2020 Giro d'Italia with Italy Bike Tours  this October- Limited Places!
United States >> 2020 Giro d'Italia LIVE

2019 Giro d'Italia LIVESTREAM

For sound, please unmute on video controls below after video stream has refreshed.

Opening four stages of Giro d'Italia to take place on Sicily

The 2020 Giro d’Italia has confirmed that the first four stages will begin on the island of Sicily starting October 3rd

The race starts Saturday October 3rd and finishes Sunday October 25th in Milan 3 weeks later.

Stages 5 and 6 back on the mainland have yet to be confirmed,

Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) is forgoing the late season classics to ride the Giro, as he looks to complete the set of Grand Tour sprint victories.

Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck – Quick-Step) will be making his three-week debut in the race, while reigning champion Richard Carapaz (Team Ineos) will return to defend his title.

Vincenzo Nibali (Trek-Segafredo) is also expected to ride his home race, after a great performance last year.

There are three time trials this year, the route begins with a 16km time trial from Monreale to Palermo, before a long 33.7km time trial on stage 14 and a 16.5km individual effort to conclude the race in Milan.

The GC contenders will no doubt have an all out battle in the final week – stages 17, 18 and 20 all contain over 5,000 metres of climbing, with ascents including the Stelvio (from the hardest side), and the Col d’Izoard.

Combined with the 16.5km time trial the following day, organisers RCS clearly intend to keep the battle for the maglia rosa raging right up until the final moments of the 103rd edition of the race.

The first big test is Mount Etna on stage three, 150km after the start in Enna.

 

The famous hills of Emilia Romagna that host the Nove Colli Gran Fondo feature on stage 12, with riders starting and finishing in Cesenatico.The hilly stage will cover 206km and over 3,800 metres of climbing, in celebration of the Nove Colli which celebrates 50 years as one of cycling’s oldest Gran Fondo.

The climbing continues with big mountain stages 17, 18 and 20 which together add up to in excess of 15,000 metres of climbing that will test the main GC contenders.

Stage 19 from faltish stage from Morbegno to Asti is the longest stage, some 251kms long that will be be a real test of endurance for the peloton.

The penultimate stage, from Alba to Sestriere promises drama and over 5,000 metres of climbing ahead of the final time trial in Mila, which could still prove to be a decider, although it could come down to the wire on the final time trial.

2020 Giro d'Italia Stages

Stage Date Start Finish Distance Terrain
1  Sat Oct 3  Monreale Palermo 16km ITT
2  Sun Oct 4 Alcimo Agrigento 150km Hills
3  Mon Oct 5 Enna Etna 150km Mountains
4 Tues Oct 6 Catania Villafranca 138km Flat
5 Weds Oct 7 ??? ??? ??? ???
6 Thurs Oct 8 ??? ??? ??? ???
 7 Fri Oct 9 Mileto Camigliatello Silano 223km Hills
8 Sat Oct 10 Castrovillari Brindisi 216km Flat
9 Sun Oct 11 Giovinazzo Vieste 190km Hills
Mon Oct 12 Rest day      
10 Tues Oct 13 San Salvo Tortoreto Lido 212km Hills
11 Weds Oct 14 Porto Sant’Elpidio Rimini 181km Flat
12 Thurs Oct 15 Cesenatico Cesenatico 206km Hills
13 Fri Oct 16 Cervia Monselice 190km Flat
14 Sat Oct 17 Conegliano Valdobbiadene 33.7km ITT
 15 Sun Oct 18 Rivolto Piancavallo 183km Mountains
Mon Oct 19 Rest day      
16 Tues Oct 20 Udine Valdobbiadene 226km Mountains
17 Weds Oct 21 Bassano del Grappa Madonna di Campiglio 202km Mountains
18 Thurs Oct 22 Pinzolo Lago di Cancano 209km Mountains
19 Fri Oct 23 Morbegno Asti 251km Flat
21 Sat Oct 24 Alba Sestriere 200km Mountains
21 Sun Oct 25 Cernusco di Naviglio Milan 16.5km ITT

 

2020 Giro d'Italia Lastest News