Senechal wins sizzling Vuelta sprint as Jakobsen falls flat

Frenchman Florian Senechal outsprinted a reduced field to win stage 13 of the Vuelta a Espana on Friday after his Deceuninck Quick Step teammate Fabio Jakobsen failed to keep pace in the run in due to a flat tyre

Senechal wins sizzling Vuelta sprint as Jakobsen falls flat

Senechal was part of Jakobsen's lead out team and won the stage ahead of Italian pair Matteo Trentin and Alberto Dainese with Norway's Odd Christian Eiking retaining the overall lead.

Slightly built Ineos leader Egan Bernal also sprung a small surprise to gain a few seconds on his overall rivals when he managed to keep up with the front clique as the rest of the peloton got dropped in a late split.

On a sizzling day with temperatures tipping towards 37C a headwind and a fast closing space caused several fissures in the peloton.

So much so that the Belgian outfit leading the peloton actually dropped their own sprinter Jakobsen as 15 riders broke away in the final kilometre at a roundabout.

"We did a perfect lead-out for Fabio and he said on the radio he had a flat tyre or something and said 'Florian you can sprint'," Senechal said.

"It's crazy. I am lucky today and I am very happy for my family, friends and my wife."

Green jersey sprint points leader Jakobsen was aiming for his third stage win here and took maximum points at the day's intermediate sprint just 5km outside town.

The weekend's action should see a change in the lead and even a shake up in the overall standings as it provides two huge mountain challenges with two category 1 climbs on both Saturday and Sunday.

VIDEO: 2021 La Vuelta GC after Stage 13 Highlights

2021 La Vuelta Stage 13 Top 10

1 Florian Senechal (Fra) Deceuninck-QuickStep 4:58:23
2 Matteo Trentin (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
3 Alberto Dainese (Ita) Team DSM 0:00:02
4 Luka Mezgec (Slo) Team BikeExchange 0:00:03
5 Stan Dewulf (Bel) AG2R Citroën Team
6 Piet Allegaert (Bel) Cofidis
7 Itamar Einhorn (Isr) Israel Start-up Nation
8 Antonio Jesus Soto Guirao (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
9 Rui Oliveira (Por) UAE Team Emirates
10 Egan Bernal Gomez (Col) Ineos Grenadiers 0:00:06

2021 La Vuelta GC after Stage 13 Top 10

1 Odd Christian Eiking (Nor) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux 50:31:52
2 Guillaume Martin (Fra) Cofidis 0:00:58
3 Primoz Roglic (Slo) Jumbo-Visma 0:01:56
4 Enric Mas Nicolau (Spa) Movistar Team 0:02:31
5 Miguel Angel Lopez Moreno (Col) Movistar Team 0:03:28
6 Jack Haig (Aus) Bahrain Victorious 0:03:55
7 Egan Bernal Gomez (Col) Ineos Grenadiers 0:04:41
8 Adam Yates (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers 0:04:57
9 Sepp Kuss (USA) Jumbo-Visma 0:05:03
10 Felix Grossschartner (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:05:38

Tag: vuelta
Sep 11 2022 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel seals Vuelta a Espana Victory!
Sep 10 2022 - NEWS: Carapaz wins his third stage as Evenepoel seals overall victory!
Sep 09 2022 - NEWS: Mads Pedersen storms to his third stage victory, Remco retains lead
Sep 08 2022 - NEWS: Evenepoel closer to outright La Vuelta victory with stage 18 win
Sep 07 2022 - NEWS: Rigoberto Uran wins stage 17 from the breakaway as Roglic abandons La Vuelta
Sep 06 2022 - NEWS: Pedersen Wins Sprint, Evenepoel Punctures and Roglic Crashes!
Sep 04 2022 - NEWS: Thymen Arensman wins atop the monster climb of Sierra Nevada!
Sep 03 2022 - NEWS: Evenepoel cracks! Carapaz Attacks! Roglic takes back time!
Sep 02 2022 - NEWS: Mads Pedersen soars to Victory on uphill finish In Montilla
Sep 01 2022 - NEWS: Carapaz cracks out huge comeback as Evenepoel crashes
Aug 31 2022 - NEWS: Kaden Groves wins stage 11 as Yates and Alaphilippe leave La Vuelta
Aug 30 2022 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel powers to victory at La Vuelta individual time trial
Aug 28 2022 - NEWS: Meintjes conquers Les Praeres as Evenepoel takes time on his GC rivals
Aug 27 2022 - NEWS: Jay Vine attacks to win his second mountain top finish
Aug 26 2022 - NEWS: Jesús Herrada triumphs on stage seven of the Vuelta a España
Jun 30 2014 - RESULTS: Vuelta Keystone Gran Fondo
Oct 29 2022 - EVENT: La Vuelta Mayakoba
Jan 29 2023 - EVENT: 2023 Vuelta a San Juan
Sep 09 2023 - EVENT: Vuelta Chapala