Pascal Ackermann wins furious opening sprint stage at the UAE Tour

Bora-Hansgrohe's Pascal Ackermann held off his rivals including Caleb Ewan to win on the opening sprint stage at the UAE Tour

The German rider launched a blistering sprint off the back on the Mitchelton-Scott lead-out train and held off an approaching Caleb Ewan to take the sprint.

Rudy Barbier (Israel Start-Up Nation) was third ahead of sprint ace Dylan Groenwegen (Jumbo-Visma).

Arnaud Demare, Sam Bennett, Fernando Gaviria and Mark Cavendish all finished outside the top 10.

Ackermann moved into the race lead of the weeklong UAE Tour and told the press, "I'm super happy with this victory because almost all the top sprinters are here and I wasn't sure if my shape was good enough to beat them all," Ackermann said soon after the finish.

"Now I know that my shape is good and we can take it easy the next few days and have a look at what goes on during the week.

"It was a really hectic and nervous sprint in which I was jumping from one guy's wheel to another one. I was swimming from one guy to the next one but when I saw my chance I told myself to go. I took my chance at the right time. Everyone was really strong. I surprised them by starting my sprint with 300 metres to go."

VIDEO: 2020 UAE Tour Stage 1 Highlights

2020 UAE Tour Stage 1 Top 10

1 Pascal Ackermann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe 3:29:19
2 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Lotto Soudal
3 Rudy Barbier (Fra) Israel Start-Up Nation
4 Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) Team Jumbo-Visma
5 Luka Mezgec (Slo) Mitchelton-Scott
6 Alberto Dainese (Ita) Team Sunweb
7 Jakub Mareczko (Ita) CCC Team
8 Maximilian Walscheid (Ger) NTT Pro Cycling
9  José Rojas (Spa) Movistar Team
10 Andrea Vendrame (Ita) AG2R la Mondiale

Tag: uaetour
Feb 28 2020 - NEWS: Adam Yates announced winner after deadly Coronavirus suspected at UAE Tour
Feb 27 2020 - NEWS: Yates retains lead as Pogacar beats Lutsenko on Jabel Hafeet
Feb 26 2020 - NEWS: Groenewegen beats Gaviria to win fourth sprint stage at the UAE Tour
Feb 25 2020 - NEWS: Adam Yates Crushes his Rivals atop Jabel Hafeet to Take Race Lead
Feb 24 2020 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan sprintx to victory atop Hatta Damn and takes the overall lead!
Feb 23 2020 - NEWS: Pascal Ackermann wins furious opening sprint stage at the UAE Tour
Jan 28 2020 - NEWS: Four-time Tour de France winner Chris Froome to make big return at UAE Tour
Mar 03 2019 - NEWS: Primoz Roglic seals overall victory at the UAE Tour
Feb 21 2019 - NEWS: Exhausted Chris Froome pulls out of UAE Tour
Jan 21 2019 - NEWS: Inaugural UAE Tour: Route, Jerseys, Teams and Riders Announced
Dec 28 2018 - NEWS: Froome, Nibali, Dumoulin and Valverde will go head-to-head at the new UAE Tour