Sam Bennett sprints to victory in Vuelta stage 9 as Carapaz retains race lead

Bennett wins his second sprint coming from behind he outsprinted Ackermann and Thijssen on the run into Aguilar de Campoo

Sam Bennett sprints to victory in Vuelta stage 9 as Carapaz retains race lead

Sam Bennett took his second victory of the Vuelta a España 2020 on stage nine, in a contest of pure speed.

The peloton relished an easy sprint day with a low pace for most of the day, before the fight for the stage unfolded in the final 5km.

Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe) was the first sprinter to launch his effort inside the final 200m, but Bennett came from behind to raise his arms for the win.

Bennett (Deceuninck – Quick-Step) was followed across the line by Ackermann in second and Gerben Thijssen (Lotto-Soudal) in third.

Richard Carapaz (Ineos Grenadiers) finished safely in the bunch to hold into the race lead for another day.

VIDEO: 2020 La Vuelta Stage 9 Highlights

2020 La Vuelta Stage 9 Top 10

1 Sam Bennett (Irl) Deceuninck-Quickstep 3:39:55
2 Pascal Ackermann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
3 Gerben Thijssen (Bel) Lotto Soudal
4 Max Kanter (Ger) Team Sunweb
5 Jasper Philipsen (Bel) UAE Team Emirates
6 Jakub Mareczko (Ita) CCC Team
7 Alexis Renard (Fra) Israel Start-Up Nation
8 Jon Aberasturi Izaga (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
9 Lorrenzo Manzin (Fra) Total Direct Energie
10 Robert Stannard (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott

2020 La Vuelta GC after Stage 9

1 Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Ineos Grenadiers 36:11:01
2 Primoz Roglic (Slo) Team Jumbo-Visma 0:00:13
3 Daniel Martin (Irl) Israel Start-Up Nation 0:00:28
4 Hugh Carthy (GBr) EF Pro Cycling 0:00:44
5 Enric Mas Nicolau (Spa) Movistar Team 0:01:54
6 Felix Grossschartner (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:03:28
7 Esteban Chaves (Col) Mitchelton-Scott
8 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team 0:03:35
9 Marc Soler (Spa) Movistar Team 0:03:40
10 Wout Poels (Ned) Bahrain McLaren 0:03:47

Tag: vuelta
Jun 21 2021 - NEWS: Egan Bernal dreams of winning Vuelta a Espana to complete Grand Tour List
Feb 12 2021 - NEWS: 2021 La Vuelta stays in Spain with the brutal new climb of Altu d’El Gamoniteiru
Jan 12 2021 - NEWS: First 2021 Pro race the Vuelta a San Juan cancelled due to Coronavirus
Dec 17 2020 - NEWS: Chris Froome to debut with Israel Start-Up Nation at the Vuelta a San Juan
Nov 08 2020 - NEWS: Primoz Roglic wins the Vuelta a España for a second consecutive year
Nov 07 2020 - NEWS: Roglic clings onto La Vuelta lead after late attack by Carapaz
Nov 06 2020 - NEWS: Magnus Cort Nielsen wins Stage 16 as Roglic extends lead
Nov 05 2020 - NEWS: Philipsen wins uphill Sprint as Brutal Weather plagued Stage 15
Nov 04 2020 - NEWS: Tim Wellens claimed his second stage victory at La Vuelta
Nov 03 2020 - NEWS: Roglic wins Vuelta individual time-trial to regain overall race lead
Nov 01 2020 - NEWS: Hugh Carthy attacks GC rivals to win atop the brutal Alto de l'Angliru
Oct 31 2020 - NEWS: David Gaudu wins atop Alto de La Farrapona
Oct 30 2020 - NEWS: Roglic reclaims La Vuelta race lead with Sprinting to Stage 10 Victory
Oct 29 2020 - NEWS: Sam Bennett sprints to victory in Vuelta stage 9 as Carapaz retains race lead
Oct 28 2020 - NEWS: Roglic triumphs in Vuelta and gains time at Alto de Moncalvillo
Jun 30 2014 - RESULTS: Vuelta Keystone Gran Fondo
Aug 14 2021 - EVENT: 2021 La Vuelta
Sep 11 2021 - EVENT: Vuelta Chapala