Kasper Asgreen solos to dramatic and bold Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne Victory

In a nail biting finish Asgreen holds off the peloton with just 100m to go after 30km attack 

Deceuninck-QuickStep's Asgreen solo'ed to victory after dropping his breakaway companions on the finishing circuit with 15 km to go.

Kasper Asgreen solos to dramatic and bold Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne Victory

Behind the reminants of the peloton including a lot of big favorites, Sunweb and Team Ineos started to chase Asgreen while his Deceuninck-QuickStep's teammates kept their main sprinter Fabio Jackabson ready to contest a final bunch sprint.

Due to the smaller roads, reduced bunch and lack of emphasis Asgreen plowed on and crossed the line less than 100 metres ahead of the reduced bunch that saw Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) NTT beat, Alexander Kristoff (Nor) UAE Team Emirates and teammate Fabio Jakobsen (Ned) Deceuninck-QuickStep.

Five riders formed the day's breakaway; Mikkel Bjerg (UAE Team Emirates), Jonas Abrahamsen (Uno-X Norwegian Development Team), Roy Jans (Alpecin-Fenix), Hugo Houle (Astana) and Boris Vallée (Bingoal-Wallonie Bruxelles), they built up a lead of over 5 minutes with 70 km to go.

A crash in the peloton with 66km to go saw a frustrated Gianni Moscon disqualified for throwing another riders bike out the way after crashing. He subsequently ripped off and tore up his race numbers, clearly frustrated with the days events.

Matteo Trentin's attack saw leads a group of 30 or so riders go clear over the top of the Kwaremont, with the breakaway's lead coming down rapdily.

42 to go, this chasing group included Trentin, Van Avermaet, Merlier, GVA, Colbrelli, Naesen and with   the rest of peloton some 2 minutes behind.

With 30 km to go the chasing group containing Van Avermaet, Rowe, Keukeleire, Kung, Alexander Kristoff, Tim Merlier, Zdenek Stybar, Jasper Stuyven and Tiesj Benoot were reeling in the four breakaway leaders.

Yesterday's Omloop Het Niewsblad winner Jasper Stuyven started to rip the race apart. But it was here that Kasper Asgreen attacked and joined the breakaway to go solo with 15 km to go.

Asgreen said after his win regarding team tactics "I was in the room with Styby [Zdenek Stybar] last night but Bob [Jungels] told me in the bus to do like he did last year. On the small roads, after we came back to the group with Styby in it, we knew it was possible to get away because the roads were so small. I tried to get away and make it to the finish. Otherwise, we had Fabio [Jakobsen] for the sprint."

VIDEO: 2020 Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne Highlights

2020 Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne Top 10

1 Kasper Asgreen (Den) Deceuninck-QuickStep
2 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) NTT
3 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) UAE Team Emirates
4 Fabio Jakobsen (Ned) Deceuninck-QuickStep
5 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
6 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bahrain-McLaren
7 Ben Swift (GBr) Team Ineos
8 Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Movistar Team
9 Kristoffer Halvorsen (Nor) EF Pro Cycling
10 Fabian Lienhard (Swi) Groupama-FDJ

Tag: classics
Jan 10 2021 - NEWS: Peter Sagan to target Classics, Giro d'Italia and Tour de France
Dec 10 2020 - NEWS: Monopoly release special Limited Edition Pro Cycling Board for Xmas
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: La Vuelta LIVE Daily Coverage
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: Tour de France LIVE Daily Coverage
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: Giro LIVE Daily Coverage
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: Classics LIVE Daily Coverage
Oct 18 2020 - NEWS: Mathieu van der Poel outsprints his arch rival Wout van Aert to win the Tour of Flanders
Oct 11 2020 - NEWS: VIDEO: This could be my last race, Mark Cavendish in Tears
Oct 04 2020 - NEWS: Primoz Roglic snatches Liège-Bastogne-Liège from Julian Alaphilippe
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: Binck Bank LIVE Daily Coverage
Sep 30 2020 - NEWS: Amstel Gold Race canceled amid tougher virus restrictions
Sep 30 2020 - NEWS: Team Sunweb do it again as Marc Hirschi wins Flèche Wallonne
Sep 26 2020 - NEWS: Van der Breggen takes second World Championships gold
Sep 25 2020 - NEWS: Italian Filippo Ganna clinches Men's World Time Trial Rainbow Jersey
Sep 24 2020 - NEWS: Anna van der Breggen wins dramatic World Championships time trial
Apr 01 2015 - RESULTS: Gorge Roubaix Grinder a Great Success
Mar 16 2015 - RESULTS: Rouge Roubaix Classic Race and Gran Fondo
Apr 10 2016 - EVENT: The Darby Roubaix
Mar 24 2017 - EVENT: The Dirty Devil
Feb 04 2018 - EVENT: Edgware Road Club Centurian Reliability
Mar 24 2018 - EVENT: Lakeville-Milltown-Lakeville
Mar 25 2018 - EVENT: Love Valley Roubaix
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Montana Hell Ride
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Crushed Rock Classic
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Mammoth Gravel Classic
Apr 28 2018 - EVENT: NorCal Spring Classic
Feb 17 2019 - EVENT: Flint Hills Express
Feb 23 2019 - EVENT: Rocheport Roubaix
Apr 14 2019 - EVENT: Steaming Nostril
May 05 2019 - EVENT: Strada Fango
May 05 2019 - EVENT: Fountain-Roubaix
Jun 09 2019 - EVENT: Wellington Roubaix