Fabio Jakobsen just beats Sam Bennett to La Vuelta Stage 4 Victory

Fabio Jakobsen denied a surging Sam Bennett to take his first Grand Tour stage victory at just 22 years old

As the race left Cullera a group of two riders broke away and built up a maximum lead of six minutes. This move would be reeled back in as the pack closed in on the final 20km.

Wind would see the peloton stretched as they descended towards the line in El Puig but ultimately it would not split the group.

Deceuninck – Quick-Step put the Dutch national champion in perfect position, to sprint straight to the line.

Stage three winner Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe) went the wrong way around the final roundabout in the final 1200m and fought his way back through the field from around 12th place and put in a remarkable surge to threaten Jakobsen, but the 22-year-old's bike throw was just that bit better.

Bennett took second with Sunweb’s Max Walscheid settling for third place.

Nicolas Roche (Sunweb) finished comfortably in the bunch, holding onto his race lead, 2 seconds clear of Nairo Quintana (Movistar).

VIDEO: 2019 La Vuelta Stage 4 Highlights

2019 La Vuelta Stage 4 Top 10

1 Fabio Jakobsen (Ned) Deceuninck-QuickStep 04:04:16
2 Sam Bennett (Irl) Bora-Hansgrohe
3 Maximilian Walscheid (Ger) Team Sunweb
4 Fernando Gaviria (Col) UAE Team Emirates
5 Luka Mezgec (Slo) Mitchelton-Scott
6 Marc Sarreau (Fra) Groupama-FDJ
7 Szymon Sajnok (Pol) CCC Team
8 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Dimension Data
9 Jon Aberasturi Izaga (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
10 Juan Sebastian Molano (Col) UAE Team Emirates 

2019 La Vuelta GC after Stage 4

1 Nicolas Roche (Irl) Team Sunweb 13:55:30
2 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 0:00:02
3 Rigoberto Uran (Col) EF Education First 0:00:08
4 Mikel Nieve (Spa) Mitchelton-Scott 0:00:22
5 Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana Pro Team 0:00:33
6 Primoz Roglic (Slo) Team Jumbo-Visma 0:00:35
7 Sergio Andres Higuita Garcia (Col) EF Education First 0:00:37
8 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb 0:00:38
9 Davide Formolo (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:46
10 Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe


Tag: vuelta
May 01 2020 - NEWS: La Vuelta plans for start in Northern Spain as Dutch start scrapped
Mar 28 2020 - NEWS: La Vuelta Preparing for 2020 Race to go ahead as Planned in Mid-August
Feb 07 2020 - NEWS: Five hundred fans rode the Sagan Fondo at the la Vuelta a San Juan
Feb 03 2020 - NEWS: Evenepoel wins Vuelta a San Juan as Gavria beats Sagan in Final Sprint
Feb 01 2020 - NEWS: Evenepoel still in the Lead as Teammate Stybar Outsmarts the Sprinters
Feb 01 2020 - NEWS: Evenepoel retains lead as Florez claims Queen stage at the Vuelta San Juan
Jan 30 2020 - NEWS: Fernando Gaviria strikes again at the Vuelta a San Juan
Jan 29 2020 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel wins the Time Trial and takes Over Race Lead in Argentina
Jan 28 2020 - NEWS: Gaviria sprints to stage 2 victory at the Vuelta a San Juan
Jan 26 2020 - NEWS: Rudy Barbier sprints to Vuelta a San Juan opening stage Win
Jan 22 2020 - NEWS: Fernando Gaviria to lead UAE Team Emirates at Vuelta a San Juan
Jan 03 2020 - NEWS: Gaviria, Sagan, Alaphilippe and Evenepoel Headline Vuelta San Juan
Dec 18 2019 - NEWS: 2020 Vuelta a Espana visits the brutal slopes of the Tourmalet and the Angliru
Dec 01 2019 - NEWS: Rumours are the Vuelta will tackle the brutal climb of the Angliru
Nov 04 2019 - NEWS: Mathieu van der Poel could ride his first Grand Tour at the 2020 La Vuelta
Jun 30 2014 - RESULTS: Vuelta Keystone Gran Fondo
Jan 26 2020 - EVENT: Vuelta a San Juan
Oct 20 2020 - EVENT: 2020 La Vuelta