Mathieu van der Poel attacks to win stage five at Tirreno-Adriatico

Tadej Pogacar extends his lead after he chases van Der Poel down on the climb to Castelfidardo in freezing wet conditions

The Dutchman soloed away from a select lead group 52 kilometres from the line into a sudden storm that whipped up high winds, rain, and plummeting temperatures and narrowly holding off a furious solo chase from race leader Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates).

Pogacar attacked 17 kilometres from the line up the final ascent of the 15 per cent slope of the Castelfidardo wall and went on to put in an incredible solo pursuit of the Dutch champion, slashing a three-minute gap that Van der Poel had built up with a long-range attack to just 10 seconds at the line.

Although Pogacar’s ride was formidable, he hadn’t set off in pursuit of Van der Poel, but his effort brought him within 10 seconds of the Dutchman after nearly closing the two-minute gap, eventually settling for second place as he put more than 40 seconds into Van Aert, now leading the Belgian in the overall by 1-15.

More to follow shortly ...

Mathieu van der Poel attacks to win stage five at Tirreno-Adriatico

VIDEO: Tirreno-Adriatico Stage 5 - Mathieu van der Poel attacks!

Tirreno-Adriatico Stage 5 Top 10

1 Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) Alpecin-Fenix 4:48:17
2 Tadej Pogacar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates 0:0:10
3 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Jumbo-Visma 0:0:49
4 Fabio Felline (Ita) Astana-Premier Tech 0:01:26
5 Egan Bernal Gomez (Col) Ineos Grenadiers 0:02:07
6 Davide Formolo (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
7 Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal 0:02:18
8 Alessandro De Marchi (Ita) Israel Start-up Nation
9 Mikel Landa Meana (Spa) Bahrain Victorious 0:02:25
10 Matteo Fabbro (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:02:45

Tirreno-Adriatico GC after Stage 5 Top 10

1 Tadej Pogacar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates 22:41:41
2 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Jumbo-Visma 0:01:15
3 Mikel Landa Meana (Spa) Bahrain Victorious 0:03:00
4 Egan Bernal Gomez (Col) Ineos Grenadiers 0:03:30
5 Matteo Fabbro (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:03:54
6 Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal 0:04:30
7 João Almeida (Por) Deceuninck-QuickStep 0:04:42
8 Romain Bardet (Fra) Team DSM 0:05:03
9 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Trek-Segafredo 0:05:54
10 Simon Yates (GBr) Team BikeExchange 0:06:58

Tag: tirrenoadriatico
Mar 16 2021 - NEWS: Tour de France champion Pogacar wins Tirreno-Adriatico
Mar 15 2021 - NEWS: Wurtz Schmidt takes stage six from breakway as Pogacar holds lead
Mar 14 2021 - NEWS: Mathieu van der Poel attacks to win stage five at Tirreno-Adriatico
Mar 13 2021 - NEWS: Pogacar rises in the mountains and takes Tirreno-Adriatico lead
Mar 12 2021 - NEWS: Van der Poel and Van Aert duel up the slopes of Gualdo Tadin on Stage 3 of Tirreno-Adriatico
Mar 11 2021 - NEWS: Alaphilippe sprints to Tirreno-Adriatico second stage win
Mar 10 2021 - NEWS: Wout Van Aert wins Tirreno-Adriatico opening sprint stage
Mar 02 2021 - NEWS: Yates, Pogacar, Bernal and Thomas headline 2021 Tirreno-Adriatico
Sep 14 2020 - NEWS: Simon Yates Time Trials to Tirreno-Adriatico Victory
Sep 13 2020 - NEWS: Van der Poel takes stage 7 in nail-biting finish at Tirreno-Adriatico
Sep 12 2020 - NEWS: Simon Yates retains the race lead after stage six sprint
Sep 11 2020 - NEWS: Simon Yates attacks to take stage and Tirreno-Adriatico lead
Sep 10 2020 - NEWS: Hamilton wins stage 4 as Woods retains the lead on Stage 4
Sep 09 2020 - NEWS: Michael Woods powers to stage 3 victory at Tirreno-Adriatico
Sep 08 2020 - NEWS: Ackermann wins second-straight stage at Tirreno-Adriatico
Mar 07 2022 - EVENT: 2022 Tirreno-Adriatico