Sprinters or Puncheurs, who'll win the 112th edition of Paris–Tours?

The 112th edition of Paris–Tours on Sunday, 7 October could well play into the hands of long-range attackers who can break the sprinters' teams

With sprinters such as Dylan Groenewegen, Arnaud Démare and André Greipel tackling their last major race of the season,  major changes to this year's course, could be the ideal scenario for Belgians Philippe Gilbert and Olivier Naesen… and many more.

Victory in Paris–Tours has traditionally gone to either the winner of a bunch sprint or the strongest rider in a small group of attackers. Long streaks are rare in the list of winners of this centennial race, which puts the spotlight on the fast men. Several pretenders are ready to marshal their teams and control the race to ensure it all comes down to a dash for the line. The signs are auspicious for top favourite Dylan Groenewegen, who claimed one of his three Tour de France stage in Chartres, where the race starts on Sunday! However, he is far from the only fast man looking to end the season with a flourish by taking victory on Avenue de Grammont. Arnaud Démare, a two-time podium finisher who finished third in 2013 and second in 2016, will be in the mix, just like André Greipel, who will want to take a prestigious win before changing teams. Edvald Boasson Hagen, Christophe Laporte and Dan McLay have an outside chance under this scenario.

However, the changes made to the Paris–Tours course could make all past performances moot. The addition of 12.5 kilometres of vineyard tracks and seven all-new climbs in the final 60 kilometres makes this the ideal terrain for long-range attacks. Several ambush specialists will give it a shot in the Vouvray area, especially Philippe Gilbert, whose brilliant form makes him a legitimate contender ten years after the first of his two wins here and seven after his latest participation. Niki Terpstra, the teammate who succeeded him as the winner of the Tour of Flanders, will be banking on a similar scenario. AG2R La Mondiale's Olivier Naesen and Alexis Gougeard and Katusha's Tony Martin will also pin their hopes on a lively race. The revamped course means anyone could light the fireworks, including last year's runner-up Soren Kragh Andersen and 2014 winner Jelle Wallays. And, who knows, perhaps Sylvain Chavanel can pull an ace from up his sleeve in the last race of his career.

Last year, Quick-Step Floors' Matteo Trentin out sprinted Sunwebs' Soren Kragh Anderson as team mate Niki Terpstra finished third from the final breakaway.

Matteo Trentin wins 2017 Paris-Tours in breakaway sprint

The course

The Main Contenders for 2018

Quick–Step Floors: Gilbert, Lampaert (BEL) and Terpstra (NED)
Lotto Soudal: Greipel (GER), Wallays and Debusschere (BEL)
Wanty–Groupe Gobert: Offredo (FRA), Van Keirsbulck (BEL) and Eiking (NOR)
AG2R La Mondiale: Gougeard (FRA), Naesen, Vandenbergh (BEL), Dillier (CHE)
Groupama-FDJ: Démare (FRA), Guarnieri (IRA), Konovalovas (LIT)
Cofidis, Solutions Crédits: Laporte, Turgis (FRA)
Direct Energie: Chavanel, Petit (FRA)
Team Sunweb: Geschke (GER) and Kragh Andersen (DEN)
Team Lotto-NL Jumbo: Groenewegen, Leezer (NED), Jansen (NOR)
Team Katusha Alpecin: T.Martin (GER), Dowsett (GBR)
EF Education First–Drapac p/b Cannondale: Vanmarcke (BEL) and McLay (GBR)

Tune in on October 7th for our LIVE Coverage

We'll be coveraging the race live here on Gran Fondo Guide for all our fans and followers. We'll post coverage times nearer the time, visit back soon.

2017 Paris-Tours Results

1 Matteo Trentin (Ita) Quick-Step Floors 5:22:51 
2 Søren Kragh Andersen (Den) Team Sunweb   
3 Niki Terpstra (Ned) Quick-Step Floors 0:00:01 
4 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal 0:00:07 
5 Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) Quick-Step Floors   
6 Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale   
7 Yves Lampaert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors   
8 Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Wanty - Groupe Gobert   
9 Mike Teunissen (Ned) Team Sunweb   
10 Jean-Pierre Drucker (Lux) BMC Racing Team

Tag: paristours
Oct 02 2018 - NEWS: Sprinters or Puncheurs, who'll win the 112th edition of Paris–Tours?
Oct 08 2017 - NEWS: Matteo Trentin wins Paris-Tours in breakaway sprint
Oct 09 2016 - NEWS: Fernando Gaviria wins final Paris Tours Sprint
Oct 05 2016 - NEWS: Van Avermaet to Lead BMC Racing Team at Paris-Tours
Oct 02 2016 - NEWS: Paris Tours PREVIEW
Oct 03 2016 - NEWS: Team Giant-Alpecin ready for Paris-Tours
Oct 09 2022 - EVENT: 2022 Paris Tours
Tag: procyclingclassics
Feb 14 2019 - NEWS: 2019 Paris Roubaix Will Honor Fallen Hero Michael Goolaerts
Feb 09 2019 - NEWS: Niki Terpstra and Mathieu van der Poel to race 2019 Tour of Flanders
Jan 22 2019 - NEWS: Andrea Tafi training hard for his dream to race Paris-Roubaix once again
Nov 29 2018 - NEWS: Bettini: Tafi Needs to find something else to do than race Roubaix!
Nov 10 2018 - NEWS: 52 year old Andrea Tafi to ride Paris-Roubaix 20 years after his victory
Oct 19 2018 - NEWS: 52 year old Andrea Tafi wants to race Paris-Roubaix again
Oct 13 2018 - NEWS: Thibaut Pinot solos to Il Lombardia classic win
Oct 11 2018 - NEWS: Nibali leads strong Bahrain Merida team into the Race of the Falling Leaves
Oct 11 2018 - NEWS: Aru, Costa and Martin lead UAE Team Emirates at Il Lombardia
Oct 02 2018 - NEWS: 112th edition of Il Lombardia is the last Classic Monument race of the season
Oct 07 2018 - NEWS: Dane Soren Kragh Andersen wins revitalised 112th Paris-Tours
Oct 02 2018 - NEWS: Sprinters or Puncheurs, who'll win the 112th edition of Paris–Tours?
Sep 10 2018 - NEWS: Michael Matthews Repeats Win With Victory at GP Cycliste de Montreal
Aug 24 2018 - NEWS: Mikhel Raim wins the Great War Remembrance Race
Aug 06 2018 - NEWS: Egan Bernal released from hospital after Clasica San Sebastian horror crash