Richie Porte warms up for Tour with Criterium du Dauphine Victory

Australian Richie Porte on Sunday won the Criterium du Dauphine, the last major warm-up race before the Tour de France

Richie Porte warms up for Tour with Criterium du Dauphine Victory

Riding for Ineos Grenadiers, Porte finished 17 seconds ahead of Alexey Lutsenko (Astana-Premier Tech) and 29 seconds ahead of teammate Geraint Thomas in the general classification.

The final stage – a 147-kilometre route from La Lechere-les-Bains to Les Gets that featured six categorised climbs – was won by Mark Padun for Bahrain Victorious.

The overall win for Porte presents Ineos with a familiar problem. Going into the Tour, they have four riders with claims over the team leadership: 2019 Giro winner Richard Carapaz, 2018 Tour champion Thomas, Porte and Tao Geoghegan Hart, who won the 2020 Giro.

VIDEO: 2021 Criterium du Dauphine Stage 8 Highlights

2021 Criterium du Dauphine Stage 8 Top 10

1 Mark Padun (Ukr) Bahrain Victorious 4:06:49
2 Jonas Vingegaard (Den) Jumbo-Visma 0:01:36
3 Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe
4 Ben O'Connor (Aus) AG2R Citroën Team 0:01:57
5 David Gaudu (Fra) Groupama-FDJ 0:02:10
6 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers
7 Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz) Astana-Premier Tech
8 Richie Porte (Aus) Ineos Grenadiers
9 Jack Haig (Aus) Bahrain Victorious
10 Guillaume Martin (Fra) Cofidis

2021 Criterium du Dauphine Final Overall Classification

1 Richie Porte (Aus) Ineos Grenadiers 29:37:05
2 Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz) Astana-Premier Tech 0:00:17
3 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers 0:00:29
4 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:33
5 Jack Haig (Aus) Bahrain Victorious 0:00:34
6 Miguel Angel Lopez Moreno (Col) Movistar Team 0:00:38
7 Ion Izagirre Insausti (Spa) Astana-Premier Tech
8 Ben O'Connor (Aus) AG2R Citroën Team 0:00:47
9 David Gaudu (Fra) Groupama-FDJ 0:01:12
10 Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers 0:01:57

Tag: dauphine
Jun 14 2022 - NEWS: VIDEO: Molano disqualified from Dauphiné after punching Page
Jun 12 2022 - NEWS: Jumbo Visma crushes its rivals as Roglic wins Criterium du Dauphine
Jun 11 2022 - NEWS: Roglic Storms to Critérium du Dauphiné lead as Verona wins Stage 7
Jun 10 2022 - NEWS: Valentin Ferron wins 6th stage of Critérium du Dauphiné, from the breakaway
Jun 09 2022 - NEWS: Wout van Aert strengthens Criterium du Dauphine lead
Jun 08 2022 - NEWS: Filippo Ganna fastest at Criterium du Dauphine Time Trial
Jun 07 2022 - NEWS: David Gaudu wins stage 3 as Van Aert takes over race lead
Jun 06 2022 - NEWS: Alexis Vuillermoz wins Critérium du Dauphiné Stage 2 from the breakway
Jun 05 2022 - NEWS: Van Aert Sprints to Criterium du Dauphine Stage 1 Victory
May 30 2022 - NEWS: Roglic, Wout van Aert, Froome and McNulty headline Critérium du Dauphiné
Feb 12 2022 - NEWS: Queen Stage of Dauphine to tackle Galibier, Croix der Fer before finishing atop Vaujany
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: Tour de Suisse LIVE Daily Coverage
Jun 06 2021 - NEWS: Richie Porte warms up for Tour with Criterium du Dauphine Victory
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: Dauphine LIVE Daily Coverage
Jun 05 2021 - NEWS: Richie Porte takes control of Dauphine Lead on Penultimate Stage
May 28 2023 - EVENT: 2022 Criterium du Dauphine