Impey takes race lead as Nizzolo wins Sprint Down Under

Defending champion Daryl Impey took the lead in the Tour Down Under from chief rival Richie Porte as Italy's Giacomo Nizzolo won Saturday's fifth stage in a bunch sprint finish.

South Africa's Impey will take a two-second advantage over Porte into Sunday's final stage up the gruelling Willunga Hill as he chases his third straight victory in the UCI season opener.

The Mitchelton-Scott rider finished second and first at two intermediate sprints and collected enough time bonuses to supplant overnight race leader Porte of Trek-Segafredo.

Impey's narrow but psychological lead will be important as he attempts to hold back the Australian, who has won the last six stages up the torturous three-kilometre climb to the tour's finish.

"It's fantastic to lead the race going into Willunga," Impey said.

"The whole week we've been trying to get into the lead here and put myself in a position tomorrow to beat Richie."

"I'm two seconds up, I don't know if it's enough, but we've given ourselves every chance to win this bike race and it's all up to tomorrow."

Impey takes race lead as Nizzolo wins Sprint Down Under

Porte, the 2017 winner and four-time runner-up, is a noted Grand Tour climber, and knows the simple equation to win his second TDU title.

"It's not a massive deficit tomorrow, but it will be hard," he said.

"If we can win the stage, we can win the race. We are going to have to have guys up there tomorrow. I was a little isolated today, so hopefully tomorrow the boys are on again."

Nizzolo scored the first win for the newly branded NTT Pro Cycling thanks to positioning by his teammates, leaving him poised for a final charge into Victor Harbour where he easily fended off all challengers.

Fellow Italian Simone Consonni of Cofidis was second, ahead of Irish stage one winner Sam Bennett for Deceuninck-QuickStep.

"I can't thank my teammates enough. They did a great job," Nizzolo said.

"That was the plan, that if I was a bit off they would come back and wait for me on the climb."

"They did it perfectly and I was in the perfect place and I just put everything on the pedals I had. It worked in the end, so I'm so happy."

VIDEO: 2020 Tour Down Under Stage 5 Highlights

2020 Tour Down Under Stage 5 Top 10

1. Giacomo Nizzolo (ITA/NTT Pro Cycling Team) 3hr 32min 45sec
2. Simone Consonni (ITA/Cofidis) same time
3. Sam Bennett (IRL/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) s.t.
4. Michael Morkov (DEN/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) s.t.
5. Jasper Philipsen (BEL/UAE Team Emirates) s.t.
6. Andre Greipel (GER/Israel Start-Up Nation) s.t.
7. Kristoffer Halvorsen (NOR/EF Pro Cycling) s.t.
8. Caleb Ewan (AUS/Lotto Soudal) s.t.
9. Fabio Felline (ITA/Astana Pro Team) s.t
10. Daryl Impey (RSA/Mitchelton-Scott) s.t.

2020 Tour Down Under GC after Stage 5

1. Daryl Impey (RSA/Mitchelton-Scott) 17hr 12min 15sec
2. Richie Porte (AUS/Trek-Segafredo) at 2 sec
3. Rob Power (AUS/Team Sunweb) +9
4. Simon Yates (GBR/Mitchelton-SCOTT) +13
5. George Bennett NZL/Team Jumbo Visma) +16
6. Diego Ulissi (ITA/UAE Team Emirates) +17
7. Simon Geschke (GER/CCC Team) same time
8. Rohan Dennis (AUS/Team Ineos) s.t.
9. Dylan van Baarle (NED/Team Ineos) s.t.
10. Lucas Hamilton (AUS/Mitchelton-SCOTT) +25

Tag: tourdownunder
Jan 21 2024 - NEWS: Stevie Williams crowned Tour Down Under champion
Jan 20 2024 - NEWS: Oscar Onley wins penultimate stage as Stephen Williams takes lead
Jan 19 2024 - NEWS: Sam Welsford takes a hattrick at the Tour Down Under
Jan 18 2024 - NEWS: Sam Welsford takes second stage win at the Tour Down Under
Jan 17 2024 - NEWS: Mexican Isaac del Toro attacks to win 2024 Tour Down Under stage 2
Jan 16 2024 - NEWS: Sam Welsford takes first win of the 2024 season on the Tour Down Under opening stage
Dec 09 2023 - NEWS: World Champion Julian Alaphilippe to race in Tour Down Under
Jan 22 2023 - NEWS: Jay Vine wins Tour Down Under fine style
Jan 21 2023 - NEWS: France’s Coquard wins Stage 4 as Jany leads Tour Down Under
Jan 19 2023 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis breaks away to win 2nd stage and take Tour Down Under lead
Jan 18 2023 - NEWS: Bauhaus beats Ewan to win first Tour Down Under Stage
Jan 17 2023 - NEWS: Alberto Bettiol wins treacherous Tour Down Under Prologue in the Rain
Dec 15 2022 - NEWS: Hindley, Froome, Thomas and Yates headline 2023 Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 26 2020 - NEWS: Richie Porte wins a second Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 25 2020 - NEWS: Impey takes race lead as Nizzolo wins Sprint Down Under