Sam Bennett wins Tour Down Under opening Sprint Stage

Sam Bennett timed his sprint perfectly Tuesday to win the 150-kilometer opening stage of the Tour Down Under

Sam Bennett wins Tour Down Under opening Sprint Stage

The Irish rider took advantage of exceptional lead-out work by his Deceuninck-Quick-Step teammates to cross the line half a bike length ahead of Jasper Philipsen (UAE Team Emirates). Erik Baska (Bora-hansgrohe) was third and Elia Viviani (Cofidis).

The stage featured five laps of a 30-kilometer circuit through the picturesque wine-growing region of the Barossa Valley, starting and finishing in Tanunda and passing through the townships of Angaston, Bethany and Nuriootpa.

There was a 2.3-kilometer straight dash to the finish which Bennett thought wouldn’t suit his racing style.

But he was brought into the finish just at the right time, edging along the barriers on the left side of the road and breaking clear to hold out Philipsen and to post his first win for his new, Belgium-based team.

”I think it was definitely the job of the team which was the reason why I won today,” Bennett said. ”I’d be lying if I didn’t feel the pressure coming (to a new team) to get that first win."

”The guys did an absolutely fantastic job, kept me in great position and they did the lead-out perfectly. Every one of them played a superb role today and I can’t thank them enough.”

VIDEO: 2020 Tour Down Under Stage 1 Highlights

2020 Tour Down Under Stage 1 Top 10

1 Sam Bennett (Irl) Deceuninck-QuickStep  3:28:54
2 Jasper Philpsen (Bel) UAE Team Emirates
3 Erik Baska (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe
4 Elia Viviani (Ita) Cofidis Credit Solutions
5 Andre Greipel (Ger) Israel Start-Up Nation
6 Kristofer Halvorsen (Now) EF Pro Cycling
7 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Lotto Soudal
8 Marc Sarreau (Fra) Cofidis Credit Solutions
9 Sam Welsford (Aus) UniSA
10 Alberto Dainese (Ita) Team Sunweb

2020 Tour Down Under GC after Stage 1

1 Sam Bennett (Irl) Deceuninck-QuickStep 3:28:44
2 Jasper Philpsen (Bel) UAE Team Emirates 0:00:04
3 Erik Baska (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:06
4 Daryl Impey (RSA) Mitchelton-Scott 0:00:07
5 Jarrad Drizners (Aus) UniSA 0:00:07
6 Christopher Lawless (GBr) Team Ineos 0:00:08
7 Dylan Sunderland (Aus) NTT Pro Cycling 0:00:08
8 Nathan Haas (Aus) Cofidis Credit Solutions 0:00:09
9 Michael Storer (Aus) Team Sunweb 0:00:09
10 Elia Viviani (Ita) Cofidis Credit Solutions 0:00:10

Tag: tourdownunder
Jan 21 2024 - NEWS: Stevie Williams crowned Tour Down Under champion
Jan 20 2024 - NEWS: Oscar Onley wins penultimate stage as Stephen Williams takes lead
Jan 19 2024 - NEWS: Sam Welsford takes a hattrick at the Tour Down Under
Jan 18 2024 - NEWS: Sam Welsford takes second stage win at the Tour Down Under
Jan 17 2024 - NEWS: Mexican Isaac del Toro attacks to win 2024 Tour Down Under stage 2
Jan 16 2024 - NEWS: Sam Welsford takes first win of the 2024 season on the Tour Down Under opening stage
Dec 09 2023 - NEWS: World Champion Julian Alaphilippe to race in Tour Down Under
Jan 22 2023 - NEWS: Jay Vine wins Tour Down Under fine style
Jan 21 2023 - NEWS: France’s Coquard wins Stage 4 as Jany leads Tour Down Under
Jan 19 2023 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis breaks away to win 2nd stage and take Tour Down Under lead
Jan 18 2023 - NEWS: Bauhaus beats Ewan to win first Tour Down Under Stage
Jan 17 2023 - NEWS: Alberto Bettiol wins treacherous Tour Down Under Prologue in the Rain
Dec 15 2022 - NEWS: Hindley, Froome, Thomas and Yates headline 2023 Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 26 2020 - NEWS: Richie Porte wins a second Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 25 2020 - NEWS: Impey takes race lead as Nizzolo wins Sprint Down Under