Yates, Pogacar, Bernal and Thomas headline 2021 Tirreno-Adriatico

World Champion Julian Alaphippe and Tour de France winners Tadej Pogacar, Egan Bernal and Geraint Thomas headline the Tirreno-Adriatico along with previous champion Simon Yates

From March 10th to 16th, the 56th edition of the Tirreno-Adriatico will visit 5 regions of central Italy over the course of the seven stage race – Tuscany, Umbria, Lazio, Abruzzo and Le Marche.

Yates, Pogacar, Bernal and Thomas headline 2021 Tirreno-Adriatico

The Route

The race’s first stage, a 156km opener that starts and finishes at the beach resort of Lido di Camaiore, will be well suited to the fast wheels of the peloton. A bunch finish is by no means guaranteed however, as the sprinters will need to first negotiate the climb of Monte Pitoro three times in total early on in the stage.

The next day will see the riders depart from Camaiore and finish in Chiusdino after 226km of riding. This long second stage takes place over undulating terrain, particularly after the halfway point, and will attract the race’s finisseurs.

Stage 3 (189km), from Monticiano to Gualdo Tadino, begins with a series of ups and downs before a faster and flatter second half. Its finish is uphill however, although a bunch sprint shouldn’t be discounted as the gradient remains below 4% throughout.

A summit finish at Prati di Tivo awaits the riders on Saturday 13th, Stage 4. The stage will be brief at 148km in length, but intense. The first climb of the day will be the Forca di Arrone that leads onto the Rieti Valley. The peloton will then pass through the town of Rieti and begin the ascent up to Sella di Corno, followed by a long stretch of downhill that heads towards the outskirts of l’Aquila. From there, the penultimate climb of the day – the Passo Capannelle – will begin. The descent that follows, around 30km in length, is characterised by numerous bends and two long and well-lit tunnels. The final 14.5km climb to the finish at the Prati di Tivo ski station features 22 hairpin bends and an average gradient of 7%, with peaks at 12%.

Sunday 14th will play host to the ‘Tappa dei Muri’ (‘The Stage of the Walls’), from Castellalto to Castelfidardo (205km). The first 100km of the stage follows  wide and straight roads (mostly along the coast) to reach the town of Castelfidardo where, after first passing through the Selva della Battaglia, the riders will enter a 23km circuit that’s set to be repeated 4 times. The circuit is characterised by a series of short but steep climbs (the ‘muri’) and corresponding descents, with one brief flat section around the half way point. The first of the ‘muri’ (or walls) hits gradients of around 18% for long stretches and is classified as a GPM on each of the four laps of the circuit. The final kilometers feature several ups and downs of course, with double-figure gradients to climb after San Rocchetto. The last kilometer takes place in Castelfidardo, entirely uphill.

Stage 6 is from Castelraimondo to Lido di Fermo (169km). It will be the last chance for the race’s sprinters to take a stage win before the final time trial in San Benedetto del Tronto. The 11.1km time trial – Stage 7 – follows an altered route compared to recent editions of the race. The race against the clock begins from the Stadio delle Palme and passes beneath the nearby railway before continuing along the well-ridden roads of the traditional route, but in the opposite direction. The route then drops down towards the Porto d’Ascoli and visits the Piazza Salvo d’Acquisto. The riders will then reach a turning point and rise back up to the seafront, heading north. After the port, the route rises slightly again towards Grottammare then traces around the old stadium and faces south to reach the finish line.

Simon Yates won last year's race, the Briton won last year’s Queen Stage to Sassotetto ahead of Geraint Thomas and Rafal Majka.

