8.4km time trial around Den Haag, beating his compatriot Edoardo Affini (Mitchelton-Scott) by five seconds.

Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) was 20 seconds behind Ganna but despite finishing 10th, he was able to extend his lead over Marc Hirschi (Team Sunweb) to eight seconds. Third on the podium before the final stage is Laurens de Plus (Jumbo-Visma).

“It was my first victory in the Italian national jersey and I was very happy with my performance and my time, too,” Ganna said. “I’m feeling better after a small crash two days ago and I feel better, luckily I didn’t do too much damage."

“I really wanted this win. It’s great it happened. I saved energy in the last few days and so was fresh today. The wind wasn’t too strong and so I was able to produce my best ride.”

The Binck Bank Tour finishes on Sunday with a 178.1km stage from Sint-Pieters-Leeuw to Geraardsbergen that takes on the iconic Muur van Geraardsbergen.

VIDEO: 2019 BinckBank Tour Stage 6 Highlights

2019 BinckBank Tour Stage 6 Top 10

1 Filippo Ganna (Ita) Team Ineos 0:09:16
2 Edoardo Affini (Ita) Mitchelton-Scott 0:00:05
3 Jos van Emden (Ned) Team Jumbo-Visma 0:00:08
4 Stefan Küng (Swi) Groupama-FDJ 0:00:11
5 Harry Tanfield (GBr) Katusha-Alpecin 0:00:15
6 Bob Jungels (Lux) Deceuninck-QuickStep 0:00:16
7 Mads Pedersen (Den) Trek-Segafredo  
8 Søren Kragh Andersen (Den) Team Sunweb  
9 Laurens De Plus (Bel) Team Jumbo-Visma 0:00:18
10 Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal 0:00:20

2019 BinckBank Tour GC after Stage 6 Top 10

1 Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal 17:37:10
2 Marc Hirschi (Swi) Team Sunweb 0:00:08
3 Laurens De Plus (Bel) Team Jumbo-Visma 0:00:12
4 Stefan Küng (Swi) Groupama-FDJ 0:00:40
5 Ivan Garcia (Spa) Bahrain-Merida 0:00:43
6 Mike Teunissen (Ned) Team Jumbo-Visma 0:00:45
7 Søren Kragh Andersen (Den) Team Sunweb  
8 Fabio Felline (Ita) Trek-Segafredo 0:00:49
9 Michael Valgren Andersen (Den) Dimension Data 0:00:53
10 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) CCC Team 0:00:54

Tag: EnecoTour
Aug 18 2019 - NEWS: Laurens De Plus attacks on final stage to win BinckBank Tour
Aug 17 2019 - NEWS: Filippo Ganna wins Binck Bank time trial as Tim Wellens retains race lead
Aug 16 2019 - NEWS: Hodeg blasts to victory on Stage 5 of Binck Bank Tour
Aug 15 2019 - NEWS: Tim Wellens pips Marc Hirschi to win a tough Stage and take the Race Lead
Aug 14 2019 - NEWS: Hat-trick for Sam Bennett after photo finish at BinckBank Tour
Aug 13 2019 - NEWS: Sam Bennett doubles up with second stage win at the BinckBank Tour
Aug 12 2019 - NEWS: Sam Bennett wins grim opening stage at the Binck Bank Tour
Aug 10 2019 - NEWS: Van Avermaet to Lead CCC Team's Rider Roster at Binck Bank Tour
Aug 03 2019 - NEWS: First batch of big names announced for Binck Bank Tour
Aug 19 2018 - NEWS: Elia Viviani wins Hamburg's EuroEyes Cyclassics for the second year in a row
Aug 19 2018 - NEWS: Mohoric successfully defends the leaders jersey on the Wall of Geraardsbergen
Aug 18 2018 - NEWS: Matej Mohoric holds onto lead as Bora's Muhlberger wins penultimate stage
Aug 17 2018 - NEWS: Astana's Magnus Cort Nielsen wins stage 5 as the Breakaway Survives
Aug 16 2018 - NEWS: Jasper Stuyven's blistering pace out-guns the peloton in the final kilometer
Aug 15 2018 - NEWS: Peloton in Shock as Taco van der Hoorn wins from the Breakaway