Rohan Dennis wins Giro d'Italia Time Trial ahead of final mountain stages

Australia’s Rohan Dennis won the 16th stage of the Giro d’Italia, as Simon Yates hung onto the Pink Jersey as Dumoulin took back time

Australia’s Rohan Dennis won the 16th stage of the Giro d’Italia, a 34.2km individual time-trial between Trento and Rovereto in northern Italy on Tuesday.

Britain’s Simon Yates retained the leader’s pink jersey with a 57-sec lead on defending champion Tom Dumoulin going into the crucial, final week of racing.

“This is a big day for me to jump back into the top ten,” said BMC rider Rohan Dennis, who is now sixth overall five minutes behind Yates having worn the pink jersey from stages two to five. “I really wanted to come here to win a stage. “I just have to hold on for as long as possible. There’s going to be guys trying to do crazy things in the last week.”

Dennis finished 14 sec ahead of Germany’s Tony Martin (Katusha) with Dumoulin (Sunweb) third, 22sec off the pace. Four-time Tour de France winner Chris Froome (Sky) was fifth on the stage, 35sec behind Dennis, and moved up to fourth from seventh at 3min 50sec behind Yates.

VIDEO: 2018 Giro d'Italia Stage 16 Highlights

Stage 16 Top Ten

1. Rohan Dennis (AUS/BMC) 40min 00sec
2. Tony Martin (GER/KAT) at 14sec
3. Tom Dumoulin (NED/SUN) 22
4. Jos van Emden (NED/LNL) 27
5. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 35
6. Fabio Aru (ITA/EAU) 37
7. Alex Dowsett (GBR/KAT) 40
8. Diego Ulissi (ITA/EAU) 40
9. Chad Haga (USA/SUN) 47
10. David de la Cruz (ESP/SKY) 1:01

Overall GC after Stage 16

1. Simon Yates (GBR/Mitchelton) 66hr 39min 14sec
2. Tom Dumoulin (NED/SUN) at 56sec
3. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/BAH) 3:11
4. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 3:50
5. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 4:19
6. Rohan Dennis (AUS/BMC) 5:04
7. Miguel Angel Lopez (COL/AST) 5:37
8. Pello Bilbao (ESP/AST) 6:02
9. Richard Carapaz (ECU/MOV) 6:07
10. George Bennett (NZL/LNL) 7:01

Tag: giroditalia
Jan 10 2020 - NEWS: 5 Star Cycling Experience: Riding the Giro d’Italia with Garda Bike Hotel
Oct 31 2018 - NEWS: Mountain Top Finishes reign Supreme at the 2019 Giro d'Italia
Mar 27 2019 - NEWS: Giro d'Italia to start on the island of Sicily in 2021
Mar 05 2019 - NEWS: Team Sky could have new backer before the Giro d'Italia
Jan 04 2019 - NEWS: Made to Measure: Tom Dumoulin to focus on the Giro d'Italia
Dec 17 2018 - NEWS: Yates and Dumoulin join Nibali in the Fight for Pink
Dec 14 2018 - NEWS: Vincenzo Nibali's main aim is a third Giro d'Italia title
Oct 30 2018 - NEWS: Chris Froome and Elia Viviani to attend presentation of 2019 Giro d'Italia
Sep 24 2018 - NEWS: 2019 Giro d'Italia to start in Bologna with uphill time trial
May 27 2018 - NEWS: Chris Froome joins Grand Tour Treble Club with Giro d'Italia win
May 26 2018 - NEWS: Froome secures Pink Jersey as Mikel Nieve wins final mountain stage
May 25 2018 - NEWS: Chris Froome takes Queen Stage and Pink Jersey in Shock Attack
May 25 2018 - NEWS: Chris Froome mocked by cycling fans on the Finestre with Huge Inhaler
May 24 2018 - NEWS: Simon Yates clings onto Pink Jersey ahead of Brutal Queen Stage
May 23 2018 - NEWS: Three Brutal Mountain Stages will leave no doubt in the Battle for Pink!
May 06 2022 - EVENT: 2022 Giro d'Italia
Tag: bmc
Jan 03 2019 - NEWS: New Year, New Team, New Kit and New Opportunities for Brent Bookwalter
Dec 14 2018 - NEWS: CCC Brings Orange Back to the World Tour After Taking Over BMC
Apr 30 2018 - NEWS: Register now for the Bookwalter Binge Gran Fondo, Oct 27, Asheville NC
Aug 25 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis pulls on the Red Leaders Jersey at the Opening Vuelta Time Trial
Aug 20 2018 - NEWS: American's Bookwalter and Rosskopf support Richie Porte at La Vuelta
Aug 03 2018 - NEWS: Bookwalter, Rosskopf and van Garderen headline BMC at the Tour of Utah
May 23 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis wins Giro d'Italia Time Trial ahead of final mountain stages
May 02 2018 - NEWS: Dennis and Roche head up BMC Racing Team's ambitions at the Giro d'Italia
Mar 07 2018 - NEWS: BMC Racing win opening Team Time Trial at Tirreno-Adriatico
Feb 24 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis moves into race lead after individual time trial
Feb 22 2018 - NEWS: Greg Van Avermaet to lead BMC Racing at opening Spring Classics weekend
Feb 15 2018 - NEWS: Brent Bookwalter Announces Bookwalter Binge Gran Fondo & Warren Wilson College Partnership
Jan 20 2018 - NEWS: BMC Racing Team recon the Cobbles ahead of the Classics
Jan 05 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis wins Third Consecutive Australian National Time Trial
Dec 11 2017 - NEWS: BMC Reveals New Kit and Tour Down Under Roster
Aug 31 2019 - EVENT: Sven Nys Classic
May 17 2020 - EVENT: Greg Van Avermaet Classic