2021 Tirreno Adriatico Start List

World Tour Teams

AG2R Citroën
Greg Van Avermaet, Nans Peters, Ben O’Connor, Gijs Van Hoecke

Astana-Premier Tech
Jakob Fuglsang, Fabio Felline

Bahrain Victorious
Mikel Landa, Damiano Caruso, Jan Tratnik

BORA – hansgrohe
Peter Sagan, Emanuel Buchmann, Maciej Bodnar, Matteo Fabbro, Patrick Konrad

Cofidis, Solutions Crédits
Elia Viviani, Fabio Sabatini, Attilio Viviani, Kenneth Vanbilsen, Jean-Pierre Drucker

Deceuninck – Quick-Step
Julian Alaphilippe, Davide Ballerini, Bert Van Lerberghe

EF Education – Nippo
Sergio Higuita, Simon Carr

Groupama – FDJ
Thibaut Pinot, Stefan Küng, Rudy Molard, Valentin Madouas, Kevin Geniets, Tobias Ludvigsson, Benjamin Thomas

Intermarché – Wanty-Gobert
Jan Bakelants, Loïc Vliegen, George Zimmermann, Riccardo Minali, Aimé De Gendt

Israel Start-Up Nation
Michael Woods, Hugo Hofstetter, Davide Cimolai

Jumbo – Visma
Wout van Aert, Robert Gesink, Paul Martens, Tobias Foss, Nathan Van Hooydock, Edoardo Affini

Lotto Soudal
Caleb Ewan, Tim Wellens, Brent Van Moer, Fredrik Frison

Marc Soler, Nelson Oliveira

Team BikeExchange
Simon Yates, Robert Stannard

Team DSM
Romain Bardet, Joris Nieuwenhuis, Martijn Tusveld

Team INEOS – Grenadiers
Egan Bernal, Geraint Thomas, Pavel Sivakov, Filippo Ganna

Team Qhubeka ASSOS
Dimitri Claeys

Trek – Segafredo
Giulio Ciccone, Vincenzo Nibali, Quinn Simmons

UAE Emirates
Tadej Pogacar, Rafal Majka, Davide Formolo, Fernando Gaviria, Ivo Oliveira


Alpecin – Fenix
Gianni Vermeersch, Otto Vergaerde, Jonas Rickaert

Androni Giocatolli – Sidermec
Simon Pellaud, Jefferson Alexander Cepeda

Arkéa Samsic
Nairo Quintana, Diego Rosa

EOLO – Kometa
to follow

Gazprom – RusVelo
to follow

Total Direct Energie
Victor de la Parte

Tag: tirrenoadriatico
Mar 16 2021 - NEWS: Tour de France champion Pogacar wins Tirreno-Adriatico
Mar 15 2021 - NEWS: Wurtz Schmidt takes stage six from breakway as Pogacar holds lead
Mar 14 2021 - NEWS: Mathieu van der Poel attacks to win stage five at Tirreno-Adriatico
Mar 13 2021 - NEWS: Pogacar rises in the mountains and takes Tirreno-Adriatico lead
Mar 12 2021 - NEWS: Van der Poel and Van Aert duel up the slopes of Gualdo Tadin on Stage 3 of Tirreno-Adriatico
Mar 11 2021 - NEWS: Alaphilippe sprints to Tirreno-Adriatico second stage win
Mar 10 2021 - NEWS: Wout Van Aert wins Tirreno-Adriatico opening sprint stage
Mar 02 2021 - NEWS: Yates, Pogacar, Bernal and Thomas headline 2021 Tirreno-Adriatico
Sep 14 2020 - NEWS: Simon Yates Time Trials to Tirreno-Adriatico Victory
Sep 13 2020 - NEWS: Van der Poel takes stage 7 in nail-biting finish at Tirreno-Adriatico
Sep 12 2020 - NEWS: Simon Yates retains the race lead after stage six sprint
Sep 11 2020 - NEWS: Simon Yates attacks to take stage and Tirreno-Adriatico lead
Sep 10 2020 - NEWS: Hamilton wins stage 4 as Woods retains the lead on Stage 4
Sep 09 2020 - NEWS: Michael Woods powers to stage 3 victory at Tirreno-Adriatico
Sep 08 2020 - NEWS: Ackermann wins second-straight stage at Tirreno-Adriatico
Mar 07 2022 - EVENT: 2022 Tirreno-Adriatico