Fabio Jackobsen Sprints to Crash Marred Stage 2 Victory

Wout van Aert pulls on the Yellow Jersey after sprinting to second place in a stage with several big crashes

The second stage rolled out of Roskilde and quickly a breakaway of four riders including Magnus Cort (EF Education-EasyPost), Pierre Rolland, Cyril Barthe (B&B Hotels-KTM), Sven Erik Bystrøm (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert) went the flag was dropped.

They built up a maximum lead of just over three minutes.

The peloton tackled three 4th category climbs of Côte d’Asnæs Indelukke, Côte d’Høve Stræde and Côte de Kårup Strandbakke after 60km of racing.

Magnus Cort (EF Education-EasyPost) to the KOM points ahead of Sven Erik Bystrøm (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert)  to take the Polka Dot jersey at the end of the stage.

Cort and Bystrøm pushed on and dropped Pierre Rolland, Cyril Barthe (B&B Hotels-KTM) and maintaned a 3 minutes lead.

Magnus Cort (EF Education-EasyPost) also won the intermediate sprint from the breakway, behind van Aert, Sagan, Laporte cross the line in that order, only 30'' behind the leading duo.

Sven Erik Bystrom (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert) was brought back by the pack 31km before the end, and was awarded the combativity award.

With a crossing of the Great Belt Bridge into Nyborg with 20 km to go, there was a crash in the nervous bunch.

Yves Lampaert crashed along with a few other riders including GC favorite Rigoberto Uran.

Yves Lampaert and a handful of other riders managed to bridge back up to the main peloton as they slowed in the cross winds on the 18km long bridge.

Rigoberto Uran was delayed and his teammates dropped back to pace him backup, over 1m 11s behind. Stefan Bissenger also dropped back and after a furious chase managed to rejoing the main group with 10km to go,

As the pace wound up for the final sprint there was a huge crash just inside 3km to go, those involved didn't lose any time.

Up front, a reduced bunch saw Fabio Jakobsen come round Wout van Aert, Mads Pedersen and Danny van Poppel to win the stage sprint, ahead of Jasper Philipsen and Peter Sagan.

Wout van Aert pulled on the Yellow Jersey after sprinting to second place in a stage with several big crashes.

VIDEO: 2022 Tour de France Stage 2 Highlights

2022 Tour de France Stage 2 Top 10

1 NED Fabio Jakobsen Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 04:34:34
2 BEL Wout van Aert Jumbo-Visma + 00
3 DEN Mads Pedersen Trek-Segafredo + 00
4 NED Danny van Poppel BORA-hansgrohe + 00
5 BEL Jasper Philipsen Alpecin-Deceuninck + 00
6 SVK Peter Sagan TotalEnergies + 00
7 FRA Jérémy Lecroq B&B Hotels-KTM + 00
8 NED Dylan Groenewegen Team BikeExchange-Jayco + 00
9 ITA Luca Mozzato B&B Hotels-KTM + 00
10 FRA Hugo Hofstetter Team Arkéa-Samsic + 00

2022 Tour de France GC after Stage 2

1. Wout van Aert - 4h 49' 50''
2. Yves Lampaert - a 01''
3. Tadej Pogacar - a 08''
4. Filippo Ganna - a 11''
5. Mads Pedersen - a 12''
6. Mathieu van der Poel - a 14''
7. Jonas Vingegaard - a 16''
8. Primoz Roglic - a 17''
9. Bauke Mollema - a 18''
10. Dylan Teuns - a 21''

Tag: tourdefrance
Oct 27 2022 - NEWS: Mountainous 2023 Tour de France Route Revealed
Oct 28 2022 - NEWS: Mark Cavendish motivated to secure new team to chase 35 stage wins
Oct 27 2022 - NEWS: 2023 Etape du Tour follows stage 14 of the Tour de France
Oct 27 2022 - NEWS: Tour de France Femmes avec Zwift steps up another level in 2023
Oct 19 2022 - NEWS: Manx Missile could be back to smash Merckx's 34 Tour wins
Aug 02 2022 - NEWS: Annemiek van Vleuten climbs to 2022 Tour de France Femmes victory
Jul 30 2022 - NEWS: VIDEO: Carnage Crashes at the Tour de France Femmes
Jul 28 2022 - NEWS: Tour De France Champion Vingegaard Receives Hero's Welcome In Copenhagen
Jul 24 2022 - NEWS: Jonas Vingegaard seals maiden victory in Paris
Jul 23 2022 - NEWS: Wout Van Aert fastest at final 2022 Tour de France time trial
Jul 22 2022 - NEWS: France's Laporte wins Stage 19 of Tour de France
Jul 21 2022 - NEWS: Vingegaard wins second stage on the final big climb to Hautacam
Jul 20 2022 - NEWS: Pogacar wins stage 17 in the Pyrenees after attacking Vingegaard
Jul 19 2022 - NEWS: Canadian cyclist Houle wins Stage 16 of Tour de France
Jul 17 2022 - NEWS: Philipsen wins Tour de France stage while Jumbo Visma have a really bad bay
Jul 01 2023 - EVENT: 2023 Tour De France