Boone Gran Fondo, CO, August 4th - Register Now!
United States | Southeast | Virginia >> BMC's Rohan Dennis Wins Third Consecutive Australian National Time Trial

Rohan Dennis wins Third Consecutive Australian National Time Trial

Luke Durbridge and BMC Racing teammate Richie Porte second and third respectively on the 41 kilometre course

Rohan Dennis from BMC Racing Team underlined his time trial superiority at the 2018 FedUni Road National Championships, winning his third consecutive Australian title ahead of Luke Durbridge from Mitchelton–Scott)and BMC teammate Richie Porte.

The final rider to start the undulating 40.9 kilometre out-and-back course, Dennis rode at a blistering tempo to finish over one minute ahead of the rest of the field.

“Coming here and winning it, and wearing the jersey for the rest of the year is an honour,” explained Dennis. “It is hard to win, with guys like Richie, Durbo and Miles. It is a pride thing."

"Obviously we have Richie, Simon and the defending champion with Miles, so I am not sure what the plan is,” admitted Dennis. “I just want to come here and have a good hit-out before the Tour Down Under.”

For West Australian Durbridge, a former two-time champion, a silver medal represented an excellent start to the season after his 2017 campaign was marred by a race-ending crash at the Tour de France. Despite being passed by Dennis in the final kilometres, Durbridge recovered to finish 26 seconds ahead of third-placed Porte.

“When he came past I actually thought it was a bit of a blessing because I had to chase him all the way to the line,” said Durbridge. “He passed me like I was standing still.”

2015 champion Riche Porte will be was pleased to again find the podium in the opening racing of the year having making it two BMC Racing Team riders on the podium.

The Fed Uni Road National Championships continue on Saturday with the under 19 men’s and women’s road races and under 23 men’s.

Rohan Dennis wins Third Consecutive Australian National Time Trial

Tag: feduni
Jan 08 2020 - NEWS: Australia's Gran Fondo Championships contributes to Bushfire Disaster Fund
Jan 08 2018 - NEWS: Alex Edmondson takes green and gold at Australian Championships
Jan 05 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis wins Third Consecutive Australian National Time Trial
Jan 04 2018 - NEWS: Gran Fondo National Championships Cancelled Due To Extreme Weather
Jan 03 2018 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan wins Australian Criterium Championship
Jan 02 2018 - NEWS: Mitchelton-Scott targets Australian National Championships in debut
Jan 02 2018 - NEWS: Mitchelton & BikeExchange team up to sponsor new-look Continental Team
Nov 14 2017 - NEWS: Chase is on for Gran Fondo glory in Buninyong
Tag: bmc
Jan 03 2019 - NEWS: New Year, New Team, New Kit and New Opportunities for Brent Bookwalter
Dec 14 2018 - NEWS: CCC Brings Orange Back to the World Tour After Taking Over BMC
Apr 30 2018 - NEWS: Register now for the Bookwalter Binge Gran Fondo, Oct 27, Asheville NC
Aug 25 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis pulls on the Red Leaders Jersey at the Opening Vuelta Time Trial
Aug 20 2018 - NEWS: American's Bookwalter and Rosskopf support Richie Porte at La Vuelta
Aug 03 2018 - NEWS: Bookwalter, Rosskopf and van Garderen headline BMC at the Tour of Utah
May 23 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis wins Giro d'Italia Time Trial ahead of final mountain stages
May 02 2018 - NEWS: Dennis and Roche head up BMC Racing Team's ambitions at the Giro d'Italia
Mar 07 2018 - NEWS: BMC Racing win opening Team Time Trial at Tirreno-Adriatico
Feb 24 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis moves into race lead after individual time trial
Feb 22 2018 - NEWS: Greg Van Avermaet to lead BMC Racing at opening Spring Classics weekend
Feb 15 2018 - NEWS: Brent Bookwalter Announces Bookwalter Binge Gran Fondo & Warren Wilson College Partnership
Jan 20 2018 - NEWS: BMC Racing Team recon the Cobbles ahead of the Classics
Jan 05 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis wins Third Consecutive Australian National Time Trial
Dec 11 2017 - NEWS: BMC Reveals New Kit and Tour Down Under Roster