Caleb Ewan wins Tour Down Under prologue

Caleb Ewan won the criterium prelude to the Tour Down Under for the fourth time in five years on Sunday

Caleb Ewan wins Tour Down Under prologue

Ewan unleashed his powerful sprint at just the right time to easily win the 51 kilometer race over 30 laps of a street circuit in downtown Adelaide.

Elia Viviani was second and his compatriot and Cofidis teammate Simone Consonni was third.

Light rain made the circuit treacherous in places and some of the leading riders took a conservative approach, saving themselves for the tour proper that begins Tuesday with the first of six stages in the countryside around Adelaide.

VIDEO: Highlights | Schwalbe Classic | Santos Tour Down Under

Schwalbe Classic 2020 results (Adelaide – Adelaide):

1 Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal) 1:04:29
2 Elia Viviani (Cofidis) ,,
3 Simone Consonni (Cofidis) ,,
4 Japser Philipsen (UAE Team Emirates) ,,
5 Kristoffer Halvorsen (EF Pro Cycling) ,,
6 Alberto Dainese (Team Sunweb),,
7 Michael Mørkøv (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) ,,
8 Sam Welsford (Australia) ,,
9 Christopher Lawless (Team Ineos) ,,
10 Giacomo Nizzolo (NTT) ,,

Tag: tourdownunder
Jan 21 2024 - NEWS: Stevie Williams crowned Tour Down Under champion
Jan 20 2024 - NEWS: Oscar Onley wins penultimate stage as Stephen Williams takes lead
Jan 19 2024 - NEWS: Sam Welsford takes a hattrick at the Tour Down Under
Jan 18 2024 - NEWS: Sam Welsford takes second stage win at the Tour Down Under
Jan 17 2024 - NEWS: Mexican Isaac del Toro attacks to win 2024 Tour Down Under stage 2
Jan 16 2024 - NEWS: Sam Welsford takes first win of the 2024 season on the Tour Down Under opening stage
Dec 09 2023 - NEWS: World Champion Julian Alaphilippe to race in Tour Down Under
Jan 22 2023 - NEWS: Jay Vine wins Tour Down Under fine style
Jan 21 2023 - NEWS: France’s Coquard wins Stage 4 as Jany leads Tour Down Under
Jan 19 2023 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis breaks away to win 2nd stage and take Tour Down Under lead
Jan 18 2023 - NEWS: Bauhaus beats Ewan to win first Tour Down Under Stage
Jan 17 2023 - NEWS: Alberto Bettiol wins treacherous Tour Down Under Prologue in the Rain
Dec 15 2022 - NEWS: Hindley, Froome, Thomas and Yates headline 2023 Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 26 2020 - NEWS: Richie Porte wins a second Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 25 2020 - NEWS: Impey takes race lead as Nizzolo wins Sprint Down Under