Glassner Autumn Challenge, Montgomery, AL - REGISTER NOW!
United States | Southeast | Virginia >> Pro's Battle Heat as Caleb Ewan Wins Stage 1

Riders Battle Heat as Caleb Ewan Wins Stage 1

Stage shortened after temperatures exceed 100 degrees Fahrenheit

The Road Race season started in blazing temperatures down under. Orica Scott favourite Caleb Ewan won stage 1 of the UCI WorldTour in Lyndoch, Australia on Tuesday.

Organizers cut the stage short after temperatures reached 103 degrees fahrenheit. 

The small Aussie pipped Team Sky's Danny Van Poppel to the line, with Bora – Hansgrohe’s new sprinting ace Sam Bennett third.

“I think everyone felt the heat. It was probably a good idea for the race to shorten a little bit,” said Ewan. “I’m super happy to get that win — it was a really close one in the end.”

Belgian Astana rider Laurens de Vreese went on the attack a mile into the race. Jan Bakelants from AG2R La Modialee caught de Vreese and then went on a solo attack himself. However a bunch sprint was the order of the day as the riders turned into a head wind in the final mile.

Ewan said that many of his rivals ran out of lead-out men for what he described as a “super messy sprint.”

World champion Peter Sagan did his best to lead out Bennett, who chose the right side of the road for his final sprint. Ewan dashed up the left side, in his low, aerodynamic sprint position. Van Poppel charged hard into the final 50 meters, but Ewan had the edge and claimed the race’s first leader’s jersey.

“It’s like a repeat of last year so I’m super happy with that,” he added.

The Adelaide Hills town of Stirling is the setting for the start of Staging Connections Stage 2 of the Santos Tour Down Under.

The peloton will sweep through Stirling five times before setting off through the Adelaide Hills. A sharp descent on Norton Summit and the KOM climb up Torrens Hill Road are sure to split the group and provide a thrilling finish into Paracombe.

Tour Down Under 2017 – Stage 1 Results

1 Caleb Ewan (Orica-Scott) 3:24:18
2 Danny van Poppel (Team Sky) ,,
3 Sam Bennett (Bora-hansgrohe) ,,
4 Marko Kump (UAE Abu Dhabi) ,,
5 Niccolò Bonifazio (Bahrain-Merida) ,,
6 Nikias Arndt (Sunweb) ,,
7 Baptiste Planckaert (Katusha-Alpecin) ,,
8 Edward Theuns (Trek-Segafredo) ,,
9 Miles Scotson (BMC) ,,
10 Sean De Bie (Lotto Soudal) ,,

Tour Down Under 2017 - Stage 1, Highlights

Tour Down Under 2017 - Stage 1, Full Stage


Tag: tourdownunder
Jan 26 2020 - NEWS: Richie Porte wins a second Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 25 2020 - NEWS: Impey takes race lead as Nizzolo wins Sprint Down Under
Jan 24 2020 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan wins second Tour Down Under stage
Jan 23 2020 - NEWS: Richie Porte takes Tour Down Under lead with uphill stage 3 win
Jan 22 2020 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan Storms to Stage 2 Victory at the Tour Down Under
Jan 21 2020 - NEWS: Sam Bennett wins Tour Down Under opening Sprint Stage
Jan 19 2020 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan wins Tour Down Under prologue
Jan 17 2020 - NEWS: Specialized launch new Tour Down Under Collection ahead of Race
Jan 17 2020 - NEWS: Richie Porte: This going to be the hardest Tour Down Under yet
Jan 10 2020 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis to lead Team Ineos at the Tour Down Under
Jan 03 2020 - NEWS: Sam Bennett to make Deceuninck-Quick-Step debut at Tour Down Under.
Jan 20 2019 - NEWS: Richie Porte wins on Willunga Hill as Daryl Impey takes Overall Victory
Jan 19 2019 - NEWS: Ewan Disqualified for head-butting Philipsen as race leader Bevin crashes
Jan 18 2019 - NEWS: Daryl Impey surges into contention at the Tour Down Under
Jan 17 2019 - NEWS: Peter Sagan takes stage win as Bevin hangs onto Ochre
Jan 20 2023 - EVENT: 2023 Santos Festival of Cycling
Tag: oricabikeexchange
Jan 02 2018 - NEWS: Mitchelton-Scott targets Australian National Championships in debut
Jan 02 2018 - NEWS: Mitchelton & BikeExchange team up to sponsor new-look Continental Team
Dec 11 2017 - NEWS: GreenEDGE Cycling team to become as Mitchelton-SCOTT
Jun 23 2017 - NEWS: Yates and Chavez lead Orica-Scott into Tour de France
May 12 2017 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan finally gets a stage win at the Giro
Jan 20 2017 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan Scores Hattrick as Porte Leads
Jan 19 2017 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan wins Crash Marred Stage 3
Jan 17 2017 - NEWS: Amanda Spratt wins Santos Women's Tour
Jan 17 2017 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan Wins a Hot First Stage
Jan 02 2017 - NEWS: Orica-Scott shine on the second day of Bay Crits
Jan 01 2017 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan crashes out at Bay Crits
Dec 29 2016 - NEWS: Ewan looking for record-equalling third consecutive victory at Bay Crits
Dec 17 2016 - NEWS: Gerrans believes Chaves can beat Froome in Australia
Dec 12 2016 - NEWS: Orica-BikeExchange becomes Orica-Scott
Dec 09 2016 - NEWS: Giordana Announces Clothing Partnership with ORICA-BikeExchange