Richie Porte takes Tour Down Under Lead with Uphill Stage 3 Win

Richie Porte conquered the brutal uphill finish Thursday to claim the third stage and the race leader’s jersey in the Tour Down Under.

Porte made the decisive move to power up the torturous hill climb to the Paracombe finish in the fire-ravaged Adelaide Hills and win the stage by a commanding five seconds.

Richie Porte takes Tour Down Under Lead with Uphill Stage 3 Win

Rob Powers (Team Sunweb) just held out Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) for second, with Rohan Dennis (Team Ineos) fourth.

Daryl Impey, chasing a third straight TDU title for Mitchelton-Scott, finished sixth to lie six seconds behind Porte in the general classification with three stages left to Sunday’s finish.

“Hats off to the boys,” Porte said. “They did a really good job in controlling it."

“I felt good at the bottom of the climb and got a bit of a gap there. It was just a shame there was such a headwind in the final bit, because we could have really done some damage.”

It was a lung-busting surge by Porte up the 1.7-kilometre final ascent, leaving his rivals trailing in his wake.

Impey will need to win time bonuses in the remaining stages for a third straight title.

“It was always going to be a challenge getting close to the guys up here, but to finish in that group at the end, I was pretty chuffed,” Impey said.

“I think we’re in a great situation. Obviously we’d like to be in the (leader’s) jersey, but there’s still lots of bonuses to come and lots of opportunities in the race.”

It was a courageous effort by Yates to get on to the stage podium after crashing heavily and injuring his left knee in Wednesday’s second stage and he occupies fourth spot overall, 11 seconds behind Porte.

“It was alright,” Yates said. “It was a little bit stiff in the morning but once we got into it, it started getting better and better.”

VIDEO: 2020 Tour Down Under Stage 3 Highlights

2020 Tour Down Under Stage 3 Top 10

1 Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo) 3:14:09
2 Rob Power (Team Sunweb) +05”
3 Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) ,,
4 Rohan Dennis (Team Ineos) ,,
5 Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates)  ,,
6 Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott) ,,
7 Dylan Van Baarle (Team Ineos) ,,
8 Simon Geschke (CCC) ,,
9 George Bennett (Jumbo-Visma) ,,
10 Lucas Hamilton (Mitchelton-Scott) +13”

2020 Tour Down Under GC after Stage 3

1 Richie Porte (Aus) Trek-Segafredo 10:10:24
2 Daryl Impey (RSA) Mitchelton-Scott 0:00:06
3 Rob Power (Aus) Team Sunweb 0:00:09
4 Simon Yates (GBr) Mitchelton-Scott 0:00:11
5 George Bennett (NZl) Team Jumbo-Visma 0:00:14
6 Diego Ulissi (Ita) UAE Team Emirates 0:00:15
7 Simon Geschke (Ger) CCC Team
8 Rohan Dennis (Aus) Team Ineos
9 Dylan Van Baarle (Ned) Team Ineos
10 Lucas Hamilton (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott 0:00:23

Tag: tourdownunder
Jan 21 2024 - NEWS: Stevie Williams crowned Tour Down Under champion
Jan 20 2024 - NEWS: Oscar Onley wins penultimate stage as Stephen Williams takes lead
Jan 19 2024 - NEWS: Sam Welsford takes a hattrick at the Tour Down Under
Jan 18 2024 - NEWS: Sam Welsford takes second stage win at the Tour Down Under
Jan 17 2024 - NEWS: Mexican Isaac del Toro attacks to win 2024 Tour Down Under stage 2
Jan 16 2024 - NEWS: Sam Welsford takes first win of the 2024 season on the Tour Down Under opening stage
Dec 09 2023 - NEWS: World Champion Julian Alaphilippe to race in Tour Down Under
Jan 22 2023 - NEWS: Jay Vine wins Tour Down Under fine style
Jan 21 2023 - NEWS: France’s Coquard wins Stage 4 as Jany leads Tour Down Under
Jan 19 2023 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis breaks away to win 2nd stage and take Tour Down Under lead
Jan 18 2023 - NEWS: Bauhaus beats Ewan to win first Tour Down Under Stage
Jan 17 2023 - NEWS: Alberto Bettiol wins treacherous Tour Down Under Prologue in the Rain
Dec 15 2022 - NEWS: Hindley, Froome, Thomas and Yates headline 2023 Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 26 2020 - NEWS: Richie Porte wins a second Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 25 2020 - NEWS: Impey takes race lead as Nizzolo wins Sprint Down Under