Richie Porte wins on Willunga Hill as Daryl Impey takes Overall Victory

Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott) used his sprinting prowess to gain precious bonus seconds that secured him his second consecutive Santos Tour Down Under title

It’s a home country race that’s difficult to win for Richie Porte, but it didn’t stop him from taking victory in the final stage atop the infamous Willunga Hill for a record sixth straight year. It also launched him from 16th place to second overall – perhaps the best finish the Tasmanian could attain with time bonuses once again making the difference in the six-day WorldTour race.

“It’s a hard race for someone like me to win, one hilltop finish and that’s it. But we came here with Trek-Segafredo – my new team – and the boys were absolutely fantastic the whole week, and they put me in good position again today. Hats off to Daryl Impey for the win, but to win six times on Willunga is a great feeling.” Richie Porte said

Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott) used his sprinting prowess to gain precious bonus seconds that secured him his second consecutive Santos Tour Down Under title, while race leader Patrick Bevin (CCC) succumbed to the injuries he sustained in yesterday’s stage five crash and faded out of the picture the first time up Willunga Hill.

Porte, knowing that the overall victory would take a miracle, focused on the stage, and knew precisely when and where to launch his winning move on Willunga Hill. When he made the attack, only Wout Pauls (Sky) answered, albeit briefly. Porte opened the gap he needed and headed for his sixth straight victory on Willunga, as Poels and Impey held strong behind to complete the final podium.

VIDEO: 2019 Tour Down Under Stage 6 Highlights

“The stage was probably easier for me than it ever has been because I was in a good position. But when Kenny Ellisonde did a fantastic ride there for Wout Poels, that was hard to have to take it up myself. I had to gauge my effort. To be honest, I thought I’d had it there, but when I heard (director) Kim Andersen on the radio telling me that everyone behind me was suffering too, it gave me a second wind. But I tell you what, the last 300 meters were probably the longest 300 meters, it really hurt. But it was a sweet victory.”

Trek-Segafredo came into the Tour Down Under with a team focused on one goal: Richie Porte and the overall win. While the overall victory eluded Porte again, finishing runner-up for the second straight year, the team never relented throughout the six stages, racing each day to keep Porte protected and in the GC fight.

“It’s always good to start with a new team, and they have faith in you like that,” continued Porte. “But here, you have to climb better than the sprinters, and then sprint better than the climbers – it’s not a race that really suits me. It did two years ago with the Paracombe climb as well. I think it’s just nice to get a victory, the team was absolutely fantastic out there today.”

“It was a really enjoyable week. Luca Guercilena, the boss (Trek-Segafredo’s General Manager), didn’t put any pressure on me. They were resigned to the fact it was going to be a hard race to win, especially when they are going for bonus sprints like that yesterday, then it’s not an easy one for me.”

Richie Porte wins on Willunga Hill as Daryl Impey takes Overall Victory

Tag: tourdownunder
Jan 21 2024 - NEWS: Stevie Williams crowned Tour Down Under champion
Jan 20 2024 - NEWS: Oscar Onley wins penultimate stage as Stephen Williams takes lead
Jan 19 2024 - NEWS: Sam Welsford takes a hattrick at the Tour Down Under
Jan 18 2024 - NEWS: Sam Welsford takes second stage win at the Tour Down Under
Jan 17 2024 - NEWS: Mexican Isaac del Toro attacks to win 2024 Tour Down Under stage 2
Jan 16 2024 - NEWS: Sam Welsford takes first win of the 2024 season on the Tour Down Under opening stage
Dec 09 2023 - NEWS: World Champion Julian Alaphilippe to race in Tour Down Under
Jan 22 2023 - NEWS: Jay Vine wins Tour Down Under fine style
Jan 21 2023 - NEWS: France’s Coquard wins Stage 4 as Jany leads Tour Down Under
Jan 19 2023 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis breaks away to win 2nd stage and take Tour Down Under lead
Jan 18 2023 - NEWS: Bauhaus beats Ewan to win first Tour Down Under Stage
Jan 17 2023 - NEWS: Alberto Bettiol wins treacherous Tour Down Under Prologue in the Rain
Dec 15 2022 - NEWS: Hindley, Froome, Thomas and Yates headline 2023 Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 26 2020 - NEWS: Richie Porte wins a second Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 25 2020 - NEWS: Impey takes race lead as Nizzolo wins Sprint Down Under