Evenepoel still in the Lead as Teammate Stybar Outsmarts the Sprinters

Zdenek Stybar (Deceuninck-QuickStep) put in a late attack with 500m to go on the run into the finish on the San Juan Villicum Circuit on the penultimate stage of the Vuelta a San Juan

Zdenek Stybar (Deceuninck-QuickStep) attacked inside the final 500 metres of stage 6 of the Vuelta a San Juan on Saturday, to hold off the sprinting bunch to take victory ahead of UAE Team Emirates' Juan Sebastian Molano and Israel Start-Up Nation's Rudy Barbier.

Teammate Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck-QuickStep) leads the overall classification into the stage 7 finale in San Juan on Sunday, "It was a good day today. We won again with Stybar and so it was a perfect day," said Evenepoel. "I won't celebrate [the overall title] yet, there's still one more stage tomorrow."

VIDEO: 2020 Vuelta a San Juan Stage 6

2020 Vuelta a San Juan Stage 6 Top 10

1 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Deceuninck-QuickStep 3:56:51
2 Juan Sebastian Molano Benavides (Col) UAE Team Emirates
3 Rudy Barbier (Fra) Israel Start-Up Nation
4 Manuel Belletti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec
5 Daniel Oss (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe
6 Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe
7 Alvaro Jose Hodeg Chagui (Col) Deceuninck-QuickStep
8 Nicolas Naranjo (Arg) Agrupacion Virgin de Fatima-Saddledrunk
9 Nelson Soto (Col) Colombia-GW Bicicletas
10 Colin Joyce (USA) Rally Cycling

2020 Vuelta a San Juan GC after Stage 6

1 Remco Evenepoel (Bel) Deceuninck-QuickStep 20:15:56
2 Filippo Ganna (Ita) Italy 0:00:33
3 Oscar Sevilla (Spa) Team Medellin 0:01:01
4 Brandon McNulty (USA) UAE Team Emirates 0:01:21
5 Miguel Eduardo Florez Lopez (Col) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec 0:02:11
6 Guillaume Martin (Fra) Cofidis Solutions Credits 0:02:28
7 Cesar Paredes (Col) Team Medellin 0:02:36
8 Gavin Mannion (USA) Rally Cycling 0:02:53
9 Juan Pablo Dotti (Arg) SEP de San Juan 0:03:05
10 German Tivani (Arg) Agrupacion Virgin de Fatima-Saddledrunk 0:03:14

Tag: vueltasanjuan
Dec 02 2021 - NEWS: 39th Edition of Vuelta San Juan will kickstart 2022 Racing Season
Jan 12 2021 - NEWS: First 2021 Pro race the Vuelta a San Juan cancelled due to Coronavirus
Dec 17 2020 - NEWS: Chris Froome to debut with Israel Start-Up Nation at the Vuelta a San Juan
Feb 07 2020 - NEWS: Five hundred fans rode the Sagan Fondo at the la Vuelta a San Juan
Feb 03 2020 - NEWS: Evenepoel wins Vuelta a San Juan as Gavria beats Sagan in Final Sprint
Feb 01 2020 - NEWS: Evenepoel still in the Lead as Teammate Stybar Outsmarts the Sprinters
Feb 01 2020 - NEWS: Evenepoel retains lead as Florez claims Queen stage at the Vuelta San Juan
Jan 30 2020 - NEWS: Fernando Gaviria strikes again at the Vuelta a San Juan
Jan 29 2020 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel wins the Time Trial and takes Over Race Lead in Argentina
Jan 28 2020 - NEWS: Gaviria sprints to stage 2 victory at the Vuelta a San Juan
Jan 26 2020 - NEWS: Rudy Barbier sprints to Vuelta a San Juan opening stage Win
Jan 22 2020 - NEWS: Fernando Gaviria to lead UAE Team Emirates at Vuelta a San Juan
Jan 03 2020 - NEWS: Gaviria, Sagan, Alaphilippe and Evenepoel Headline Vuelta San Juan
Feb 02 2019 - NEWS: Local Argentine Tivani wins stage 6 as Anacona leads into final stage
Feb 02 2019 - NEWS: Anacona Storms to Vuelta San Juan race Lead on Alto Colorado