2020 Giro d'Italia with Italy Bike Tours  this October- Limited Places!
United States >> 2020 Giro d'Italia LIVE

Tao Geoghegan Hart wins Epic battle in Alps beating Jai Hindley who takes the Pink Jersey

Tao Geoghegan Hart (Ineos Grenadiers) took his second win of the race, beating Jai Hindley (Sunweb) in a sprint after the pair went clear in the final kilometers of the final climb of the day. The pair are on the same time coming into the final time trial in Milan

Geoghegan Hart outsprinted Hindley, who took the pink jersey. Having started the day down on time on the young Sunweb rider, Geoghegan Hart is now level on time at the top of the classification with only the 15-kilometer time trial in Milan remaining on Sunday.

Overnight race leader Wilco Kelderman (Sunweb) cracked midway on the stage’s second ascent of Sestriere and went backward fast to lose 1:35 overall.

After 20 stages and thousands of kilometers, a sub-20 minute time trial will decide the Giro d’Italia on Sunday.

Jai Hindley, the new race leader said after the stage,"I'm speechless. It's something I've dreamed about since I was a little boy. To wear the leader's jersey in a Grand Tour is an incredible privilege. It's not ideal to take it off Wilco but it's nice to keep it in the team. I'm at a loss for words. I saw he wasn't looking super great the first time up the climb. I was thinking I was going to get rid of him and try to take time on him, but I didn't have it in my legs. I was trying everything when I was attacking and I just couldn't get rid of him. I thought I could beat him in the sprint but he was too strong. "

On the time trial, "I don't know - I'm going to give it my best tomorrow and see how it goes. Regardless of the result I'm happy with how I've been riding and I'm super happy with how the team's ridden this Giro."

2020 Giro d'Italia Stage 20 Top 10

1 Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers 4:52:45
2 Jai Hindley (Aus) Team Sunweb
3 Rohan Dennis (Aus) Ineos Grenadiers 0:0:25
4 Joao Almeida (Por) Deceuninck-Quickstep 0:01:01
5 Andrea Vendrame (Ita) AG2R la Mondiale 0:01:34
6 Einer Augusto Rubio Reyes (Col) Movistar Team 0:01:35
7 Pello Bilbao (Spa) Bahrain McLaren
8 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb
9 Attila Valter (Hun) CCC Team 0:01:48
10 James Knox (GBr) Deceuninck-Quickstep 0:02:00

2020 Giro d'Italia CG after Stage 20

1 Jai Hindley (Aus) Team Sunweb 85:22:07
2 Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers
3 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb 0:01:32
4 Pello Bilbao (Spa) Bahrain McLaren 0:02:51
5 Joao Almeida (Por) Deceuninck-Quickstep 0:03:14
6 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team 0:06:32
7 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Trek-Segafredo 0:07:46
8 Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:08:05
9 Fausto Masnada (Ita) Deceuninck-Quickstep 0:09:24
10 Hermann Pernsteiner (Aut) Bahrain McLaren 0:10:08

2020 Giro d'Italia Lastest News