Team Astana Avoid Spectacular Crashes to win Team Time Trial

The opening technical, short  Team Time Trial at La Vuelta was filled with drama as big crashes unfolded

Team Euskadi Basque Country-Murias support car crashed on the opening stage team time trial at the Vuelta a España.

The team was the third to leave, the footage from an unknown source via La Flamme Rouge shows the riders roll through with the team car trying to catch up. Due to it's speed and a tight corner, the car didn't make it round and crashed, writing it off.

Luckily the support staff and driver were pulled from the vehicle and are all OK.

Team Jumbo Visma had a team crash due to what is believed to be water on the road.

Favorite Primoz Roglic will be understandably be annoyed this evening after most of the team crashed on a tight bend. 

After gathering themselves up, getting bike changes, the team lost over 40 seconds putting Roglic in a bad opening position for the overall general classification.

CCC Team set the fastest time early on, as EF Education, Sunweb and finally Astana overhauled everyone to win.

Miguel Angel Lopez will be celebrating tonight with his teammates in the Red leader's jersey.

Tomorrow's Stage 2 from Benidorm to Calpe is 193 kms, the first part of the stage will pass through Alicante’s hinterland, characterised by its winding roads. The second part involves a climb up to the heights of Alto de Puig Llorença 24 km out from the finish, which see the selection for those competing for the stage win.

VIDEO: 2019 La Vuelta Stage 1 Highlights

2019 La Vuelta Stage 1 Team Time Trial Top 10

1 Astana Pro Team 0:14:51 
2 Deceuninck-QuickStep 0:00:02 
3 Team Sunweb 0:00:05 
4 EF Education First 0:00:07 
5 Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:13 
6 CCC Team 0:00:15 
7 Movistar Team 0:00:16 
8 Groupama-FDJ   
9 Mitchelton-Scott 0:00:18 
10 Lotto Soudal 0:00:19

2019 La Vuelta GC after Stage 1 Top 10

1 Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana Pro Team 0:14:51 
2 Dario Cataldo (Ita) Astana Pro Team   
3 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team   
4 Ion Izagirre Insausti (Spa) Astana Pro Team   
5 Luis León Sanchez (Spa) Astana Pro Team   
6 Gorka Izagirre Insausti (Spa) Astana Pro Team   
7 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Deceuninck-QuickStep 0:00:02 
8 Fabio Jakobsen (Ned) Deceuninck-QuickStep   
9 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Deceuninck-QuickStep   
10 Maximiliano Ariel Richeze (Arg) Deceuninck-QuickStep

Tag: vuelta
May 01 2020 - NEWS: La Vuelta plans for start in Northern Spain as Dutch start scrapped
Mar 28 2020 - NEWS: La Vuelta Preparing for 2020 Race to go ahead as Planned in Mid-August
Feb 07 2020 - NEWS: Five hundred fans rode the Sagan Fondo at the la Vuelta a San Juan
Feb 03 2020 - NEWS: Evenepoel wins Vuelta a San Juan as Gavria beats Sagan in Final Sprint
Feb 01 2020 - NEWS: Evenepoel still in the Lead as Teammate Stybar Outsmarts the Sprinters
Feb 01 2020 - NEWS: Evenepoel retains lead as Florez claims Queen stage at the Vuelta San Juan
Jan 30 2020 - NEWS: Fernando Gaviria strikes again at the Vuelta a San Juan
Jan 29 2020 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel wins the Time Trial and takes Over Race Lead in Argentina
Jan 28 2020 - NEWS: Gaviria sprints to stage 2 victory at the Vuelta a San Juan
Jan 26 2020 - NEWS: Rudy Barbier sprints to Vuelta a San Juan opening stage Win
Jan 22 2020 - NEWS: Fernando Gaviria to lead UAE Team Emirates at Vuelta a San Juan
Jan 03 2020 - NEWS: Gaviria, Sagan, Alaphilippe and Evenepoel Headline Vuelta San Juan
Dec 18 2019 - NEWS: 2020 Vuelta a Espana visits the brutal slopes of the Tourmalet and the Angliru
Dec 01 2019 - NEWS: Rumours are the Vuelta will tackle the brutal climb of the Angliru
Nov 04 2019 - NEWS: Mathieu van der Poel could ride his first Grand Tour at the 2020 La Vuelta
Jun 30 2014 - RESULTS: Vuelta Keystone Gran Fondo
Jan 26 2020 - EVENT: Vuelta a San Juan
Oct 20 2020 - EVENT: 2020 La Vuelta