Viviani wins opening Tour Down Under stage in brutal heat

Italy's Elia Viviani won a tight finish to take the opening stage of Australia's Tour Down Under in brutal temperatures in Adelaide on Tuesday

Deceuninck–Quick-Step's Viviani, the omnium gold medallist at the 2016 Rio Olympics and one of the world's leading sprinters, powered out of the pack to reel in Germany's Max Walscheid and claim the ochre jersey after the first of six stages.

Walscheid of Team Sunweb finished second across the line ahead of another Italian in the CCC Team, Jakub Mareczko.

It was a reversal of fortunes for Viviani, 29, who crashed on the final lap of Sunday's Down Under Classic criterium leading into the tour.

"When you start the World Tour season with the stage win and the leader's jersey here in Tour Down Under, it's the best way," said Viviani.

"Now we know we've done a good job during the winter - that's the question we've already answered."

Viviani comes into the Tour Down Under on the back of a successful 2018 season.

The Italian won 18 races, including stage 3 at the Tour Down Under, the overall classification at the Dubai Tour, four stages at the Giro d'Italia, the Hamburg Cyclassics race and three stages at the Vuelta a Espana.

The riders braved temperatures hovering above 40 degrees Celsius in the opening 129km stage from North Adelaide to Port Adelaide.

The peloton eased its pace with 20km to go as it made its way through the northern suburbs of Adelaide.

The pace then quickened as the peloton closed within 10km of the finish.

But with two final 90-degree turns within the final kilometre, the bunch scrambled for positions as the finish closed in.

Walscheid broke best heading to the line before Viviani swooped to claim the opening stage, winning by two bike lengths.

Slovak triple world champion Peter Sagan was eighth, while Australia's Down Under Classic winner Caleb Ewan was down the order in 23rd.

Organisers have shortened Wednesday's Stage 2 amid forecasts of continuing extreme temperatures from Norwood to Angaston through the Adelaide Hills and the wine-growing Barossa Valley.

South Africa's Daryl Impey, who finished 11th, is bidding to become the first cyclist to win back-to-back titles at the Tour Down Under.

VIDEO: Tour Down Under Stage 1 Sprint Finish

Results after the 129km first stage of the UCI Tour Down Under from North Adelaide to Port Adelaide in South Australia on Tuesday:

Tour Down Under Stage 1 Results Top 10

1. Elia Viviani (ITA/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) 3hr 19min 47sec
2. Max Walscheid (GER/Team Sunweb) same time
3. Jakub Mareczko (ITA/CCC Team) s.t.
4. Phil Bauhaus (GER/Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team) s.t.
5. Ryan Gibbons (RSA/Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka) s.t.
6. Jasper Philipsen (BEL/UAE Team Emirates) s.t.
7. Kristoffer Halvorsen (NOR/Team Sky) s.t.
8. Peter Sagan (SVK/BORA-hansgrohe) s.t.
9. Danny Van Poppel (NED/Team Jumbo Visma) s.t.
10. Daniel Hoelgaard (NOR/Equipe Groupama-FDJ) s.t.

Tour Down Under General Classification after Stage 1

1. Elia Viviani (ITA/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) 3hr 19min 37sec
2. Max Walscheid (GER/Team Sunweb) at 4 seconds
3. Patrick Bevin (NZL/CCC Team) +5
4. Michael Storer (AUS/Team Sunweb) same time
5. Jakub Mareczko (ITA/CCC Team) +6
6. Jason Lea (AUS/UniSA-Australia) +8
7. Phil Bauhaus (GER/Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team) +10
8. Ryan Gibbons (RSA/Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka) s.t.
9. Jasper Philipsen (BEL/UAE Team Emirates) s.t.
10. Kristoffer Halvorsen (NOR/Team Sky) s.t.

Sprint Leader

1. Elia Viviani (ITA/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) 15 pts
2. Max Walscheid (GER/Team Sunweb) 14 pts
3. Jakub Mareczko (ITA/CCC Team) 13 pts

King of the Mountains

1. Jason Lea (AUS/UniSA-Australia) 10 pts
2. Arytyom Zakharov (KAZ/Astana Pro Team) 6 pts
3. Patrick Bevin (NZL/CCC Team) 4 pts

Tag: tourdownunder
Jan 21 2024 - NEWS: Stevie Williams crowned Tour Down Under champion
Jan 20 2024 - NEWS: Oscar Onley wins penultimate stage as Stephen Williams takes lead
Jan 19 2024 - NEWS: Sam Welsford takes a hattrick at the Tour Down Under
Jan 18 2024 - NEWS: Sam Welsford takes second stage win at the Tour Down Under
Jan 17 2024 - NEWS: Mexican Isaac del Toro attacks to win 2024 Tour Down Under stage 2
Jan 16 2024 - NEWS: Sam Welsford takes first win of the 2024 season on the Tour Down Under opening stage
Dec 09 2023 - NEWS: World Champion Julian Alaphilippe to race in Tour Down Under
Jan 22 2023 - NEWS: Jay Vine wins Tour Down Under fine style
Jan 21 2023 - NEWS: France’s Coquard wins Stage 4 as Jany leads Tour Down Under
Jan 19 2023 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis breaks away to win 2nd stage and take Tour Down Under lead
Jan 18 2023 - NEWS: Bauhaus beats Ewan to win first Tour Down Under Stage
Jan 17 2023 - NEWS: Alberto Bettiol wins treacherous Tour Down Under Prologue in the Rain
Dec 15 2022 - NEWS: Hindley, Froome, Thomas and Yates headline 2023 Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 26 2020 - NEWS: Richie Porte wins a second Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 25 2020 - NEWS: Impey takes race lead as Nizzolo wins Sprint Down Under