Tour de France champion Pogacar wins Tirreno-Adriatico

Spain's Mikel Landa of Bahrain finished down the field on Tuesday but remained third overall, at 3min 57sec, in the race which ended on Italy's Adriatic coast

Tour de France champion Pogacar wins Tirreno-Adriatico

Pogacar had claimed a solo win on stage four at Prati di Tivo in Abruzzo to take the overall leader's blue jersey from Van Aert, before extending his overall lead in stage five.

Pogacar confirmed he will now take a short break, skipping this weekend's Milan-San Remo, returning for the Tour of the Basque Country starting on April 5, followed by the Ardennes classics.

"I'm very happy with this victory, with almost all the best time-triallists on the start line. It's a really good start to the season."

VIDEO: 2021 Tirreno-Adriatico Stage Highlights

2021 Tirreno-Adriatico Final Overall GC

1 Tadej Pogacar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates 26:36:17
2 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Jumbo-Visma 0:01:03
3 Mikel Landa Meana (Spa) Bahrain Victorious 0:03:57
4 Egan Bernal Gomez (Col) Ineos Grenadiers 0:04:13
5 Matteo Fabbro (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:04:37
6 João Almeida (Por) Deceuninck-QuickStep 0:04:54
7 Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal 0:05:00
8 Romain Bardet (Fra) Team DSM 0:05:50
9 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Trek-Segafredo 0:06:30
10 Simon Yates (GBr) Team BikeExchange 0:07:45

2021 Tirreno-Adriatico  Stage 8 ITT Top 10

1 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Jumbo-Visma 0:11:06
2 Stefan Küng (Swi) Groupama-FDJ 0:0:06
3 Filippo Ganna (Ita) Ineos Grenadiers 0:0:11
4 Tadej Pogacar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates 0:0:12
5 Benjamin Thomas (Fra) Groupama-FDJ 0:0:16
6 Alberto Bettiol (Ita) EF Education-Nippo 0:0:18
7 João Almeida (Por) Deceuninck-QuickStep 0:0:24
8 Kasper Asgreen (Den) Deceuninck-QuickStep 0:0:26
9 Michael Hepburn (Aus) Team BikeExchange 0:0:27
10 Tobias Ludvigsson (Swe) Groupama-FDJ 0:0:28

Tag: tirrenoadriatico
Mar 16 2021 - NEWS: Tour de France champion Pogacar wins Tirreno-Adriatico
Mar 15 2021 - NEWS: Wurtz Schmidt takes stage six from breakway as Pogacar holds lead
Mar 14 2021 - NEWS: Mathieu van der Poel attacks to win stage five at Tirreno-Adriatico
Mar 13 2021 - NEWS: Pogacar rises in the mountains and takes Tirreno-Adriatico lead
Mar 12 2021 - NEWS: Van der Poel and Van Aert duel up the slopes of Gualdo Tadin on Stage 3 of Tirreno-Adriatico
Mar 11 2021 - NEWS: Alaphilippe sprints to Tirreno-Adriatico second stage win
Mar 10 2021 - NEWS: Wout Van Aert wins Tirreno-Adriatico opening sprint stage
Mar 02 2021 - NEWS: Yates, Pogacar, Bernal and Thomas headline 2021 Tirreno-Adriatico
Sep 14 2020 - NEWS: Simon Yates Time Trials to Tirreno-Adriatico Victory
Sep 13 2020 - NEWS: Van der Poel takes stage 7 in nail-biting finish at Tirreno-Adriatico
Sep 12 2020 - NEWS: Simon Yates retains the race lead after stage six sprint
Sep 11 2020 - NEWS: Simon Yates attacks to take stage and Tirreno-Adriatico lead
Sep 10 2020 - NEWS: Hamilton wins stage 4 as Woods retains the lead on Stage 4
Sep 09 2020 - NEWS: Michael Woods powers to stage 3 victory at Tirreno-Adriatico
Sep 08 2020 - NEWS: Ackermann wins second-straight stage at Tirreno-Adriatico
Mar 07 2022 - EVENT: 2022 Tirreno-Adriatico