Alexis Vuillermoz wins Critérium du Dauphiné Stage 2 from the breakway

Frenchman Alexis Vuillermoz (TotalEnergies) managed to take the stage win from the breakaway and jumps into the race lead on the second stage of the Critérium du Dauphiné

Alexis Vuillermoz wins Critérium du Dauphiné Stage 2 from the breakway

The breakaway set off early in the day with Anders Skaarseth (Uno-X Pro Cycling Team), Alexis Vuillermoz (TotalEnergies), Olivier Le Gac (Groupama-FDJ), Kevin Vermaerke (Team DSM), Xandres Vervloesem (Lotto Soudal) and Anthony Delaplace (Arkéa Samsic). The group never got too big of a gap, but they went into the main climb of the day with a gap of around four minutes, which started rising as the group started ascending.

Team BikeExchange - Jayco tried to keep the pace low for Dylan Groenewegen to survive the climb, but he didn't succeed as the pace eventually ramped up with the work of Jumbo-Visma, INEOS Grenadiers and EF Education-EasyPost who started to work to cancel the concerning gap - with Trek - Segafredo joining later.

The Lotto Soudal rider was dropped from the front, but the quintet kept riding at a strong pace that forced the peloton to ride at an urgent pace, with the gap holding steady in the downhill into the final 15 kilometers. Lack of full commitment from Jumbo-Visma and lack of firepower around saw the gap rise to 40 seconds with five kilometers to go

The peloton came close however not close enough, as the five riders went into the final sprint together, where Olivier Le Gac launched his move early. Alexis Vuillermoz closed the gap to the Frenchman however despite that he still had the legs to go over and hold off Anders Skaarseth who finished the day second - with Le Gac third. Wout van Aert won the sprint for the remaining spots behind.

VIDEO: 2022 Critérium du Dauphiné Stage 2 Highlights

2022 Critérium du Dauphiné Stage 2 Top 10

1 FRA Alexis Vuillermoz TotalEnergies 04:03:34
2 NOR Anders Skaarseth Uno-X Pro Cycling Team + 00
3 FRA Olivier Le Gac Groupama-FDJ + 00
4 USA Kevin Vermaerke Team DSM + 00
5 FRA Anthony Delaplace Team Arkéa-Samsic + 00
6 BEL Wout van Aert Jumbo-Visma + 05
7 GBR Ethan Hayter INEOS Grenadiers + 05
8 FRA Hugo Page Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert + 05
9 FRA Clément Venturini AG2R Citroën Team + 05
10 BLR Alexandr Riabushenko Astana Qazaqstan Team + 05

2022 Critérium du Dauphiné GC after Stage 2

1. Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) TotalEnergies, in 8-40-55
2. Anders Skaarseth (Nor) Uno-X Pro Cycling, at 3 seconds
3. Olivier Le Gac (Fra) Groupama-FDJ, at 4s
4. Wout Van Aert (Bel) Jumbo-Visma, at 5s
5. Kevin Vermaerke (USA) Team DSM, at 7s
6. Ethan Hayter (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers, at 9s
7. Anthony Delaplace (Fra) Arkéa Samsic, at 10s
8. Sean Quinn (USA) EF Education-EasyPost, at 11s
9. Maxime Bouet (Fra) Arkéa Samsic, at 12s
10. Laurens Huys (Bel) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux, at 13s

Tag: dauphine
Jun 14 2022 - NEWS: VIDEO: Molano disqualified from Dauphiné after punching Page
Jun 12 2022 - NEWS: Jumbo Visma crushes its rivals as Roglic wins Criterium du Dauphine
Jun 11 2022 - NEWS: Roglic Storms to Critérium du Dauphiné lead as Verona wins Stage 7
Jun 10 2022 - NEWS: Valentin Ferron wins 6th stage of Critérium du Dauphiné, from the breakaway
Jun 09 2022 - NEWS: Wout van Aert strengthens Criterium du Dauphine lead
Jun 08 2022 - NEWS: Filippo Ganna fastest at Criterium du Dauphine Time Trial
Jun 07 2022 - NEWS: David Gaudu wins stage 3 as Van Aert takes over race lead
Jun 06 2022 - NEWS: Alexis Vuillermoz wins Critérium du Dauphiné Stage 2 from the breakway
Jun 05 2022 - NEWS: Van Aert Sprints to Criterium du Dauphine Stage 1 Victory
May 30 2022 - NEWS: Roglic, Wout van Aert, Froome and McNulty headline Critérium du Dauphiné
Feb 12 2022 - NEWS: Queen Stage of Dauphine to tackle Galibier, Croix der Fer before finishing atop Vaujany
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: Tour de Suisse LIVE Daily Coverage
Jun 06 2021 - NEWS: Richie Porte warms up for Tour with Criterium du Dauphine Victory
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: Dauphine LIVE Daily Coverage
Jun 05 2021 - NEWS: Richie Porte takes control of Dauphine Lead on Penultimate Stage
May 28 2023 - EVENT: 2022 Criterium du Dauphine