Limited Places - REGISTER NOW!
United States | Southeast | Virginia >> WATCH: Rohan Dennis wins Team Ineos Alpe du Zwift eRace

WATCH: Rohan Dennis wins Team Ineos Alpe du Zwift eRace

Chris Froome finishes in 6th place showing increasing form ahead possible Tour de France. 15k fans ride along and broke the Zwift record for most riders in a virtual race.

Rohan Dennis easily won Easter Sunday's Team Ineos' Alpe du Zwift race, Dennis pulled away with 9 km to go and built up a lead of 30 seconds. Behind Eddie Dunbar and Michal Kwiatkowski chased but to no avail.

Dennis won in 58m 1s, over 56 seconds ahead of Dunbar with Kwiatkowski 3 seconds behind to round out the podium.

The squad was divided into 6 teams of five riders on a course that featured 25km leading to the bottom of a replica of l'Alpe d'Huez in the French Alps.

At the bottom of the climb it was Chris Lawless, Ben Swift, Luke Rowe, Filippo Ganna and Ian Stannard who attacked and opened up a 20-second lead.

Behind, Eddie Dunbar's team found themselves under pressure as they were slowly distanced.

Stannard and Lawless pushed on holding a 17 second lead over the peloton which started to split up as the pace increased.

With 10km remaining, reigning time trial world champion Rohan Dennis attacked generating over 450 watts at 6.3 w/kg, overhauling the breakaway leaders.

Behind Cameron Wurf countered and caught Dennis.

Behind, Chris Froome moved up to fourth place while Eddie Dunbar and Pavel Sivakov took up the chase of Dennis and Wurf.

With 9 kms to go Dennis dropped Wurf and pressed on. Behind Egan Bernal and Gerraint Thomas were more than two minutes back as Chris Froome moved up into sixth place.

Dunbar and Kwiatkowski passed a fading Wurf to chase Dennis but his lead was over 50 seconds with 3 kms to go.

The British team was divided into six  led by Tour de France champions Chris Froome, Geraint Thomas, Egan Bernal, along with Giro d'Italia winner Richard Carapaz, former world champion Michal Kwiatkowski and Tao Geoghegan Hart.

You can re-play the whole race below (fast forward 4m 38s to the start using the video slider control).

Happy Easter!

2020 Team Ineos Alpe du Zwift e-Race Top 10

1. R. Dennis 58m 01s
2. E. Dubar +56.11
3. M. Kwaiatkowski + 59.20
4. C. Wurf +02.03
5. P. Sivakov + 02:11
6. C. Froome + 02:33
7. I. Sosa +03:45
8. E. Hayter +03:50
9. J. Castroviejo +04:15
10. C. Rodriguez +04:48

VIDEO: Team INEOS e-Race