Red Bluff Gran Fondo, March 7th 2020 >> Visit Mississippi!
Welcome to Gran Fondo USA >> 2020 Paris-Nice Live Coverage

Team Sky's climbing prodigy Egan Bernal wins Paris-Nice

Team Sky won Paris-Nice for the sixth time in eight years as Egan Bernal clung on to his yellow jersey in Sunday’s final stage

The young Colombian had to stave off the challenge of compatriot and two-time Grand Tour winner Nairo Quintana, who went on the attack with 47 kilometres remaining of the 110km stage.

Quintana – 46 seconds back in the general classification standings going into the day – led by a minute at one point and also picked up three bonus seconds in an intermediate sprint, but a Sky-led chase ensured Bernal finished just four seconds behind his rival.

Movistar’s Quintana finished second in the GC standings – 39 seconds back – with Sky’s Michal Kwiatkowski third, just over a minute behind his team-mate.

Bernal joins the likes of Sir Bradley Wiggins and Geraint Thomas as winners of the event for Team Sky, who are in their final year under their current guise.

Astana’s Jon Izagirre won the final stage in Nice.

2019 Paris-Nice Final General Classification

1 Egan Bernal (Col) Team Sky 29:17:02
2 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 29:17:41
3 Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky 29:18:05
4 Jack Haig (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott 29:18:23
5 Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 29:18:47
6 George Bennett (NZl) Team Jumbo-Visma 29:19:22

2019 Paris-Nice Stage 8 Top 10 Result

1 Ion Izagirre Insausti (Spa) Astana Pro Team 02:41:10
2 Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale 02:41:28
3 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb 02:41:28
4 Daniel Martinez (Col) EF Education First 02:41:28
5 Felix Großschartner (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe 02:41:28
6 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Bahrain-Merida 02:41:28
7 Luis León Sanchez (Spa) Astana Pro Team 02:41:28
8 Simon Yates (GBr) Mitchelton-Scott 02:41:30
9 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) EF Education First 02:41:30
10 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 02:41:32

2019 Paris Nice Lastest News