Van Aert Sprints to Criterium du Dauphine Stage 1 Victory

Jumbo Visma's Wout van Aert won the opening stage of the Criterium du Dauphine on Sunday after a hilly openig stage from La Vaulte Sur Rhone to Beauchastel, beating Ethan Hayter and Sean Quinn

Van Aert Sprints to Criterium du Dauphine Stage 1 Victory

Belgian champion Van Aert beat Britain’s Ethan Hayter of team Ineos and American Sean Quinn of EF in a bunch sprint on the opening stage across the Ardeche region. 

With 6 miles to go, top sprinters including Dylan Groenewegen and Phil Bauhaus were distanced as the sprinters teams including Jumbo Visma ramped upped the pace.

Van Aert picked up 10 bonus seconds and pulled on the overall leader’s yellow jersey.

“This stage really suited me perfectly, and I’ve been working hard on my sprinting,” said Van Aert, who won a time-trial, a mountain stage and a sprint on the Champs Elysees on the 2021 Tour.

Van Aert appeared fresh and relaxed after a 20-day training camp through the Sierra Nevada. Van Aert said after winning the stage "I’ve recharged my batteries, I won’t be killing myself to protect the yellow jersey. I might go for another stage win, but I'm here to help teammate Primoz Roglic win the race”

This Dauphine is the final warm up for the Tour de France where the 27-year-old has said he will target the Green sprinters Jersey.

The second stage should be another battle between the breakaway and the sprinters on a stage that goes past the source of the river Loire, France’s longest river before a finish in Brives-Charensac, just outside the town of Le Puy en Velay. There’s climbing en route but often at a steady gradient.

VIDEO: 2022 Critérium du Dauphiné Stage 1 Highlights

2022 Critérium du Dauphiné Stage 1 Top 10

1. Wout van Aert (Bel) Jumbo-Visma in 4-37-31
2. Ethan Hayter (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers
3. Sean Quinn (USA) EF Education-EasyPost
4. Hugo Page (Fra) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux
5. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) TotalEnergies
6. Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
7. Clément Venturini (Fra) AG2R Citroën
8. Maxim Van Gils (Bel) Lotto Soudal
9. Thomas Benjamin (Fra) Cofidis
10. Jannik Steimle (Ger) Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl all at same time 

Tag: dauphine
Jun 14 2022 - NEWS: VIDEO: Molano disqualified from Dauphiné after punching Page
Jun 12 2022 - NEWS: Jumbo Visma crushes its rivals as Roglic wins Criterium du Dauphine
Jun 11 2022 - NEWS: Roglic Storms to Critérium du Dauphiné lead as Verona wins Stage 7
Jun 10 2022 - NEWS: Valentin Ferron wins 6th stage of Critérium du Dauphiné, from the breakaway
Jun 09 2022 - NEWS: Wout van Aert strengthens Criterium du Dauphine lead
Jun 08 2022 - NEWS: Filippo Ganna fastest at Criterium du Dauphine Time Trial
Jun 07 2022 - NEWS: David Gaudu wins stage 3 as Van Aert takes over race lead
Jun 06 2022 - NEWS: Alexis Vuillermoz wins Critérium du Dauphiné Stage 2 from the breakway
Jun 05 2022 - NEWS: Van Aert Sprints to Criterium du Dauphine Stage 1 Victory
May 30 2022 - NEWS: Roglic, Wout van Aert, Froome and McNulty headline Critérium du Dauphiné
Feb 12 2022 - NEWS: Queen Stage of Dauphine to tackle Galibier, Croix der Fer before finishing atop Vaujany
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: Tour de Suisse LIVE Daily Coverage
Jun 06 2021 - NEWS: Richie Porte warms up for Tour with Criterium du Dauphine Victory
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: Dauphine LIVE Daily Coverage
Jun 05 2021 - NEWS: Richie Porte takes control of Dauphine Lead on Penultimate Stage
May 28 2023 - EVENT: 2022 Criterium du Dauphine