Groenewegen beats Gaviria to win fourth sprint stage at the UAE Tour

Dutchman Dylan Groenewegen won the fourth stage of the UAE Tour beating Gavira, Ackermann, Bennett and Ewan in the finale

Briton Adam Yates finished in the pack with the same time and retained the leader's jersey.

The flat 173km stage round Dubai City ended in a mass sprint.

"This one is really nice, all the sprinters are here," Groenewegen said.

Coming out of the last corner Groenewegen followed Sam Bennett, who attacked from a long way out.

The Dutchman then followed the wheel of Fernando Gaviria of UAE and before surging past

The Colombian fought back but Groenewegen was already sitting up as he crossed the line followed by Gaviria and Bora's German Pascal Ackermann.

"The team did a very good job in the last 3km," said Groenewegen.

"They did a really strong lead-out to bring me to the last corner. Then I was on the wheel of Bennett and, yeah, it was a good position."

It was his third win of the season after two stages at the Tour of Valencia.

The Dutchman has four individual Tour de France stage wins but is planning to miss the race this season to make his debut at both the Giro d'Italia and Vuelta a Espana.

Mitchelton-Scott's Yates built a 1min 7sec lead on Tuesday on the climb of Jebel Hafeet. The race returns to same mountain tomorrow (Thursday) for the climb that finishes a 162km stage. 

Tune and follow!

VIDEO: 2020 UAE Tour Stage 4 Highlights

2020 UAE Tour Stage 4 Top 10

1 Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) Jumbo-Visma 04:16:13
2 Fernando Gaviria (Col) UAE Team Emirates
3 Pascal Ackermann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
4 Sam Bennett (Irl) Deceuninck-QuickStep
5 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Lotto Soudal
6 Kaden Groves (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott
7 Jakub Mareczko (Ita) CCC Team
8 Attilio Viviani (Ita) Cofidis
9 Rudy Barbier (Fra) Israel Start-Up Nation
10 Maximilian Walscheid (Ger) Sunweb

2020 UAE Tour GC after Stage 4

1        Adam Yates (GBr) Mitchelton-Scott        16:46:15
2        Tadej Pogacar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates         0:01:07
3        Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz) Astana Pro Team          0:01:35
4        David Gaudu (Fra) Groupama-FDJ         0:01:40
5        Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe
6        Jesus Herrada (Spa) Cofidis        0:02:05
7        Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb 0:02:06
8        Diego Ulissi (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
9        Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe
10       Edward Dunbar (Irl) Team Ineos

Tag: uaetour
Feb 28 2020 - NEWS: Adam Yates announced winner after deadly Coronavirus suspected at UAE Tour
Feb 27 2020 - NEWS: Yates retains lead as Pogacar beats Lutsenko on Jabel Hafeet
Feb 26 2020 - NEWS: Groenewegen beats Gaviria to win fourth sprint stage at the UAE Tour
Feb 25 2020 - NEWS: Adam Yates Crushes his Rivals atop Jabel Hafeet to Take Race Lead
Feb 24 2020 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan sprintx to victory atop Hatta Damn and takes the overall lead!
Feb 23 2020 - NEWS: Pascal Ackermann wins furious opening sprint stage at the UAE Tour
Jan 28 2020 - NEWS: Four-time Tour de France winner Chris Froome to make big return at UAE Tour
Mar 03 2019 - NEWS: Primoz Roglic seals overall victory at the UAE Tour
Feb 21 2019 - NEWS: Exhausted Chris Froome pulls out of UAE Tour
Jan 21 2019 - NEWS: Inaugural UAE Tour: Route, Jerseys, Teams and Riders Announced
Dec 28 2018 - NEWS: Froome, Nibali, Dumoulin and Valverde will go head-to-head at the new UAE Tour