Niki Terpstra and Mathieu van der Poel to race 2019 Tour of Flanders

The teams of World cyclocross champion Mathieu van der Poel and Niki Terpstra granted wild-card places for Belgium’s cobbled Monument

The years Belgium’s cobbled Monument takes place on Sunday, April 7 this season, all 18 WorldTour teams will be racing the iconic climbs.

Also confirmed are the wildcard teams, which include French Pro Continental team Direct Energie, the team of last year's winner Niki Terpstra who moved to the squad from Deceuninck – Quick-Step this season.

Corendon-Circus have been invited, the team of World cyclocross champion Mathieu van der Poel.

Niki Terpstra and Mathieu van der Poel to race 2019 Tour of Flanders

Race director Scott Sunderland said: “The wildcard invitations given out in 2019 will see one of the strongest line-ups of Pro Continental teams to date, with these teams all thoroughly prepared and eager to perform at the Tour of Flanders in April."

“With last year’s winner Niki Terpstra leading his new team Direct Energie, he will be on the hunt to make it back-to-back wins."

“Terpstra’s younger fellow Dutch rider Mathieu van der Poel, the freshly crowned world champion cyclocross star, will be wanting to make history himself by following in the footsteps of his father Adrie, winner of the 1986 Tour of Flanders.”

The other wildcard teams racing will be Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise, Wanty-Gobert, Cofidis, Vital Concept-B&B Hotels and Roompot-Charles.

2019 Tour of Flanders 2019 Start List

Team Sky (GBR)
EF Education First (USA)
Ag2r La Mondiale (FRA)
Sunweb (GER)
Bahrain-Merida (BRN)
Mitchelton-Scott (AUS)
Movistar (ESP)
CCC Team (POL)
UAE Team Emirates (UAE)
Deceuninck – Quick-Step (BEL)
Bora-Hansgrohe (GER)
Astana (KAZ)
Dimension Data (RSA)
Katusha-Alpecin (SUI)
Groupama-FDJ (FRA)
Jumbo-Visma (NED)
Lotto-Soudal (BEL)
Trek-Segafredo (USA)


Direct Energie (FRA)
Corendon-Circus (BEL)
Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise (BEL)
Wanty-Gobert (BEL)
Cofidis (FRA)
Vital Concept-B&B Hotels (FRA)
Roompot-Charles (NED)

Tag: procyclingclassics
Feb 14 2019 - NEWS: 2019 Paris Roubaix Will Honor Fallen Hero Michael Goolaerts
Feb 09 2019 - NEWS: Niki Terpstra and Mathieu van der Poel to race 2019 Tour of Flanders
Jan 22 2019 - NEWS: Andrea Tafi training hard for his dream to race Paris-Roubaix once again
Nov 29 2018 - NEWS: Bettini: Tafi Needs to find something else to do than race Roubaix!
Nov 10 2018 - NEWS: 52 year old Andrea Tafi to ride Paris-Roubaix 20 years after his victory
Oct 19 2018 - NEWS: 52 year old Andrea Tafi wants to race Paris-Roubaix again
Oct 13 2018 - NEWS: Thibaut Pinot solos to Il Lombardia classic win
Oct 11 2018 - NEWS: Nibali leads strong Bahrain Merida team into the Race of the Falling Leaves
Oct 11 2018 - NEWS: Aru, Costa and Martin lead UAE Team Emirates at Il Lombardia
Oct 02 2018 - NEWS: 112th edition of Il Lombardia is the last Classic Monument race of the season
Oct 07 2018 - NEWS: Dane Soren Kragh Andersen wins revitalised 112th Paris-Tours
Oct 02 2018 - NEWS: Sprinters or Puncheurs, who'll win the 112th edition of Paris–Tours?
Sep 10 2018 - NEWS: Michael Matthews Repeats Win With Victory at GP Cycliste de Montreal
Aug 24 2018 - NEWS: Mikhel Raim wins the Great War Remembrance Race
Aug 06 2018 - NEWS: Egan Bernal released from hospital after Clasica San Sebastian horror crash