Bikes and Beers Virtual Social Distance Ride 2020 - FIND OUT MORE!
United States >> 2020 Tour Of Poland LIVE

Remco Evenepoel adds Tour of Poland to his four Stage Race Tally

The 20 year old rising star has won four out of four stage races, San Juan, Algarve, Burgos and now Poland! Next up - Il Lombardia!

Remco Evenepoel adds Tour of Poland to his four Stage Race Tally

The 20-year-old Belgian took the overall title at the Tour of Poland thanks to a stunning 50km solo breakaway on the queen stage four, with Astana’s Jakob Fuglsang finishing second on GC, nearly two minutes back, and Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) in third.

The Deceuninck – Quick-Step rider held up a number 75 as he crossed the line on stage four, in tribute to team-mate Fabio Jakobsen who is in a serious condition after a crash on stage one. The Belgian WorldTour team continued their winning ways on the final stage five, with Italian Davide Ballerini winning the sprint finish ahead of Bora-Hansgrohe’s Pascal Ackermann.

The Tour of Poland marks Evenepoel’s first WorldTour stage race win. In January he opened his 2020 account with the Vuelta a San Juan before following it up with the Volta ao Algarve and the Vuelta a Burgos following the resumption of the calendar in August.

He will now make his way to Italy for Il Lombardia, his first opportunity to win a Monument, before lining up for Tirreno-Adriatico in September ahead of his debut Grand Tour at the Giro d’Italia in October.

2020 Tour of Poland Stage 5 Top 10

1. Davide Ballerini (Ita) Deceuninck – Quick-Step, in 4-31-22
2. Pascal Ackermann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
3. Alberto Dainese (Ita) Sunweb
4. Ryan Gibbons (RSA) NTT
5. Jasper Philipsen (Bel) UAE Team Emirates
6. Rudy Barbier (Fra) Israel Start-Up Nation
7. Juan Sebastián Molano (Col) UAE Team Emirates
8. Phil Bauhaus (Ger) Bahrain-McLaren
9. Szymon Sajnok (Pol) CCC
10. Albert Torres (Esp) Movistar, all at same time

2020 Tour of Poland finalGC after Stage 5 Top 10

1. Remco Evenepoel (Bel) Deceuninck – Quick-Step, in 21-29-50
2. Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana, at 1-52
3. Simon Yates (GBr) Mitchelton-Scott, at 2-28
4. Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe, at 2-32
5. Diego Ulissi (Ita) UAE Team Emirates, at 3-09
6. Kamil Malecki (Pol) CCC, at 3-12
7. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Sunweb, at 3-15
8. Jonas Vingegaard (Den) Jumbo-Visma, at 3-18
9. Mikel Nieve (Esp) Mitchelton-Scott, at same time
10. Rui Costa (Por) UAE Team Emirates, at 3-19

Tour of Poland Lastest News