Van der Poel takes stage 7 in nail-biting finish at Tirreno-Adriatico

Mathieu van der Poel caught and passed Matteo Fabbro in the last few hundred meters of an uphill finish to win the penultimate stage of the Tirreno-Adriatico

Van der Poel takes stage 7 in nail-biting finish at Tirreno-Adriatico

Simon Yates’ overall lead remained unchanged entering the concluding individual time trial Monday.

Van der Poel finished four seconds ahead of Ruben Guerreiro and Fabbro.

”It was an incredible stage, much tougher than I expected,” said Van der Poel. ”The team did a great job getting me into the break. I knew I had to go full gas on the last climb before the finish. Fabbro was ahead of me and when I passed him I knew I had won. I am very happy for this victory that I have been looking for since the beginning of the Tirreno-Adriatico.”

Yates remained 16 seconds ahead of Rafal Majka and 39 seconds ahead of Geraint Thomas.

Thomas will be favored to gain time in the 10-kilometer time trial in San Benedetto Del Tronto.

”Big day. It is what it is,” Yates said. ”Everyone is thinking Rafal Majka is not a good time trialer but that’s not the case. The race is not won.”

VIDEO: 2020 Tirreno-Adriatico Stage 7 Highlights

2020 Tirreno-Adriatico Stage 7 Top 10

1  Mathieu Van der Poel (Ned) Alpecin-Fenix 4:19:23
2 Ruben Guerreiro (Por) EF Pro Cycling 0:00:04
3 Matteo Fabbro (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe
4 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb 0:00:09
5 Alex Aranburu Deba (Spa) Astana Pro Team 0:00:10
6 Simon Yates (GBr) Mitchelton-Scott
7 Michael Woods (Can) EF Pro Cycling
8 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers
9 Aleksandr Vlasov (Rus) Astana Pro Team
10 Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe 

2020 Tirreno-Adriatico GC after Stage 7 Top 10

1 Simon Yates (GBr) Mitchelton-Scott 31:56:02
2 Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:16
3 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers 0:00:39
4 Aleksandr Vlasov (Rus) Astana Pro Team 0:00:49
5 Fausto Masnada (Ita) Deceuninck-Quickstep 0:00:57
6 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb 0:00:59
7 Michael Woods (Can) EF Pro Cycling 0:01:22
8 James Knox (GBr) Deceuninck-Quickstep 0:01:26
9 Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Trek-Segafredo 0:02:33
10 Jack Haig (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott 0:02:47

Tag: tirrenoadriatico
Sep 14 2020 - NEWS: Simon Yates Time Trials to Tirreno-Adriatico Victory
Sep 13 2020 - NEWS: Van der Poel takes stage 7 in nail-biting finish at Tirreno-Adriatico
Sep 12 2020 - NEWS: Simon Yates retains the race lead after stage six sprint
Sep 11 2020 - NEWS: Simon Yates attacks to take stage and Tirreno-Adriatico lead
Sep 10 2020 - NEWS: Hamilton wins stage 4 as Woods retains the lead on Stage 4
Sep 09 2020 - NEWS: Michael Woods powers to stage 3 victory at Tirreno-Adriatico
Sep 08 2020 - NEWS: Ackermann wins second-straight stage at Tirreno-Adriatico
Sep 07 2020 - NEWS: Pascal Ackermann wins stage 1 sprint at Tirreno-Adriatico
Sep 06 2020 - NEWS: The 55th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico begins from Lido di Camaiore
Sep 02 2020 - NEWS: Chris Froome and Geraint Thomas will ride Tirreno-Adriatico
Mar 17 2019 - NEWS: Yates takes time on Roglic before ITT as Fuglsang takes stage
Mar 16 2019 - NEWS: Adam Yates fights off attacks in Tirreno-Adriatico
Mar 14 2019 - NEWS: Alaphilippe outsprints Van Avermaet as Adam Yates takes over race lead
Mar 13 2019 - NEWS: Bookwalter and Mitchelton-Scott take opening team time trial victory at Tirreno-Adriatico
Mar 13 2019 - NEWS: Spectator takes out Bora's Majka and Gatto in Tirreno-Adriatico TTT
Sep 07 2020 - EVENT: Tirreno-Adriatico