Tim Merlier wins opening sprint in the mellay of the Benelux Tour

Remco Evenepoel fuming after neutral service car struggled to change his wheel leaving him nearly a minute behind the main group

Tim Merlier wins opening sprint in the mellay of the Benelux Tour

A mechanic fixed Remco Evenepoel's bike with the wrong wheel on Monday causing him to lose time as Tim Merlier of Alpecin-Fenix continued his fine season by winning the opening stage of the Tour of Benelux in Dokkum, northern Netherlands.

Merlier has won stages on the Giro d'Italia and the Tour de France this term and with the peloton smashed into small groups due to strong wind the 28-year-old won a sprint from a small group ahead of Phil Bauhaus and Alvaro Hodeg.

Belgian ace Remco Evenepoel had been in the lead group until he got a puncture 28km from the finish, but this was only the start of his troubles.

The neutral mechanic used a wrong replacement wheel, mistaking back for front, and then struggled to take it off again, causing Evenepoel to lose over a minute.

"It was a nervy stage due to all the wind and you had to be constantly aware to be in the right place at the right time," Merlier said after his eighth win of the campaign.

Tuesday's stage is an 11km individual time-trial also in the Netherlands in a race whose finale is in Grammont in Belgium on Sunday.

VIDEO: 2021 Benelux Stage 1 Highlights

2021 Benelux Stage 1 Top 9

1 Tim Merlier (Bel) Alpecin-Fenix
2 Phil Bauhaus (Ger) Bahrain Victorious
3 Alvaro Hodeg Chagui (Col) Deceuninck-QuickStep
4 Fernando Gaviria Rendon (Col) UAE Team Emirates
5 Mads Pedersen (Den) Trek-Segafredo
6 Danny van Poppel (Ned) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux
7 Maximilian Walscheid (Ger) Qhubeka NextHash
8 Stanislaw Aniolkowski (Pol) Bingoal Pauwels Sauzen WB
9 Mike Teunissen (Ned) Jumbo-Visma

Tag: EnecoTour
Aug 31 2021 - NEWS: Stefan Bissegger takes Tour of Benelux time trial and race lead
Aug 30 2021 - NEWS: Tim Merlier wins opening sprint in the mellay of the Benelux Tour
Aug 04 2021 - NEWS: Renewed Benelux Tour Starts on 30 August in Friesland
Oct 03 2020 - NEWS: Van der Poel wins BinckBank Tour after daring attack on final stage
Oct 02 2020 - NEWS: Team Sunweb's Søren Kragh Andersen wins BinckBank Tour TT
Oct 01 2020 - NEWS: Trek-Segafredo's Mads Pedersen wins Stage 3 of BinckBank Tour
Sep 29 2020 - NEWS: Jasper Philipsen wins opening stage of BinckBank Tour
Aug 18 2019 - NEWS: Laurens De Plus attacks on final stage to win BinckBank Tour
Aug 17 2019 - NEWS: Filippo Ganna wins Binck Bank time trial as Tim Wellens retains race lead
Aug 16 2019 - NEWS: Hodeg blasts to victory on Stage 5 of Binck Bank Tour
Aug 15 2019 - NEWS: Tim Wellens pips Marc Hirschi to win a tough Stage and take the Race Lead
Aug 14 2019 - NEWS: Hat-trick for Sam Bennett after photo finish at BinckBank Tour
Aug 13 2019 - NEWS: Sam Bennett doubles up with second stage win at the BinckBank Tour
Aug 12 2019 - NEWS: Sam Bennett wins grim opening stage at the Binck Bank Tour
Aug 10 2019 - NEWS: Van Avermaet to Lead CCC Team's Rider Roster at Binck Bank Tour