Jonas Vingegaard seals maiden victory in Paris as Jasper Philipsen wins stage 21 sprint

Denmark's Jonas Vingegaard won the Tour de France on Sunday, ending the reign of two-time defending champion Tadej Pogacar who was second, Geraint Thomas, the 2018 champion, was third

Jonas Vingegaard seals maiden victory in Paris as Jasper Philipsen wins stage 21 sprint

Belgium's Jasper Philipsen won the dash for the line on the cobbled Champs Elysees to take the iconic final stage victory.

The ecstatic Philipsen lifted his bike aloft at the finish line after taking his second win of this Tour, turning the page on his embarrassment of mistakenly celebrating on stage four, when he had in fact finished second.

Vingegaard and his Jumbo-Visma teammates all crossed the line together in a line and cheering wildly.

After a relentless struggle over peaks and plains in a crushing heatwave, Vingegaard assured his win on Saturday's time-trial having taken the lead in the Alps and extended it in the Pyrenees.

His Dutch team Jumbo produced a brilliant collective effort with six stage wins, the green sprint jersey for van Aert and the polka dot mountains jersey for Vingegaard.

Defeated champion Pogacar won the best under-25s jersey for the third time and leaves this Tour with his reputation intact after attacking Vingegaard to the bitter end.

The final day of racing saw the traditional celebrations early on in the day, as all riders who reached Paris had some hours to relax and feel the achievement of having completed the 2022 Tour de France. The race started, as traditional, in the entrance of the circuit on the Champs-Élysées.

Several riders tried escaping early in the stage making for a very complicated race for some, as the pace was pushed to the limit throughout a long time. Antoine Duchesne, Olivier Le Gac, Max Schachmann, Owain Doull and Jonas Rutsch had a go at the front, caught inside the final 10 kilometers.

With six kilometers to go Tadej Pogacar himself launched an attack off the front, having Filippo Ganna in the wheel in a last big to escape the peloton, however with too many riders having the legs to follow the wheels which saw the peloton gaining back it's volume.

Team BikeExchange - Jayco had the leadout dialed for the finale at the French avenue, however with Dylan Groenewegen being put in the wind too early. Jasper Philipsen took the opportunity to cross the line first with a dominant win, with Dylan Groenewegen and Alexander Kristoff completing the podium.

2022 Tour de France Stage 21 Top 10

1. Jasper Philipsen (Bel) Alpecin-Deceuninck, in 2-58-32
2. Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) BikeExchange-Jayco, at the same time
3. Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux, st
4. Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo, st
5. Peter Sagan (Svk) TotalEnergies, st
6. Jeremy Lecroq (Fra) B&B Hotels-KTM, st
7. Danny Van Poppel (Ned) Bora-Hansgrohe, st
8. Caleb Ewan (Aus) Lotto-Soudal, st
9. Hugo Hofstetter (Fra) Arkea-Samsic, st
10. Fred Wright (GBR) Bahrain Victorious, st

2022 Tour de France GC after Stage 21

1. Jonas Vingegaard (Den) Jumbo-Visma, in 79-33-20
2. Tadej Pogacar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates, at 2-43
3. Geraint Thomas (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers, at 7-22
4. David Gaudu (Fra) Groupama-FDJ, at 13-39
5. Aleksandr Vlasov (Rus) Bora-Hansgrohe, at 15-46
6. Nairo Quintana (Col) Arkea-Samsic, at 16-33
7. Romain Bardet (Fra) Team DSM, at 18-11
8. Louis Meintjes (RSA) Intermarché–Wanty–Gobert Matériaux, at 18-44
9. Aleksey Lutsenko (Kaz) Astana Qazaqstan, at 22-56
10. Adam Yates (GBR) Ineos Grenadiers, at 24-52

Tag: tourdefrance
Aug 02 2022 - NEWS: Annemiek van Vleuten climbs to 2022 Tour de France Femmes victory
Jul 30 2022 - NEWS: VIDEO: Carnage Crashes at the Tour de France Femmes
Jul 28 2022 - NEWS: Tour De France Champion Vingegaard Receives Hero's Welcome In Copenhagen
Jul 24 2022 - NEWS: Jonas Vingegaard seals maiden victory in Paris
Jul 23 2022 - NEWS: Wout Van Aert fastest at final 2022 Tour de France time trial
Jul 22 2022 - NEWS: France's Laporte wins Stage 19 of Tour de France
Jul 21 2022 - NEWS: Vingegaard wins second stage on the final big climb to Hautacam
Jul 20 2022 - NEWS: Pogacar wins stage 17 in the Pyrenees after attacking Vingegaard
Jul 19 2022 - NEWS: Canadian cyclist Houle wins Stage 16 of Tour de France
Jul 17 2022 - NEWS: Philipsen wins Tour de France stage while Jumbo Visma have a really bad bay
Jul 16 2022 - NEWS: Vingegaard beasts back Pogacar in hot Tour de face off!
Jul 15 2022 - NEWS: Mads Pedersen wins a Grand Tour stage as riders really feel the heat
Jul 14 2022 - NEWS: Pidcock enters the history books on L'Alpe d'Huez as Pogacar attacks
Jul 13 2022 - NEWS: Vingegaard wins stage 11 and takes Yellow as Pogacar cracks
Jul 12 2022 - NEWS: Nielsen wins Tour de France stage 10 as Pogacar retains lead
Jul 01 2023 - EVENT: 2023 Tour De France